Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Zinc Alloy And The Hidden Riders Of Tomorrow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 March 2017
Excellent CD if your into T Rex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 June 2014
The typically space cadet entitled "Zinc Alloy And The Hidden Riders Of Tomorrow" is not one of Marc Bolan's most popular T.REX albums for sure (it peaked at No. 12 in March 1974 on release). It isn't even that well remembered as a classic either truth be told (except amongst fans).

But as ever - Edsel of the UK have done his recorded legacy proud with this 2CD overhaul. You get the original 1974 LP Remastered, important non-album singles that surrounded it and a slew of worthy Bonus Tracks in the shape of an 'Alternative' album (all 13 cuts), working versions of all the single sides and solo Acoustic Demos too. All in all - very good value for money. Here are the unhidden details...

UK released August 2002 (reissued in 2007 and 2014) – "Zinc Alloy And The Hidden Riders Of Tomorrow" by T.REX on Edsel MEDCD 717 (Barcode 740155171728) is a 2CD 'Deluxe Edition' of Remasters and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (60:58 minutes):
1. Venus Loon
2. Sound Pit
3. Explosive Mouth
4. Galaxy
5. Change
6. Nameless Wildness
7. Teenage Dream
8. Liquid Gang
9. Carsmile Smith And The Old One
10. You've Got To Jive To Stay Alive – Spanish Midnight
11. Interstellar Soul
12. Painless Persuasion v. The Meathawk Immaculate
13. The Avengers (Superbad)
14. The Leopards Featuring Gardenia & The Mighty Slug
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Zinc Alloy And The Hidden Riders Of Tomorrow" – originally released 1 February 1974 in the UK on EMI Records BLN 7751.

EXTENDED PLAY (five non-album single sides):
15. The Groover
16. Midnight – Tracks 15 and 16 are the A&B-sides of a June 1973 UK 7" single on EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 5
17. Truck On (Tyke)
18. Sitting Here – Tracks 17 and 18 are the A&B-sides of a November 1973 UK 7" single on EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 6
19. Satisfaction Pony – Track 19 is a January 1974 UK 7" single on EMI/T.Rex Wax Co. Label MARC 7 – the non-album B-side to "Teenage Dream"

Disc 2 (61:52 minutes):
1. Venus Loon
2. Sound Pit (Parts 1 & 2)
3. Explosive Mouth
4. Galaxy
5. Change (Signs)
6. Nameless Wildness
7. Teenage Dream
8. Liquid Gang
9. Carsmile Smith And The Old One
10. Spanish Midnight
11. Painless Persuasion v. The Meathawk Immaculate
12. The Avengers (Superbad)
13. The Leopards Featuring Gardenia & The Mighty Slug
Tracks 1 to 13 are "The Alternate Zinc Alloy ('Change')" – studio rough mixes of every track.

EXTENDED PLAY (All Working Versions of the Five Single-Sides on Disc 1):
14. The Groover
15. Midnight
16. Truck On (Tyke)
17. Sitting There (Sitting Here)
18. Satisfaction Pony

BONUS ACOUSTIC DEMOS:
19. Nameless Wildness
20. Carsmile Smith & The Old One (Solo)
21. Carsmile Smith & The Old One (with Organ)
22. Painless Persuasion v. The Meathawk Immaculate
23. The Avengers (Superbad)
24. The Leopards Featuring Geraldine & The Mighty Slug

The three-way fold-out digipak is pretty – alternate artwork on the inner flaps – press adverts and promo stuff beneath the two see-through CD trays - detailed 16-page liner notes by T.Rex/Marc Bolan expert MARK PAYTRESS – lyrics – and both CDs carrying the T.Rex Wax Co. 7" single Logo which on this reissue is blackened to resemble the sleeve instead of the usual blue and red colouring (I remember for all those 45s we used to grab in Woolworths with the excitement of buying the next Beatles seven). The remasters are fabulous too – full of power and muscle – giving tracks like the electric strum of "Change" and the chugging rock boogie/drums of "Explosive Mouth" huge presence. But in truth I wish I could get more excited about the album in general…

