Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2003
Not being a fan of platformers myself, I only really ever buy one when it's absolutely superb (the last was Super Mario 64). Jak & Daxter is one such game.
Gameplay-wise, it's virtually identical to SM64 (collect "power cells" throughout the game to unlock newer, harder levels) but this is not necessarily a bad thing, especially when coupled with such astounding graphics.
The landscapes vary from lush, verdant jungles, where the colours are searingly bright, to volcanoes, where the colours are also searingly bright, to snow-capped mountains, caves, beaches, Atlantis-style sunken cities and many more. These vast, intricate vistas are handled with consumate ease by the PS2, with no slow-down or aliasing whatsoever. There is also a 60Hz refresh rate option for NTSC tellys and a 16:9 aspect ratio option for those with widescreens.
Sound is also very pleasing, with (amazingly!) excellent voice samples and atmospheric music (Daxter's drill-like Bronx accent begins to grate after a while but he does provide genuine hints throughout the game!).
Gameplay is where J&D excels, though. The controls are intuitive enough for anybody to start playing immediately and the difficulty curve is perfectly weighted. The "one-more-go" factor is very high. The plot is also surprisingly involved for such an apparently cute platformer.
J&D is a testament to how platformers should be. At 20 quid, there's simply no excuse not to own this gem.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2002
When compared to the PS2's version of Crash Bandicoot, Jak and Daxter comes out top with flying colours as it real is a superior game and as far as the two go with them both now being released at a far cheaper price, as a platinum edition I would advise you to pick Jak and Daxter instead of your normal Sony favourite.
It is a shame that Jak and Daxter never was commercialised as much as Crash Bandicoot was which actually kept it relatively unheard of which is a real shame as it is a valuable gem to play.
Everything looks alive in the game and is very vivid and colourful. The crisp visuals really do impress with amazing details for you to feast on around every corner. There are many environments for you to enjoy and play in each based on a varied theme and each one looking superb in their own right.
You can control Jak- the game's hero in his virtual world very easily without having to worry with any problems involving camera angles as it never becomes an issue to become distressed over. Everything is easy to pick up and there are no fiddly controls whatsoever. Learn to love your companion and sidekick rodent- Daxter, he will be right by your side literally throughout your wide adventure. He will wisely advise you on what to do whilst humourously amuse you with his quirky one-liners.
On behalf of the gameplay, no new steps have been taken to enhance the platforming genre, but Jak and Daxter is an ideal addition to the perfect platforming formula revolutionised by Mario 64. This is by no means a bad thing and it does indeed improve on its type and still provides a large quantity of fun factor which we all like to find in any kind of game. There is a lot to do whilst you play, you perform certain tasks in each environment in order to gain power cells which will eventually lead you to completing the game's main objective- transforming Daxter into his natural form. These tasks include collecting certain numbers of orbs, pummeling any enemies you encounter and even mini games such as fishing and racing in certain vehicles, some of which are only possible to use on a particular terrain. Enemies which you do come across include apes, snakes and even parculiar dog-like warriors. The game contains a rather intruiging, engrossing storyline which all becomes clearer as you venture deeper into the game. All in all, a huge quantity of enjoyment is provided and Jak and Daxter becomes not only a childs game but one for all ages. It is obvious that a lot of effort has been put into this one and deserves a larger audience of gamers than it already has.
How long the game lasts depends on you as a gamer, the somewhat experienced breed of gamer could consider the game a bit too easy to beat but still a lot of fun. The game also welcomes new gamers into it's cheerful world as you can come across it as you please really- either rushing straight through or transforming from novice to expert by taking your time and practising your technique.
The game really is a fine addition to the Playstation 2's game libary, giving it's platforming collection that little needed bit of extra class. Now at it's budget price it's a must buy if you don't already have it.
93/100
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2002
I like a game that you can just play, without waiting for repetitive loading or watching hours of cut scenes. But I also like a game the looks great, plays like a peach, has variety and a good life span. This game delivers on all counts and therefore gets five stars.
You don't need me to tell you the plot. What matters is how it looks and how it plays and how it keeps you interested.
How it looks? Stunning! The graphics are colourful but detailed with amazing scenery. From the sunsets to the dust kicked up as you run, everything adds to a feast for the eyes around every corner.
How it plays? The controls are smooth and easy with a camera that does a good job of keeping up. There is also enough variety in movement and environments to keep you interested where other games have got you switching off.
I played this game to the end and then went back later for some more. I don't end up finishing many games as big does not necessarily mean good in all cases, however this game has plenty of character to keep it in your machine until you've saved the world a few times over.
