Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
Love the daleks because they are not in the form of humans like in alot of other dr who episodes remember this as a child peter cushing playing the Dr . great classic films still worth watching all these years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2002
Not a great sci fi lover myself, but I grew up in a house where the old nostalgic shows were constantly playing-star trek, stingray, thunderbirds, and of course, Dr Who. The first film was a firm favirote of my dads, and when I was younger I used to watch it nearly every day. Its one of those films which you will never tire of no matter how many times you watch it. After watching that, a few years later I watched the sequel which I loved just as much. I bought this DVD when I was in Australia earlier in the year. It truely is a great buy, you get two films for the price of one. The documentary, Dalekmania, is a great insight to the madness which surrounded the Daleks. If you like Doctor Who, or if you are a Sci Fi Fan, I recommend you purchase this set, it really is one great buy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
It is a real pleasure to finally be able to watch a good movie without the annoying advert breaks!
Television always seems to do that-you get into a good film,and then-bang!-advert break! It destroys the continuity of the film!
Owning my own set means that I am now able to see the whole film,and NO advert breaks!
Thank You Amazon,you have made me a very happy customer again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2013
The only two big-screen outings for Dr Who have always been met with scepticism and mixed reactions from fans and public alike. People seem to either love them or hate them. They're not considered as `cannon' therefore they have no links to the TV series.

This is the second and last Dr Who film to date and sees the Doctor travel into Earth's future, only to discover the Daleks have only gone and taken over the planet, turning the population into leather-clad slaves (like something out of 50 Shades of Grey!). However, the Doctor is on hand to sort them out. But there are some differences with the official series. For a start, the Doctor is human and has a family. So, if you can get over that (quite major) change, you may just enjoy what follows.

If you're used to the current Dr Who series, you may be a bit disappointed with what goes on here. The budget is small and the effects slightly corny. It's unlikely to win over any new fans here, most of which will probably find it a bit too cheesy to be watched. But, if you've watched sci-fi that was made in the sixties, you'll probably know what to expect - bright, garish colours, wooden sets and some of the least futuristic gadgets known to aliens across the galaxy.

If you've already seen it, you'll know what to expect and will probably still love it for its sheer nostalgia value. If you haven't, don't expect an alien invasion movie on the scale of anything made today. Lower your expectations and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2002
Fantastic packaging and card inserts. Excellent clear picture quality, but the sound quality is technically very poor (must have been poor sound quality on the tape the DVD was created from). The poor sound quality (which the creator needs shooting for) is the only thing that detracts from this production, so I guess this is bearable. Overall, a definate must-have purchase, if you're a Dalek fan. (Resurrection Of The Daleks is great.)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
PERFECT for Dr Who fans of the 60s,i have tried so hard just to get one of the films but two,many many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
Well what can i say about these movies, "Doctor Who and the Daleks " and "Daleks: Invasion Earth 2150 ". They are amazing quality wise, it`s hard to believe that these were filmed in the Early 1960`s !!! Any Doctor Who fan should have this boxset.

Doctor Who and the Daleks:

Doctor Who and the Daleks is one if not the best movie the late Roy Castle has starred in. He seems to pull of the dorky unscientific male with total ease in this movie. The little girl (Roberta Tovey) pulls of her starring role with total pleasure to watch as she acts so great for her age of approx 9 years old. Their are hours of extras on this DVD with interviews with Cast and the Dalekmania Documentary.

Daleks: Invasion earth 2150:

What can i say about this movie, BUT, it is a little corny in the Sci-Fi as if any species can fly a planet to another solar system... This is what the Daleks basicly try and want to succeed. The Doctor and his companions with the human resistance try and stop the daleks in their devious plans. You will have to watch the movie to find out if they succeed. The xtras are a great addition to this boxset and are well worth it.

I would give this 5 Stars as i am a Doctor Who Fan, if i was not a fan i would give this 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
With the popularity of the recent Doctor Who series there has been a great awakening of interest in the Dr Who journey from those early days in November 1963 to the present day with all the many incarnations of the famous Doctor. I am happy to be of that age to be able to say that I was alive and watching the very first broadcast from all those years ago. I have never lost my love for this sci-fi escapism, and have recently started buying the whole set of DVD's that are now so readily available through Amazon. It was a delight for me to see again these two cinema versions of Doctor Who, featuring in this incarnation Peter Cushing as the Doctor. This little box set should be a 'most have' for anyone wishing to build a complete collection of the 'Dr Who' material. For ardent fans of the current series who have enjoyed the part played by Bernard Cribbins as Catherine Tate's granddad, you'll be interested to note that his very first Dr Who appearance was in fact in 1966 in the second cinema film 'Daleks - Invasion Earth 2150 AD'. If you get a chance do watch these movies. They may be old but the Dr Who magic is still there, and will no doubt continue be in all the future incarnations yet to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Seemed like a good purchase at the time, as I remembered seeing this on TV as a kid in the 70's and I loved Dr Who (Jon Pertwee was the best!) Nostalgia is always better than the reliving of it- I watched the trailers on both videos but I just could not face to watch the whole movies, as the trailers were so so dire. Yuckky, c""p, with a bit of comedy thrown in. I loved Peter Cushing too in the 70's, in his excellent roles in all the Hammer Horror films, as Van Helsing, up against Christopher Lee's Dracula and all the other Hammer movies, I'm not saying Peter didn't flourish and fit into the Dr Who movies here, he did play a good role but I just don't think it was meant for the big screen - I also loved the Dr's sidekicks in both movies - Roy Castle and Bernhard Cribbins but the BBC should have kept the franchise for themselves. Anyway, it's all a bit of fun and nostalgia in the Dr Who franchise - I shant be watching the films, I'm afraid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
It's hard for me to be objective about this film because it remains such a vivid memory from ten years ago when I first saw it, but in terms of its great production design and atmospheric location filming, it's streets ahead, and indeed far more impressive, than its woefully cheap small-screen counterpart (The Dalek Invasion of Earth) from the Dr Who series. The Dalek saucer, with its concentrically turning platforms, is one of the finest spaceships in cinema history and the various scenes of the Daleks gliding about a ruined London are brilliantly executed. Call me mad, but I even like Bernard Cribbins.
A definate yes to buy this film - even 38 years on from its first big-screen appearance it still looks delightfully impressive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse