Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2016
Excellent - magnificent! Unfortunately, William Boyce seems not well known outside the UK. Heard him in your great "Classic FM".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I have long loved Boyce's 8 symphonies and was delighted to come across this MP3 album. The only possible criticism relates to the title, which should correctly be 12 Overtures / Concerti Grossi. the music is pure Boyce magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
A joy to listen to. Good recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2006
Boyce's 8 Symphonies have long been one of my favourite weapons against an attack of the doldrums. The compose may have spent much of his life in the shadow of the great Handel, but the Englshman had his own unique gift for a good tune - often based around catchy rhythmic figures. I have just discovered these Ouvertures (frequently an alternative title for a Symphony in the eighteenth century) and this charming, life-affirming music is just as upliifting as the better known Symphonies when played with such verve and brio as here. Resist music and performances if you can.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
arrived on time well packaged and the bonus of a free mp3 version of the cd's which can be added to your amazon music library is excellent. Boyce is a composer I only recently became aware of after hearing a piece on the radio. The music is fantastic if you've become a little tired of yet another overplayed Handel piece the Boyce is an excellent alternetive go on give the Largo's a rest for a while. The recordings are very high calibre too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
William Boyce Composer was a new name to me but having heard some of his work I felt compelled to learn more.
The 3 CDs I have bought --especially this one-- have reinforced my belief that more people should be made aware of the Boyce talent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
great recording very well played much enjoyed highly recommended good value for money has encouraged me to listen to more Boyce
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
It has definitely lived up to my expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Beautiful music - grows on me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)