Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2017
It's the second time I've seen this film; I don't remember as much humour as I did when I first saw it; but that was thirty year's ago.

The Production Values have slid a bit, but the mis-en-scene and acting carries it through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Excellent product and service Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
DVD arrived in good,used condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Weird stuff
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
A cracking true story ww2 dvd i have loads a nice one to add to my collection it looks like it has been transfered streight from video to dvd but thats ok its still a great film i would recomend as the story seems far fethed but is its true very quick delivery thanks amazon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
this is simply one of the all time best films I've ever seen. Whilst not being able to add much that has been said by other people here, this film shows you the strength of the human spirit over the absurd and often cruel forces of history. Even if it were not a true story, it would be an extremely good film but being aware all along that it is a true story, makes the pathos and the humour all the more personal. The cruelties of history - and especially of this period of history -so often just shows the horror of the effects on peoples - it is so rare to see a story where the human spirit has been maintained in the very worst grip of cruelty. I can have nothing but praise for this film -with the acting of the main charter by Marco Hofschneider - being superb - but also the story of one individual who was able to maintain their spirit (and sanity!) whilst being thrown into sureal situations by fate into the very heart of the very worst forms of evil - and surviving!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
This is an extraordinarily funny film which, while it doesn't quite reach the heights of Hasek's "Good Soldier Svejk", views war from the perspective of the little man, the naïve participant caught up and swept along by the currents of history and blind obedience of those around him. While the humour does achieve moments of high farce, it is usually kept as an undercurrent, as an ironic theme, as a vital celebration of the human spirit.
In the face of horror, holocaust, and the fifty million lives swept away in the European war of 1939-1945, laughter is not only still possible, humour is not only still possible, it is obligatory, for to have killed the ability to laugh and smile would have been to have destroyed the human spirit and allowed darkness to triumph. "Europa Europa" looks at war with an almost childlike vision, but a childlike vision refracted by years of adult distance and the ability to perceive the ridiculous, the risible, the raucous even in the midst of nightmare.
Based on a true story, apparently, "Europa Europa" follows the travails of teenage Solomon Perel as he flees a pogrom in his native Germany, returns to the family's Polish roots, only to witness the 1939 invasion. He flees to the Russian side of the dismembered country, but, when the Germans turn their attention to the destruction of Stalin, Solly finds himself captured and pressed into service as an interpreter.
He quickly becomes a front-line mascot and is shipped off back to Germany, to attend an exclusive school for the Hitler Youth and children of the Party faithful. Throughout the entire film he struggles to hide or deny his Jewish roots ... and, more particularly, to conceal the fact that he has been circumcised.
A film about duty and obedience, a film about identity and the struggle to preserve it ... and an ironic commentary on masculinity, for Solomon's identity is ultimately bound up in his circumcised member - it's exposure can never be a triumph of macho dominance, but a betrayal of his vulnerability. Throughout the film, Solomon does as he is told - he obeys his parents, obeys the Russians, obeys the Germans. He struggles to obey his conscience, but he is young, he is human, and he is scared out of his wits. In the face of certain death, survival becomes the driving force. Ultimately, Solly obeys the instinct to survive.
The film is delivered as a series of episodes, each culminating in a cliff-hanger situation, each situation resolved in more and more farcical fashion. Like the heroine tied to the railway tracks, salvation always seems to arrive in the knick of time ... divine intervention with a wry grin! That one Jewish teenager could survive in these circumstances is incredible, suggests the film, and exposes the myth of German efficiency. Life can be farcical (in retrospect) and far from 'efficient'.
Primo Levi writes with extraordinary humanity and honesty about what it was like to survive Auschwitz. "Europa Europa" offers another spin on this. Survival is never heroic, is never one dimensional. Solly survives by sheer terror, ingenuity, and luck, pure luck. The Holocaust is too often offered up as simple, gross statistics. Solly, here, is a terrified teenager - a single, solitary individual against whom history and Europe seem to have conspired. You can sense the feeling of guilt, the "why me" questioning of the survivor, but the answer is in the film. Luck.
A very funny film with a very serious message, it will doubtless outrage some who see it. But it is a film which should make you laugh: if Solly is a pawn in history, his story is a triumph not simply of luck and survival, but of an indomitable human spirit. Silence laughter and you silence love, understanding, tolerance, and forgiveness, for humour is at the root of the human spirit. Excellent, excellent film.
22 Comments| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2000
This is an extraordinary story claiming to be the true adventures of an attractive adolescent German Jewish boy. Through an extraordinary series of coincidences and events he becomes a both a Young Pioneer in Stalinist USSR and later a member of a school for the elite of the SS during the later stages of WW2! It examines a whole range of themes relating to ideology, sexuality, coming of age and does it with a huge degree of sympathy and humour. The horror of what happens is not evaded, but the message of hope and the symapthetic portrayal of even the Nazis gives this film more than the usual degree of humanity. There is no blame allocated, all are equally victims of circumstance and belief. A complex and strange film that bears repeated watching and is extremely popular with even those who reject subtitled movies!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
This must be the most truly awesome film I have seen. First of all, I couldn't believe it could be true until I saw Solomon Perel's name on the credits as himself as there just seemed to be too many coincidences to be believable. But then again, life is full of coincidences (my own included), so on we go.
The period detail and location filming is fantastic. Having lived in Lodz for a while, I could recognise the very streets and tram stops where it was filmed - something especially poignant as I lived on the site of the old ghetto, thus any film of the Lodz ghetto instantly brings back my own memories of that beautiful but neglected city (worth a visit). Secondly, the idea of having each character speaking in the language in which they would have spoken in real life was a master-stroke - too many films portray stereotypes of foreigners with silly accents (depending on which country is making the film for the exact stereotypes used), thus heightening my interest in the film tenfold (as someone who speaks Polish and Russian, although not German) when one was able to rest one's eyes from reading the subtitles rather than watching the action.
The characters are treated sensitively, with even the Germans inspiring sympathy, particularly Leni and her mother having to cope with the pressures of society and the need for compassion. War - and even politics in our society - does terrible things to people's values, forcing compromises that are often painful to make. Solek's survival depends on compromising his own values, and hinges ultimately on sheer luck, coincidence - or divine intervention? Not even Gerd or the Nazi schoolmaster can be wholly evil, and Hitler himself is portrayed as hiding his own compromises in Solek's dreams. A tragedy too often displayed in black and white is depicted in breathtaking colour.
The only gripes I did have were with an unbelievable story, too much comic sex (the scene on the train) and a feeling that it swung from bathos to high farce in the space of two minutes. However this relates to the fact that I didn't realise it was a true story, and thus what is realistic in a movie plot often isn't realistic in life, which is far too complex for most screenplay writers to really master.
In short, if you are wanting a realistic, beautiful and bittersweet film about the war - watch this one.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
The true story of Salomon Perel who escaped the persecution of the Jews by becoming a member of the Nazi party.

This is a fascinating film, beautifully acted and filmed, with a star turn from Marco Hofschneider. Though not without touches of humour, there are some tense moments indeed as Salomon comes dangerously close to being discovered.

The disc quality is good without being outstanding and I suspect that it has not been remastered for the DVD issue. The picture is not anamorphic either but widescreen letterbox. Subtitles are good and clear. Recommended with slight reservations.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)