Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 9 February 2016
A good idea fairly well executed.
Acting is good, Sellers great and a joy to see David Kossof.
Prob is that it is more like an excellent pantomime less like a film.
I remember being a bit disappointed when I saw it all those years ago. We had already watched the Mouse on the Moon and perhaps that even in black and white stole it's thunder.
Or maybe "mouse" is just better. Not so easy to get a copy of that tho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
Excellent will shop here again thank you so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
husband likes peter sellers films he like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
Always loved this film from when I was a youngster!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Wonderful old film. Peter Sellers at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2005
From the director Jack Arnold, who directed many great sci-fi movies such as "It Came from Outer Space (1953)", we are brought the tale about the Duchy of Grand Fenwick, a small country in Europe. Their major economy is the production and export of wine. After being snubbed by the U.S. wine industry they declare war on the U. S. The plan is to surrender and then be compensated with the wine concession to the U.S.
Naturally they get a little enthusiastic and things do not go as planned. Looks like they may have won the war. Peter Sellers plays three different characters (Grand Duchess Gloriana XII/Prime Minister Count Rupert Mountjoy/Tully Bascombe.)
Someone gets the Q bomb. And you get a laugh.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Breezy fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 May 2016
By and large I avoid writing or posting negative reviews. But, having very recently just ended an otherwise pleasant family evening with this film on DVD, I feel compelled to register a critical view.

My dad's a fairly enthusiastic Sellers fan, without being an ardent devotee. So the choice of this movie on that occasion was largely in his honour. This said, it had been suggested we watch The Party. But, all of us present at the soirée having seen that highly enjoyable film many times, I prevailed upon the company to try something different. Oops!

Having just seen and enjoyed another multiple-role Sellers film (Soft Beds & Hard Battles) I'd hoped this would be fun. But I think all of us were 'unonymously' agreed, this was just plain lame. I think each of the four of us might've let out the faintest of chortles about once each during the entire film, which - for a film purporting to be a comedy - ain't saying much.

The plot is silly, but has potential (and is reminiscent of the far better - but itself not brilliant - Ealing Comedy, 'Passport to Pimlico'), as the tiny English-speaking Central-European nation of Grand Fenwick takes America on militarily, hoping for defeat and a lucrative post-war aid package, but accidentally winning.

Sellers manages the job of multiple roles superbly in Dr Strangelove, and pretty well in Soft Beds & Hard Battles, but here he plays three equally unengaging charisma-free nonentities. His turns here just reminded me how much better Alec Guiness did the same sort of thing in Kind Hearts & Coronets.

Sellers is most enjoyable here as the unctuous Count Rupert Mountjoy, the Prime Minister, who concocts the daft idea of declaring war on the US with the stated aim of losing and benefiting from post-war reconstructive aid. He's less winning as Duchess Gloriana XII, the First Lady of Grand Fenwick, and he's a damp squib as Tully Bascomb, the gormless bespectacled chief of Grand Fenwick's feudal-era armed forces.

The chemistry between Sellers and Jean Seberg is a complete dud; no fireworks at all! And, like many of the 'characters', Seberg never becomes more than an irritating cipher. Other familiar faces - William Hartnoll and Leo McKern, for example - also fail to ignite either laughs or interest.

It's odd how some older comedies (both the aforementioned Kind Hearts & Coronets and Dr Strangelove) stand the test of time so well, whilst others - this, Carry On Spying, Carry On Up The Khyber, Carry On ... (well, lets face it, most of the Carry On franchise) - don't.

But, then again, maybe it isn't that perplexing. Funnily enough, really good comedy requires intelligence, and at least some depth, neither of which qualities are ever very apparent here. Ironically, in light of a particular maritime sequence in the movie, this film seems to have got lost mid-Atlantic, having neither the charm of a good British comedy, nor the slickness of a good American production.

And there's something cloying and rather nauseating about certain pro-American moments in this production, if taken at face value. A deeper and creepier irony is that, in the real world, the FBI hounded Seberg in a notoriously inhumane manner, possibly leading to such events as the death of her child, her psychological deterioration, and ultimately her suicide.

Oh, those sweet Yanks, they're so nice to their enemies... cue canned (and very hollow) laughter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)