Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

In A Silent Way
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 June 2015
Over the years I have bought a wide variety of Miles Davis albums covering the various styles of his glittering career.
This album is my outright favourite - I just love it. It would be in my desert island selection.
Of MD albums Big Fun is up there followed closely by Kind of Blue.
Also have a soft spot for On the Corner - my first MD purchase, on vinyl in about 1976 - took some getting used to but started me on a fascinating journey.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
Purchased for my husband and as he says you cant beat the sound of music on vinyl. I am no expert on Miles so may be criticized by experts on jazz but I would recommend. The album from this company came well presented,wrapped and in good time. They always send a secondary back up e-mail to let you know when they have dispatched so there is always a means of direct communication. I have never had to return an item but have gone back and ordered several more records as very pleased with company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2018
cd arrived safely & promptly, great price for a classic Miles Davis recording; would use this seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
Shhhhhhh.....Close your eyes and let Miles take you high above the clouds. The best way to describe "In A Silent Way" is "beautiful".....This is an adult lullaby. Miles Davis once again proves that his musical imagination can go well beyond others around him. This really is inspiring , relaxing , chillout jazz at its best. Unlike many other records it gets better and better the more you listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2013
Bought in CD form (April 2013) and the disc which arrived was the 2002 'reissue'. There is at times an unsettling amount of tape hiss on this copy so I tend to doubt that this has been in any way 'remastered'.

However, at the price this is hair splitting - it's easily ignored as you get into the simply sublime musical content which thoroughly deserves the 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2012
THIS FOR ME I FIND MORE REWARDING THAN BITCHES BREW
IT HAS A MORE SPACEY AMBIENT FEEL TO IT EVEN THOUGH IT FEATURES ONLY 2 TRACKS
JOHN MCLAUGHLINS GUITAR WORK STANDS OUT I ALSO PREFER THE STRIPPED DOWN INSTRUMENTATION WHERE AS BITCHES BREW HAS A FAR MORE DENSE SOUND. WORTH PURCHASING.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2016
Miles!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2013
It's amazing that this unique, 2 track album affectively led to the creation of Jazz Fusion. An absolute must for Miles and Jazz Fusion lovers, and an absolute steal at the price. Stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2015
Classic! Every time you listen to this, you'll hear something new.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
My all time favourite Miles Davis recording, classic 60's jazz at it's best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here