Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2002
From the early Fierce Panda days we were promised the stars, and that's just what we got. These boys have made an album that will still sound awesome in 10, 20, 30 years time - and even a momentary glance at their B-sides points undoubtedly at a glorious future.
Not for the faint of heart, this album gets under your skin, it makes you dance, sing, laugh like a maniac and leaves you begging for more. The Music have taken their post-modern Zep heritage in one hand, the best of baggy in the other and created a masterpiece.
Human and Turn Out The Light offer introspective reflection, Float takes Satan's own intro and climbs to the sun while The Dance features what is possibly the most mental bassline in rock history - I bow down to Stuart Coleman. The final bars of Too High offer all the proof you need that all these guys can play like the wind and in the midst of all this hypnotic groovin' and ravin' Harvey's vocals open up spaces, sucking in everything in his path. Take the Long Road... and The People are instant and insistent, and if my head IS going to explode under the sheer magnitude of this album it'll happen during Getaway: crank it up and kiss your ears goodbye.
If you get the chance - see them live. Robert Harvey is a genius, a legend, a leaping, freaking devil-child who leaves us on our knees.
Put purely and simply, The Music rule - just make sure your stereo does it justice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
It really is the best debut album i've ever heard. Its 4 years on now since its release, and still no album has quite such an effect on me. Just the sheer energy coursing through the whole CD is staggering, for a band so new and so young at the time. But even four years on, it seems so fresh still, and is one of very very few albums I own that is still so listenable after that amount of time. There's not a track on there that i'd even consider skipping past. The album sounds good straight from the off, but it really does go to another level after seeing the live show that The Music put together too, where the energy from the album is multiplied up and up to give such a powerful performance.

If ever anything was worth 5 stars, this is.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2003
He sings like a witch, dances like a looney and dresses in addidas tracksuits i didnt think got made any more. Are his band any good?yeah they are magic. They are either a band your gonna love or hate, too bad if you hate them cos they are here to stay. Comparing them to led zeppelin is probably unfair as true the guitar riffs are of similar styles but their dance element takes them onto another level, a modern level where no other band can create a sound as unique as theirs. 'The people' is definately my favourite track but there isn't a bad track on there. Believe the hype as these four scruffy guys from leeds will go on to make albums as good as this and conqor the rest of world (they are already massive in Japan).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
this is phenominal.
its that simple. i very much doubt that anyone will ever cram so much into a debut album ever again.
there is a little something for everyone on thisa album...the quiet quirky little melodies keep the indie kids happy but the band have got far too much energy to play it safe and rock out all over the place ending almost all the songs in a wall of noise and guitars.
and that is where this album scores the big points....all the energy its hard not to get sucked into it all and not to enjoy the ride.
if you think how led zeppelin would sound if they wer dragged kicking and screaming upto modern day then this is how they would sound.
and what a great sound it is too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2002
one of the most vital albums i can remember since definitely maybe, and the roses debut before that. the energy, the tunes, everything is there-they sound so out of step with every other band about but sound important because of it. standout trakcs are turn out the light, human and disco.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
I have been playing this Album for years and watching them live for years, their music touches my soul and something within, that I havent felt for 20 years, (yes I am that Old)

Ita not going to be everybodys cup of tea, but music is all about opinions, how can you fail to be moved by Getaway, Too High, Take the Long Road, its up to you but my thoughts would be just buy you will love it, or not, probably no middle ground
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2002
Well I knew these lads had something special when I heard take the long road and walk it ages ago on MTV2 , though I thought see what the next single was like, equally as good. I've just listened to the whole album just now, best thing I have heard in GOD knows how long, I'm a stickler for swirling guitars and great back beats, takes me back to dancier side of Madchester 89. Every song though, every song just blow me back. Its up there with epic debuts like the stone roses ,underworld, Oasis, Puressence.
Look all I can say to those who are wondering to get it, If you like guitar music played with lots of fxs and great sing along vocals, music to take you away somewhere. Then get it, I would of thought it will take some beating for album of the year.
I've been waiting years for a record like this which in my point of view is perfect.
Phil
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
The album kicks off with the funked-up swirl intro to 'Dance', which is accompanied by banging drums and as always, Robert Harvey's howls and screams. The music contains the singles, 'Take the Long Road and Walk it', 'The People' and the current single, 'The Truth is no Words'. With similarities and influences from such rock prophets as The Cult, U2 and Led Zeppelin and its distinctive electronica sound, this albums a winner. The Music really know how to rock. The ringing intro and the mixture of heavy and whiny guitar in 'Getaway' build ups an electric tension for the chorus where you've just gotta get up and jump around.Basically four young lads have slaved their guts out to make this album and boy has it paid off, a great addition to British Indie/Rock, thumbs up guys!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
WOW! wish i had encountered this band a lot earlier!
So amazing-will play again and again and make everyone around me get a share of this amazing band from up north-i think!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
this album is great, but what can i say that everybody else hasn't? nothing. just buy it. thank god british rock isn't dead!!!!!! i want more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)