I remember to this day the disappointment of "Truck On (Tyke)" – the first T.REX 7" single to sound average – like Bolan was treading water. And for me the LP “Zinc Alloy…” that followed amounted to the same. What was so exciting between 1971 and 1973 now sounded so utterly dated and forced by 1974. There are magic moments for sure like the funky boogie of "Nameless Wildness" and the opening guitar chug of "Venus Loon" where the groove is still good – but much of the rest sounds forced and massively over-produced with screaming girly voices and strings. There's a general feeling of 'uninspired' about the whole record I thought. Having said that the extras are more than just interesting - giving you a fascinating insight into his work process (there's a lovely intimacy to those Acoustic Demos especially).

Not one of his greatest albums for me then but if you're a fan there's the beefy remastered sound – quality presentation - and a reasonable price tag for a 2CD Deluxe Edition. Meathawk Immaculate indeed...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Great Product - Quick delivery. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
'Zinc Alloy and the Hidden Riders of Tomorrow' was released in 1974 (which may I say is a splendid title.) As an album people have said that it was a comercial failure. Marc was trying to get rid of the glam rock sound and adding soul and making the T.Rex sound heavier. Adding more strength in backing vocals, heavy guitars, a louder more hard hitting sound.
In my opinion I think this album is under-rated. It deserves more recognition that what It's earned I think. Also the album was a real grower on me. The more I listened to it the more I liked it.
The album starts off with the song 'Venus loon'. 'Venus loon' is a very cathchy song. Same with 'Sound Pit', 'Explosive Mouth', and 'Galaxy'. Also when I listen to all these songs there is something quite magical about it that I just can't put my finger on. 'Change' is a down tempo song which is has a nice sadness about it. Nameless Wildness is a fun song. 'Teenage Dream' the only single from the album. 'Teenage Dream' is a masterpiece! The song is soposed to be about Marc's star on a wane. 'Liquid Gang' another catchy fun song. 'Carsmile Smith and the Old One' is another sad song. Then a beautiful medley arrives - 'You've got to jive to stay alive / Spanish Midnight'. 'Interstellar Soul' - Another fun song. 'Painless Persuasion v. The Meathawauk Immaculate' is another great song. And the last 2 songs are 'The Avengers (Superbad') which is a fun song and 'The Leopards Featuring Gardenia And The Mighty Slug' which is quite weird, Marc does a song where he talks through it which is quite cool.
And the bonus tracks they have added to this collection makes it even more spectacular!
My favourite song on this album is Teenage Dream.
Overall I think this album is an underated classic. I think it should be judged after a few listens. It's not my fave T.Rex album but I Love It!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
When this album first came out it was dismissed, overlooked or plain ignored by just about everyone. It was not the normal type of T.Rex/Marc Bolan music everyone expected but something that hinted of much more.
The album has a lot of soul influences but tempered against a "white rock and roll" background. In a way it paved the way for the "white soul" of later in the decade.
Ignore the song titles, some of which are just plain silly but listen to the music and the words and you will get a selection of highly infectious songs, still as fresh today as when they were first written that stay in the memory long after the c.d. is over.
Marc Bolan was an innovator. Laughed at in his day but nearly thirty years after his death is finally receiving the recognition denied to him when he was alive.
Together with "Electric Warrior"and "The Slider" this album is an essential for anyone wanting to discover what Marc Bolan was all about.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
an album not reviewed well on original release but with improved mixes and bonus tracks of working songs well worth a revisit for those wishing to listen to marc as he developed his sound in a new direction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 January 2009
Fourteen 'poetic' gems on this (original vinyl) - from probably the greatest 'poet' of music that ever lived!

