Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
It's ok if you havent anything to watch when your bored! .. Haven't seen the original yet, but I was soo stupid in buing this without knowing that there has been a remake of it. And it's pretty awful for a B movie!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
arrived quickly well packed no damage as described no hassles.

no spoilers

I like this kind of movie. its simple and un pretentious. its a modern day drive in excuse. the actors are ok the story is easy to follow there is a bit of drama, not much make out fun, good guys bad guys and worse creatures. If you can run to pop corn coke and a bit of candyfloss you've got a great night. Seriously the creatures.... the most terrifying thing about them how the creators thought for one minute this wouldn't be ridiculed. Or maybe that was part of the plan. In which case Salut.

You all know the plot lines and the actual lines so enough said.

ACID TEST: would I buy again/ recommend 90/10 yes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
1 of 30 horror films i like
10 out of 10
i hope they would make more horror films like this again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A previous reviewer states "The scenes are stolen from other movies such as Jaws, Piranha and Alien".
This is actually a made for TV movie which is a scene by scene remake of the superb 1980 original environmental horror movie with Doug McClure and Ann Turkel. Although being a TV movie the creature attacks are less violent, there is no nudity and even less of a sense of fun, although the Rogeman Chemicals company is a nice twist showing Corman still has a sense of humour.
The original movie may have borrowed ideas from other films but what movie doesn't?, and the creatures were a lot more impressive first time round. I'm no fan of movies that are almost scene by scene re-makes and this has done little to make me change my mind.
I accept my view is tainted by the fact that I am a big Doug McClure fan who loves the original movie. To me this movie has very little going for it at all, apart from seeing Emma Samms again, some reasonable acting performances and an OK DVD cover. Do yourself a favour, try to watch the original instead Humanoids From the Deep [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]. Ignore tbe Amazon cast details which still show Emma Samms and Robert Carradine, that's just a typo.
This is one occasion when imitation is definitely not the sincerest form of flattery.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2013
Humanoids From the Deep.

The title kind of explains everything you need to know about this film anyway. If you can't work out what the film is about and the quality of the movie, then you need to watch more films!

A small town gets more than they bargained for when someone does something or other (it doesn't really matter) that makes giant fish men come up from the depths and start trying to `get to know' the local female population. But don't worry... a plucky band of fish-fighting men are on hand to sort out these aquatic Casanovas.

The film has a real eighties feel about it - which is odd as it was made in 1996 - the same year as sci-fi blockbuster, Independence Day. It's hard to believe that two so radically different looking films can be made at the same time (although, Humanoids From the Deep is a little more believable when it comes to plot - no fish men were killed with the help of an Apple computer).

The first half of the film is played straight, however in the second half, the mood starts to change to something a bit more tongue-in-cheek (definitely how this movie should be taken, in my opinion). Yes, it's cheesy, yes, it's daft and yes, this film will never be up there with The Godfather and Shawshank Redemption. However, it is rather silly fun and if you're a fan of eighties horror movies with men in big rubber suits trying their hand at dating human females, then you might enjoy this - definitely one of those `guilty pleasure' films.

NB. Was it just me, or did anyone else think there were a few `Aliens' references in this film? I won't go on about them. It might just be my imagination.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
This is an entertaining and well made low budget horror thriller with a little bit of eco-awareness thrown in. Although this movie is a sequel, it's sold over here as Humanoids from the Deep without the 2 at the end, which could confuse some people. However, not to fear, as the events of the previous movie are regularly explained. This isn't an all out horror, in fact it feels like a cross between Jaws and the Creature from the Black Lagoon, and has more of a thriller feel to it. Some horror fans may possibly find it a little disappointing, as it isn't particularly scary or violent, though it does have some surprising scenes, and the monster is pretty cool looking. The basic plot is that people start disappearing in a coastal town after a company starts dumping toxic waste into the dock, and it soon becomes a race against time to stop the source of the disappearance, the film's namesakes, the Humanoids from the Deep. The cast is actually pretty solid, most of them have a reasonable history of TV acting and are therefore very watchable, unlike the casts of similar B features. The only things I can really fault it for is its sometimes worthy tone and possibly the fact that the film drags a little in some places. Other than that, this makes a fun watch, especially if you like light horror-eco-thriller type films like Jurassic Park and Independence Day. It is much lower budget than those films though, and some of the more violent sequences won't be for everyone. But if you're happy with that, this is an enjoyable creature feature which shouldn't disappoint, and it has a cool ending to boot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2006
The script makes no sense whatsoever at any time. The scenes are stolen from other movies such as Jaws, pirrhana and Alien. The monsters are for some unexplained reasons capable of withstanding being perferated by bullets, yet are remarkably flamable. All the characters are unconvincing and badly developed. The movie is idiotic in every aspect, and never entertains.
Absolutley nothing to recommend it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
up from the depths
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
If there was a fight between Alien and the Creatures From The Deep in this film, the creatures would win, hands (or fins) down! Featuring some some promising acting skill and some intriguing "special" effects, this film is a highly entertaining rollick about the perils of toxic waste and government experimentation; all I can say is...."Save The Fish!!"

this was possibly the most entertaining film i have seen for a long while. fact. I am the soul founder of the film night of hawthorn terrace and this would rival such films as conan2, phirranas, anacondas2, shrek, love actually and king cobra. this film is, surprisingly, better enjoyed halfway through a bottle of whisky.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)