Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
21
3.6 out of 5 stars
From Dusk Till Dawn 3 - The Hangman's Daughter [DVD] [2000]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 April 2017
Ace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
N\A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2004
First there was 'From Dusk Till Dawn' a roller coaster ride of gore and excitement with a good plot. Then there was the sequel 'Texas Blood Money' a francise-killer of a movie. It was terrible, but based on the first film a lot watched it and it did well in the rental charts.
'Hangman's Daughter' is a very respectable entry in this series. A million times better than 'Texas Blood Money'. This film is a prequel, and tells us the origins of Santanico Pandemonium (the character played so sexily by Salma Hayek in the original). Unfortunately Hayek doesn't reprise her role, but it doesn't seem to effect the story as this is set before she's a vampire.
This film is a little more like the original. Set in the Wild West most of the action takes place once again in the 'Titty Twister' (sans electronic sign). There is some decent gore, humour and good b-movie cast.
Overall if you liked the first film in the series, you should enjoy this. The DVD also features one short deleted scene.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2014
Ever wonder about the origins of Santanico Pandemonium and the infamous brothel/bar infested with grotesque vampires?

No, honestly I didn't. "From Dusk Till Dawn" told me all I needed to know. But we got a prequel to that movie anyway. "From Dusk Till Dawn 3: The Hangman's Daughter" seems to be a fairly standard "gritty" Western until the final third -- and then it morphs into a less funny, more bizarre clone of the original movie. And for reasons that escape me, it also adds Ambrose Bierce to the mix.

Bierce (Michael Parks) and a pair of newly-wedded missionaries are on their way to Mexico, but they are stopped by Johnny Madrid (Marco Leonardi) and his band of ruthless outlaws. Madrid recently escaped the local hangman (Temuera Morrison), and brought the hangman's beautiful daughter Esmerelda (Ara Celi) with him. Yes, he's falling in love with Esmerelda. Big shock.

After Madrid's gang robs the stagecoach, both groups eventually end up in the same location, a brothel/bar located far in the Mexican desert. Yes, it's THAT one. But Quixla (Sonia Braga), the seductive woman in charge, seems oddly interested in Esmerelda -- and when night falls, the party is attacked by the vampires that run the place.

"From Dusk Till Dawn 3: The Hangman's Daughter" starts off as a very dark, gritty Western movie, mostly focusing on the clash between the cruel outlaws and the not-very-likable "good guys." But in the last third, it starts feeling really familiar -- we have sociopathic thieves, missionaries, an evil vampire queen, and some nameless chumps with "dead meat" tattooed on their faces.

Yes, it's basically a retread of the original "From Dusk Till Dawn," except it's in an old western setting. And it's not as good. Or funny. Or scary. Instead P.J. Pesce (who also inflicted "Lost Boys: The Tribe" on the world) throws endless boobs and blood at the camera, hoping that we won't notice that he isn't Quentin Tarantino. The plot just sort of plods along, and there's no real feeling of tension even when the vampires are attacking.

And unfortunately, he tries to be funny. Admittedly the TOTALLY RANDOM flamenco-dancing scene is kind of funny, but the others (the snake-head, the flying intestine snakes) feel like Pesce is trying -- and failing -- to imitate Tarantino's sick weirdness.

And the actors aren't anything to write home about either. Leonardi is too wooden and soft-spoken to be a credible outlaw, and he doesn't have the charismatic charm to make us overlook his casually murderous ways. Ara Celi is just as wooden, and most of the others are either nondescript thugs or hamfests (Rebecca Gayheart, Morrison). And while Michael Parks is decent as Ambrose Bierce, I kept wondering WHY Bierce was in this movie.

"From Dusk Till Dawn 3: The Hangman's Daughter" is a resolutely mediocre prequel to the Tarantino classic -- the plot is good, but the leaden direction and clumsy acting bog it down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2006
This film is better than the second. It goes back in time to show a similar series of events to the original film, featuring the same drinking establishment that was in the first film.
Good atmosphere, a good variation on the plot and a descent film in its own right.
Almost worth four stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
It's 19th Century Mexico. The infamous atheist, Ambrose Bierce, and his travelling companions have found themselves spending the night at an isolated and mysterious inn. They're not alone though; a group of bandits has also arrived, and with them is a beautiful young woman. The woman -Esmeralda- was kidnapped -or perhaps rescued- from a violent father. She is the eponymous hangman's daughter. Unfortunately for the outlaws, the father will stop at nothing to track down Esmeralda, and is closing in. If you've seen the first FDTD then you can guess roughly how things will pan out once all the players are in place and the plot is properly set up. Hint: it involves vampires and carnage.

This third installment in the series starts very strongly, adroitly building up the characters and suspense, and drawing in the viewer. In fact, the first half of the film is so strong that it was actually a bit of a let-down when the vampires arrived and we had to go back through the motions. It's a shame that this otherwise finely crafted film had to suddenly degenerate into an inferior (though still enjoyable) copy of the original. This film simply didn't have the budget to compete, so it shouldn't have been so eager to try. Instead, I think that the director would have been better off playing to the strengths of this installment: a terrific plotline, interesting characters, and atmosphere to spare. Alas, 'twas not to be. I was particularly irritated by the manner in which Ambrose was never given the opportunity to develop as a character; he was just there to make irreverent remarks, get drunk and to occasionally take charge. Personally, I wanted to know what drove this man to drink so much, and I wanted to know what effect this supernatural adventure would have on the outspoken atheist. Unfortunately, the character was never as fleshed-out as I would have liked. Much the same thing can be said for the other notable characters such as Esmeralda and her father. Apparently, the director was more interested in hurrying us to the special effects scenes. Shame.

Nonetheless, with all of that having been said, this film still stands up well alongside the original. Don't be put off by the straight to DVD tag; this one's definitely worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2008
Even if you didnt like the original From Dusk Till Dawn, you might enjoy this sequel, a mixture of spaghetti western and horror genres.
Outlaw Johnny Madrid escapes the hangmans noose, and taking the hangmans daughter escapes to meet up with his gang. Meanwhile the writer Ambrose Bierce is travelling by stagecoach to meet up with Pancho Villa, and has a preacher and his wife as travelling companions. After some thrilling sequences all of our dispirite characters end up at that same old brothel/lair that we've seen before(Ye Olde Titty Twister if you like),and its all top quality gore and guts from then on as the vampire hordes smell blood.
Theres some fine turns from some of our best character actors, such as Temura Morrison as the vicious hangman, Danny Trejo as the TT's barman,and Sonia Braga is incredibly sensual as toothsome madame Quixtla.
Special mention must go to to Michael Parks as Bierce, as its a wonderful performance and makes the film for me.
Add to this some excellent special effects, some rousing action, and some stunning scenery and you've got a winner all the way. I must admit that this film even surpasses its source original for me a couple of times.
The DVD is excellent quality, and there is one nice extra of a deleted scene
An excellent film. 4 out of 5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
Into the movies with more vampires but can't complain as i brought it for my collection. Plenty of suspense and eye catching scenes worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Really Poor Prequel that followed A Rather Poor Sequel (Does that even make sense? I know what I mean).Its Sad that this should have been linked to the original film because it is without a doubt one of the Dullest most boring Flicks ive ever sat through,atleast for part of the way because I turned it off before the end.Rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)