Includes just one hit single - and my favourite, the 'epic': 'Teenage Dream'. This was one of three 'Teenage' songs in the Top Twenty at the time, the other two being: ''Teenage Lament '74 (Alice Cooper) and 'Teenage Rampage' (The Sweet)

'Teenage Dream' was a beautiful orchestration that went on and on - climaxing with 'Don't do it to me babe...' yet had no real end. Full of wonderful poetic lyrics like: 'A broken God - of a rusty World' - fabulous! I purchased this album for that track alone, and wasn't disappointed! Full of art, melody and hidden meanings, this is most certainly an album to treasure from the late 'King of Glam'!

Great stuff!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
From recollection, the music industry in the 70s was very restrictive. If, for any reason NME, Sounds or Melody Maker, did not like what you were doing, it was bad. Bolan, with his abrasive egotism, suffered through this as he had a habit of rubbing journalists up the wrong way. I also did not like the prevailing view that you had to either like Bowie who was 'great' or Bolan who had 'sold out' and was 'teeny-bop trash' as if you could like like them both. When this overblown masterpiece came out heralded by a hugely over-the-top mime to Teenage Dream on Top Of The Pops, Bolan appeared to have failed to deliver and was 'becoming desperate' so the knives were out. This album was almost universally rubbished. Teenage Dream failed to make the Top Ten and Bolan's fall from grace began. But these prevailing views were fascist and incredibly short sighted. People had urged Bolan to move on from his one-trick (again wrong) riffs and do something more mature and expansive and this fantastic mixture of white rock and roll and Betty Wright style funk and soul was his response and was genuinely new and exciting. It is interesting that many reviewers of the T Rex Vinyl Box Set a year or so ago expressed surprise at how good this album actually is: "better than expected", "ripe for re-appraisal." This is not a classic or his best album but it is still tremendous and right up with what Bowie was doing at the time. Venus Loon, Change, The Avengers, Spanish Midnight, Nameless Wildness, Painless Persuasion etc, Teenage Dream and the mighty Explosive Mouth are as good as anything Bolan ever did. Don't listen to the views of 40 years ago - this is still today's music. Buy it and make your own mind up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Reading some of the other reviews on here, its easy to see how a love of bolan can cloud peoples judgement. I happen to be a major bolan fan, but that fact cannot stop me from being honest with myself about his work, or any other artists whom i happen to admire, so i have to lay it on the line honestly here

and the plain facts are - this is an atrocious album. what makes this even more mysterious is the fact that the band were still the same line up, and even tony visconti was on board to handle production. That in itself should have rescued it but it doesnt. I know marc was into drugs quite heavily at this time. maybe visconti was too. But the production here is feeble compared to the preceding albums so something must have been clouding his judgement. The songs? aside from 'change' which is pretty good, i cant hear anything here coming close to his epic material just a year or so previously. i remember buying this at the time and wanting to cry at how bad it was. All the material sounds terribly confused, as if marc was searching for a new direction (maybe in the wake of bowies 'white soul' projects at the time)but didnt quite know where he was going. Everything sounds tinny, directionless and feeble. Marcs guitar sounds very weedy indeed, and combine the lack of song quality with viscontis lame production and it all sounds like a terrible mess indeed

worst of all is the inclusion of gloria jones on backing vocals in place of the sublime flo and eddie. visconti for some reason pushes her high in the mix and she totally dominates everything. This would be passable if she actually sounded good but her screeching voice just sounds like a cat being tortured and it makes an already hard to listen to album totally unbearable

This was a sad day for marc and the start of a decline that he never recovered from. Do NOT remember him from this album
55 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
I absolutely love this album. Way ahead of its time – hence the indifferent reviews. It reminds me of the Back to the future quote - "I guess you guys aren't ready for that yet... But your kids are gonna love it." Don’t dismiss this album based on the reviews. Give it a try. You might find you’ve been missing out.

PS: Not just one of my favourite Bolan albums, but one of my best albums of all time. It is that good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tanx
£11.66
Electric Warrior
£5.32
The Slider
£5.32
T. Rex
£6.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)