Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
268
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2013
You'll be enchanted right from the first number, in which the five Muses (from Greek mythology) set the stage of ancient Greece in a powerhouse gospel number which gives a whole new meaning to a Greek chorus. Recalling the three ladies in Little Shop of Horrors or Motown groups like the Supremes, the Muses appear randomly throughout the movie to narrate the story of Hercules with jazzy musical numbers that you'll be humming for days. The songs (by Alan Menken) are certainly a twist from the classic Disney musical, but there's enough variety to create a great, well-rounded musical.

Of course liberties have been taken with Greek mythology. The dysfunctional Olympian family has been cleaned up (No more Zeus having affairs or Hera trying to kill people) and the story has little in it of the original Greek legend. Instead, it's really an archetype, a modern retelling of all the Greek legends at once. Appearances are made by the Muses, the Hydra, satyrs, the Fates, Pegasus, the Titans, Narcissus, and of course all of the Olympian gods. Scholars may take offense, but since legends evolve and are to be taken with a grain of salt anyway, I didn't have a problem with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
This is a truly epic Disney film at its best! Inspired by the legends of Ancient Greece and its old gods, "Hercules" tells the story of a young god who wants so much to be like everybody else after his godly glow was sapped from him when he was an infant. The only trouble is that since he retained his godlike strength as a human, he stands out from everybody else whenever he gets into scrapes or pulls off a hugely physical stunt, such as the hilarious and exciting scene where he accidentally demolishes an entire market town, earning himself rude names and pitiable insults. Unable to cope with this, he turns to the two people who love him the most, his foster parents Alcmene and Amphitryon, and afterwards embarks on his ultimate quest, to prove himself a hero. However, being a hero outside of human society suddenly starts to feel less appealing (and the need to fit in stronger) when (and after) he encounters the beautiful Meg, voiced by Susan Egan, who is certainly not your typical Disney damsel in distress, being as deceptive as Hercules is modest, and for whom he nurtures a soft spot for the rest of the film, much to the annoyance of his trainer and sidekick Phil, voiced by the hugely talented Danny De Vito, therefore making for delicious comedy and a right royal struggle to aspire for a love - life. Also, who better to get in the way than Hades, Lord of the Underworld, voiced by the outrageously funny James Woods, along with his henchmen Pain and Panic? They are just so hard not to laugh at; every scene involving these three characters are great entertainment, and I do love a witty, sarcastic and wise - cracking villain who practically tells Hercules to ' "Get a grip!" ' whilst being held by the throat! With ingenious one - liners from both De Vito and Woods in particular, fabulous songs, hosted by several of the feisty Muses, daring action, sparkling romance and stunning animation along with some cool Special Features including an exclusive "Art Attack" video (I used to love that TV series), this film of heroic proportions is just the ticket to Ancient Greece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
This is fun.

Soundtrack is great. Most of the times I just play this movie at the same time I'm working on my illustrations or something else. I must have seen it more than 100 times.

Art: the animators and artists were able to put as much greek style as possible in it. Great character design.

Story: Fun epic adventure. I loved to watch Hercules from a boy to an adult. The villain is hillarious with his anger management problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
DVD copy is 16:9 in ratio yet has black borders at both top and bottom of the screen.

So in effect the image is encased in a big fat black frame.

The problem can be solved by zooming in by 2x.

However inevitably this involves a 50% reduction in the image quality.

Not cool.

Better to pay an extra £3 for the blu ray so have requested refund and will order that instead.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
As with most of the great Disney films this is something you can watch with the children, but that is not so dull that adult and older viewers will not enjoy it. The script is perfect, the film is quite funny in places, features some killer musical numbers and has some great characters such as sassy Meg.

The film all carries a deeper message about growing up, dealing with fame, finding your place in the world and belonging. It features young Hercules who has grown up in Greece, but always felt like he does not belong. His 'parents' reveal that he s not, in fact, their son and they found him one day wearing a medal with a symbol of the Gods on him. With his super-human strength Hercules sets out on a voyage of discovery.

With wonderful Disney animation, a good script, great characters and all the good elements of children's films, comedy and great musical numbers what's not to love?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
This has to be one of the funniest, most clever animations I have ever seen. If you know your Greek mythology, you may spot the odd error but it is brilliantly written with great characterisation (Hades is to die for - yes that pun is used too), Danny de Vito is a magnificent voice for the satyr teacher of Hercules, the music is terrific.
My DVD arrived and I watched it the same day because I hadn't seen it for years and I needed a good laugh.
Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This is and always will be a classic for me and I would highly recommend it to any family of any age even if you don’t have kids just buy it for yourself. You will find yourself singing along at times and one of the special features is a sing-a-long if I remember right which is just ace. Obviously in conclusion of this review it is probably fair if you consider the fact that this review is based on my experiences and this is heavily impacted due to the affect this and other Disney films had on my childhood so take the review with a little pinch of salt but when it comes to Disney films there are very few mistakes you can make other than avoiding them completely and growing up sad .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
I love this song collection you get in the film, so catchy and captivating. The DVD was not 100% in playing smoothly, so I missed out on a few things. However the film is great and despite the small problem. . . I don't regret buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Love this Disney film! The songs are awesome and so catchy and it's full of so many funny parts! (My fave scene is when pain and panic have Hercules merchandise and Hades is almost about to incinerate them haha). Hades has to be my favourite Disney character ever! He's so sassy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Received within a few hours... Had my granddaughters dance show music in it so she could practice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse