Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2017
Item in perfect condition. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
You can keep your Strokes and your Artic Monkeys, for me 'Turn on the Bright Lights' has been the best first album this decade. It's a big chunky dark brooding creepy sounding post punk joy division esc murky monster of a record and fortunately it's full of tunes as well. There are a couple of clangers to my mind preventing a 5 star rating, but that's no bad thing; when first albums are to good there's no where left for the band to go.

I'm really looking forward to following interpols career!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2003
I've been listening to this as loud as i can bear quite a lot lately, and I've been loving every minute of it. The guitar work is uncomplicated and lo fi, the bass is high in the mix and crushes your ear drums and it's all topped of by vocals that while passionate and committed, are slightly depressed and leave you feeling the singer just doesn't really care. It's wonderful. Give the album a good loud run through, and you won't know whether to go and tear something apart, or whether to not bother. This is one of those albums that is instantly striking and involving. Will they do a follow up album? Probably, but they will struggle to top this. They are likely to fade into nothingness, partly due to the fact the never seem to gig, but it is worth indulging in this moment in music history.
Tom du Pré
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
Fine, entertaining album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2005
well after listening to this FANTASTIC record aswell as antics i must say interpol are the best band to come out in a while hell ever!!!!!!!! lee johnson yes that crazy cat got me in2 interpol and i have been addicted ever since i fiorst herd them (evil first song i herd) i must say that this is joint best album i have ever herd* from traks like obstical 1 and 2 to the glorious the new and untitled hell every song is amazing!!! but it now u will not be dissapointed. interpol is a very much cult band as there main obvious influences are Echo & The Bunnymen aswell as Joy Division. and from interpol new band editors have been spawned following interpols dark and gloomy song writing.
*joint best album with antics of course!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
A perfect transation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
This album truely is one of the all time greats. People expecting an instant coldplayish buzz will be sadly dissapointed. I reckon it took me around ten plays before it had me. I can only compare my experience of listening this album to that of ok computer. It just has everything on it. From the beautiful way the album begins, the ballsy PDA which truly makes the hairs stand on the back of your neck. The riotous car crash that is Roland, to the beatiful finale. It really does take your breath away. I can only urge people to let this album get hold of you..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2003
After hearing and liking there single "Obstacle 1" I only got round to getting this album after hearing "Say hello to Angels".
Slow to pick up on the talent this band have I guess.
The album starts with the beautiful "untilted" reminds me of coldplays "clocks" which I hate, this is a much better alternative.
Then the single "obstacle 1" quality throughout this track. A great choice the first UK single.
"NYC" possibly my favorite track on album.
Next up "PDA" another great track. These 2 track shine through with the great voice of the lead singer, sounding like Smasking Pumpkins.
The single which brought my to purchasing the album "Say hello to the angels", alot higher tempo than the other tracks on the album.
"hands away" fails to grab my attention much. My least favourite track but not all that bad which gives you an idea of the quality of the album.
"Obstacle 2" on a par with "Obstacle 1" very diffrent tracks but both superb.
"Stella was a..." yet again stunning track. Slow track with great
singing.
"Roland" the most rocky track on the album, great explosions from fast to slow tempo on this song. Again the singers voice astound me.
"The New" a nice track, the one that grows one you the most
The last track on the album "leif erikson" a nice wind down for the album.
Too good for an overall review needed a track by track breakdown
An album that requires great attention. Very relaxing music in my opinion, too good to be used as background music. If you're bored and alone put this in your cd player and put on some earphones. After many listens the album will grow on you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
That's wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.55

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)