Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
Last Dj
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 January 2018
Brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
Estupendo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2011
Cd is excellent and arrived very quickly. Sadly the casing was a modern cardboard type and the plastic tray was broken. This was not stated in the ad and the info would have been helpful as the cd was bought as a gift. In the end I put it in a normal plastic case with an unbroken tray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2004
Only onwing the Tom Petty Anthology 76-93, i wanted to grab some of his more recent tunes after i discovered how good he was. Until a couple of months ago i didn't even know who he was, now hes one of my favourite artists ever!
'The Last Dj' is above and behold the lead song on the album, wonderful in soundup there with his best songs ever. My other 2 personal favourites are 'The Road Ahead' and 'The Man who Loves Women'. I don't need to go into lyrical qualityas if your a Tom Petty fan you know they will be pretty good anyway. The other songs don't hook me like others as i prefer the songs which drift along with a good rythem like 'Love is a long road' and 'Change of Heart'. All in all a fine album well worth getting wether you like T.P or not.
:)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2002
Well, I've had three listens. Now, a previous problem with TP of late has been a 15 track album with too many throw away tracks. This time he reigns it in beautifully. 12 tracks, splendid writing and performances. 'When A Kid Goes Bad' descends too much into cliche, hence a star off, but the rest of the album shines. The title track is wonderful, classic Petty. His voice sounds the best it's ever been. 'Money Becomes King' is an outrageously good song. Other gems (eg the beautiful Blue Sunday and the wonderfully quirky style of 'The Man Who Loves Women) abound. There is a fair amount of orchestration - deployed with arch subtlety and intent, particularly on 'Money Becomes King', and the guitar work is a little more restrained than on some recent outings, which is vastly to the album's benefit. In short, this is TP's best for a while. Enjoy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2002
Welcome back boys. The first track on this album is 'The Last DJ'. Hearing it is like coming home to a cozy fire. On the first play I got this tune stuck in my head. This is the track that will, ironically, get the radio play (if we're lucky) and it'll have you singing along in the car. The first few songs express Toms frustration with the music industry. Lets just say I don't think he's a big pop idol fan!
If you're familiar with previous albums, this one is more like 'she's the One' than 'Wildflowers'. There's plenty to chill out to. The lyrics are,as usual,modern poetry.
However, if like me you're looking for the rockin' track you won't find it on this album.
Still, light some candles & give it a whirl anyway!
P.S. Can we start a petition to get them to come in play in the UK? Tom! We need you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2007
As the proud owner of every Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers album, I must say that this is his very best. Superb vocally as always and not a track which could even remotely be described as weak. Best songs for me are the title track and 'Have Love Will Travel'. The latter is incidentally TP's favourite too. The main theme of the album is TP's anger/despair at a music industry which has become all too shallow and corrupted from the top of the music companies and owners.

I very much reccomend that those who can should get a copy with the bonus DVD too. TP takes us through a few of the songs on the album and explains their significance a little. Other artists take note of his words too. There is no 'filler' on this album nor should there ever be on any album.

Enjoy people, this really is good!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 September 2009
Ordinarily, bands that have been going as long as Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers should have been washed up, going through the same tired motions, albums that consist of a few radio-friendly catchy tunes and a lot of filler. 'The Last DJ' confounds such low expectations by being a very good record indeed, with Petty picking up the lyrical cudgels on a variety of subjects, ranging from the decline of disc jockeys who actually care about music, through to corporate sponsorship of rock gigs, and society's ills in general. Angry it is, in parts at least, but there are many sumptuous melodies, and excellent musicianship to be enjoyed on this record. The overall impression left is that Tom Petty ia A Good Bloke, still in possession of most of his marbles, and still capable of delivering high-quality radio-friendly rock - but with a conscience, too. Great record, pure and simple...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2013
I was travelling to the UK via Dubai and Tom Petty was one of the artists featured on the onboard CD system. The airline had best of comipilations of many artists. The track "The Last DJ" stood out strongly and after disappoiningly not being available in the CD stores in London, I decided to order through Amazon. I have two of Tom Petty's late 1980's albums and somehow stopped buying his albums but "The Last DJ" has renewed my interest in Tom. He's back with the Heartbreakers and I would recommend this album highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Echo
£9.98
Hypnotic Eye
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)