Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
412
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2002
Never before has an Elvis album been remastered with such care. BMG has found the original masters and session tapes of 30 songs which made the top of the pop charts in the US and the UK between 1956 and 1977, remixed and remastered them, and added the JXL remix which recently topped the charts in fourteen countries. Similar to the ground-breaking Beatles Number Ones album in that Elvis' greatest songs aren't included if they didn't get to No.1, this therefore excludes songs like 'That's All Right', 'If I Can Dream' and 'Always On My Mind'. But it does include great songs like 'Heartbreak Hotel', 'Don't Be Cruel' and 'Suspicious Minds', all remastered to perfection. Some songs have sounded rather flat in the past, paarticularly 'Hound Dog', where they didn't have the master tape at hand, but now they've found it in a vault and used it for the first time since 1956.Two songs are noticably different, in that they've used a different version for this release. 'A Fool Such As I' is a different, earlier take of the song, and 'The Wonder Of You' is an undubbed version from an evening Vegas show, here replacing the overdubbed version recorded at the afternoon show the same day. Both lack the finesse of the master versions, but add to the collectability of the CD.These are the greatest hits of the worlds greatest entertainer ever. Therefore this has got to be the greatest album ever released by anyone, and should be in everyone's collection, along with 'The Sun Collection', 'Elvis Is Back' and 'From Elvis In Memphis'. Buy it now.
11 comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
When JXL remixed the '68 hit 'A Little Less Conversation' and got it to number one, it brought Elvis to a whole new generation of fans, including me. My parents are both Elvis fans and I've grown up with his music, but I bought this cd for myself, and to all young fans - it shows why Elvis is the King!
Most of the hits are from the 50's and early 60's, and the infamous tracks 'Heartbeak Hotel', 'Hound dog' and 'All Shook Up' are featured, as well as some lesser-known ones like 'too much' and 'hard headed woman'. What is great about this cd is that it shows Elvis' versatality - no other artist (not even Jacko, who many kids today think is better than Elvis, as if!) could change from rock (Jailhouse rock, burning love) to beautiful ballads (love me tender, don't, can't help falling in love) to gospel (crying in the chapel).
This cd also features 'suspicious minds' which puts Gareth Gates' recent cover to shame. And for newer or younger fans, the sleeve includes information on each track. Once you have this cd, you will want more. And remember:
Before anyone did anything, Elvis did Everything!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2002
The 31 songs on this album do not neccessarily give a complete picture of the enormous talent of the greatest recording artist of all time, but they are better than anything anyone else has to offer. All these songs are classics, many have already sold tens of millions of copies as singles and on albums.
With this cd there is the added bonus of the songs being remastered from the origonal tapes so that the sound quality is excellent. You can really hear ELV1S' voice crisp and clear, much better than on any earlier cd. It is almost like hearing the K1NG for the first time.
If you are an ELV1S fan then you have probably already decided to buy this album. If you are not yet a fan, listen to this cd. You will quickly realise why the Legend lives on.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
This disc has a good many Elvis hits. The interesting thing about it really is that you get to hear the tracks much more as the recording engineer would before any "sanitising" takes place. The disc is in " hi - res" quality( only playable on compatible disc players) which tends to show all the imperfections of the original "take". This is neither a "good" nor "bad" feature - it all depends what you prefer - personally I'm pleased I bought it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
This must rank has one of the greatest compilation albums in the history of rock and roll.Everyone knows the tracks even none Elvis fans.I bought this for my 28 year old daughter.Her favourite Elvis track is Jailhouse Rock.In my humble opinion this album should be in every music collection in the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This compilation contain 30 tracks that had been number one hits in the pop charts in Britain, America or both, together with the JXL remix of the hitherto obscure A little less conversation, which made the total 31. As others have noted, the remix created a whole new generation of Elvis fans although I had been a fan for many years previously.
The set is presented in approximate chronological order, beginning with his rock'n'roll hits of the fifties including the hard-rocking classics Heartbreak hotel, Hound dog, All shook up and Jailhouse rock along with great ballads like Love me tender.
After a spell in the army, Elvis returned to the music business but he recorded more ballads and his new up-tempo songs didn't rock quite as hard. Some people lost interest in his music at this point but I enjoy music from all periods in his career. His sixties music was different from his earlier rock'n'roll but was, if anything, even more successful, at least to begin with. The classic songs from the early sixties include It's now or never, Are you lonesome tonight, Marie's the name of his latest flame, Can't help falling in love and Devil in disguise.
As the sixties progressed, Elvis became an actor. Although some of his soundtrack music was brilliant, Elvis lost his way as far as hit singles were concerned. In the mid-sixties, he topped the UK charts with \crying in the chapel but the sixties were nearly over before Elvis again returned to the high places in the singles charts on a regular basis, although very few reached number one in Britain or America. Suspicious minds and The wonder of you are perhaps the most famous of them. Way down, the last of his original number one hits, was in the charts but not doing much when Elvis died. Within a few days, it shot to number one in Britain. It seemed unthinkable that Elvis would ever again reach number one in the pop charts, but then came that re-mix.
By following the charts strictly, some classic songs such as Blur suede shoes and Always on my mind are omitted while less famous songs such as Too much and A big hunk o love are included. However, all the classics omitted from this collection have been included on another compilation, 2nd to none. You can therefore get all the essential Elvis tracks via these two compilations but even without the other compilation, this is a great introduction to the music of Elvis.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2002
This CD is well worth the wait and money.
You are just not getting thirty one classic Elvis tracks but you are getting to hear Elvis as he was in the studio.
The guys who have produced this for BMG and EPE have gone back to the original master reels which some of them have not been opened for forty years. The sound is rumoured to be the best ever on any Elvis release. Reproduced at there own studios in New York , lovingly transferred to digital tape.
For the first time ever you can close your eyes and think that Elvis is in the same room.
If you have these songs already , still purchase this disc because you won`t have versions like these.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Love Elvis? Get this album! I have many compilations, but never tire of the fact many songs are on most of them.
This is a great selection - even better that it's on vinyl as going through a retro stage!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
This CD is pure entertainment! It's as if one is in the audience of one of his shows! There is a majority of easy listening songs with some of the real rock tunes. So enjoyable, I could play this one over and over, in the car, while doing the chores or even a relaxing evening. Highly recommended to the teenagers of the fifties and sixties!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
This CD was well worth the money very good value for money as it has a lot of his hits on it such as heartbreak hotel and stuck on you, I like Manny other people have quite a lot of his CDs and records, I listen to these CDs while doing my reviews in the morning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here