I can't wait for Ratchet & Clank, which looks to be even bigger and better than this.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2003
Naughty Dog have done it again, wisely ditching Crash Bandicoot for this masterpiece. Sublime visuals, great storyline and overall fantasticaly fluid gameplay, this is one you won't wanna miss.
BUT..........
If you cant decide between this and Ratchet, get both!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2002
Jak and Daxter The Precursor Legacy is an excellent game. The story goes like this. In a world were the boundries of science are ignored, human-like creatures live in harmony. Their world is powered by great a great magical power called eco. In this world, three sages live and foretell all the bad and the good. They are the blue, green and red sages. Jak and Daxter ignore Green Sage's advice to not go to "Misty Island". When they get there, monsters called Lurkers are listening to their commands and are guarding the place. Then, Jak and Daxter discover a pool of "Dark Eco" and Daxter falls in. When he comes out, he's a crazy, little, huggable, cute but very annoying cat-creature-type-thing. Jak and Daxter get back to the Green Sage who tells him they must journey on a quest to a sage who lives far in the north, because only he has studied dark eco long enough to turn Daxter back. But, he has not been seen in months and the way there is guarded by lurkers. And so, you get to guide Jak and Daxter in this Crash Bandicoot type adventure, and face challenges all around. But one must not forget; this is also a comedy! An extremely funny game aswell as a great adventure! Too much to take in! And now...on plantinum! A great game! BUY IT!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2006
If this game had Nintendo written on the box it would regularly feature in best games of all time lists. Sadly, the simple fact that it was a Sony game and not a beloved "Ninty" title or "Shigsy" masterpiece has denied it the classic status it so richly deserves. This is platforming paradise, distilled to absolute perfection.

Where sequels spoiled the blend with darker storylines and unwieldy, sprawling GTA influences, the original got everything that makes a joyous 3D platform absolutely spot on. The lure to collect all 100 orbs not only stirs the kleptomaniac inside us all but also lures you on for the sheer joy of each challenge. It sticks to the platforming staples but does it all with such flair and imagination that you can't help but revel in every single delightful task. It looks truly breathtaking throughout and never once fails to delight with its imagination and all pervading sense of fun, or shatters the illusion with anything that even hints at annoyance or frustration.

A truly outstanding example of first class design and creativity combined with a genuine mastery of the PS2 innards that only very few developers can aspire to. Like an Oasis album back in the days when they were good, it borrows influences from the best in the business and infuses the whole creation with a panache and brilliance that makes you want to complete it all over again while other newer games continue to gather dust on your shelves.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2004
This game is brilliant. I have completed it several times and it is as entertaining as ever. The graphics are nearly perfect and the control system is easy to use, made famous by the Crash Bandicoot series. But this game is much better than any offering from the brown marsupial.
The landscapes are beautiful and vibrant, the characters imaginative (to say the least) and there is a good plot.
There are huge expanses of different environments to explore and, as above, they continue to look good even as you learn the game off by heart.
The only bad points are Daxter, Daxter and Daxter. He is intensely annoying. Another thing is that it is VERY easy and you can complete it in a day and the fact that it is aimed specifically at younger players.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2004
This has to be one of the most addictive games available. From the verybeginning you are drawn into the game and become completely absorbed inthe fun.
The control of the game has been fantastically thought out andyou will soon find yourself performing all sorts of tricks and stunts withrelative ease. The landscape is huge and it changes just enough to keepyou interested in your surroundings without making you feel like you arelost or confusing you too much.
Even the plot of the story seems to keep you relatively interested,although you do get the odd sneaking suspicion that ideas might have runout in the designing office at some points of the game.
Overall, superband highly enjoyable.
Action 8/10
Graphics 8/10
Playability 9/10
Atmosphere 8/10
Lastability 9/10
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2004
Having purchased a PS2 mainly for our childrens entertainment, we ordered this game alongside a dance mat and eye toy, unfortunatly for the children (they asked me to help them get through a part which they were stuck on) I could not put the controller down, and once they were in bed I played this until the early hours. I am now in talks with both the wife (who is a ratchet & clank fan) and the children as to which game we should buy next. As there are 3 ladies against me I can only assume that they may win.
But I can't wait until I get a look in on the Jak & Daxter 2. Very addictive, but worth a look.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
A lot of the reviews compared this to games that I liked to play and I bought this to play on my ps2 after not playing on it for years. I got a few levels in and just couldn't stomach it anymore. The sidekick is the most annoying character and his voice cuts through me. He tries to be cheesey funny, but just comes across as irritating. The basic gameplay is what you expect so there's no fault to that, it's just the characters are awful and make the cut-scenes hard to watch. I didn't care about the characters so I didn't care if we beat the bad guy and have just stopped playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)