Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
Slaughter Of The Soul
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 December 2015
Just as described. Awesome album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2009
very good album the first 5-7 tracks are great but it kind of drags on by the 10th track but other than that its one of the best melodeath albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2007
Because Slaughter of the Soul is not some weird exercise in industrial soundscaping. Nor is it yer typical death metal album, as this was a definitive album in the Gothenburg movement of the mid 90s, namely melodic death metal. This new style merged the ferocity and savage vocals of death metal with the melodic side of the NWOBHM bands. As this was one of the first in the movement, it would exert a large influence on later MDM bands and also on the metalcore subgenre.
Anyway, enough of that. You probably want to know about the music here. The record owes a lot to thrash metal. Most songs are played fast as hell with plenty of killer high-speed riffs. Drummer Adrian Erlandsson absolutely pounds away at his kit while dual guitarists Anders Bjorler and Martin Larsson shred away on the axe. However, these riffs are genious in the way that they are really fast and heavy (gotta love the guitar sound on this album) but also manage to convey a strong sense of melodicism. This makes the songs seem desperate and furious in a melodic way that no one had done before Slaughter of the Soul. There are some nice Judas Priest-style guitar harmonies and solos thrown in. The album's style was therefore, uniquely melodic as well as furious, giving the album its own amazing character. The band proved that melodic death metal didnt ever have to sound cheesy, as In Flames and Children of Bodom occasionly do.
Singer Tomas Lindberg refuses to use the indecipherable cookie monster growl in the style of Cannibal Corpse or Napalm Death. He goes for a slightly higher but equally choked-sounding vocal style which is filled with anguish as well as fury, perfectly matching the music. It also matches his great lyrics which convey disgust with the state of the modern world. The use of a few spoken voice samples adds to this.
It shares many of the things that made Reign in Blood so great. The songs are all fairly short and the album is also fairly short. The songs are all brilliantly unified in their musical and lyrical ambitions, and the album is completely exhilarating as it flies past.
The band also does a few things that Slayer would never do. They bring in an acoustic instrumental called Into the dead Sky about halfway through and the closing song, The Flames of the End, is an atmospheric keyboard based track. There are also some nice gentle touches within some of the other songs, like the clean guitar section in Cold (which has an awesome solo from Andy LaRocque!!) and the brief acoustic parts in Unto Others over which Lindberg actually shrieks. These are a testament to the band's creativity but do not disrupt the album's unity and vision at all.
Some may complain that its not as skull-crushingly brutal and terrifying as death metal, but its MELODIC death metal people! And that's a good thing. The band also shows a lot more emotive power and musical vision in this incredible album than most death metal bands anyway. My favourite tracks are Blinded by Fear, Cold, Under a Serpent Sun and Suicide Nation. They are all killer songs though, and are all essential to the album. You should definitely treat yourself to this metal masterpiece, although you should probably get it from a shop cause its not in stock here. You wont be disappointed. Later.
P.S. Slaughter is also a perfect introduction to extreme metal, as someone else has said already said. It certainly was my introduction.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2004
Okay firstly, At The Gates did NOT sound like Slayer. They've covered Slayer a few times in their unfortunately short career, and they're definitely influenced by them, but they're far more similar in sound to their peers in the Swedish/European Thrash/Melodic Death/Whatever the hell you want to call the freaking genre type stuff. Bands they reminded me of the first time I heard them included Entombed, Carcass and at times BoltThrower. Not Slayer. Now I've got that out of the way onto the review proper. At The Gates were a fantastic thrash metal band from Sweden, who mixed melody in with the aggression, and instead of penning songs about rotting corpses with no heads or wielding a battle axe against their foes dealt with what was going on around them through their music. As a major At The Gates fan, I must say that this is their most consistent, and if pushed, best record. Hence I'm giving this five stars. Personally I prefer their earlier efforts With Fear I Kiss the Burning Darkness and Terminal Spirit Disease, but they're less well produced and less accessible. Slaughter of the Soul taps in more to mainstream thrash stylings like Metallica and the aforementioned Slayer, and as such is probably the best place to start. All the songs are well written and there's no real filler to speak of unless you hate instrumentals in which case you'll find two filler tracks. My personal favourites are World of Lies and Cold, though all the tracks are of a high standard and full of catchy riffs and melodies. This is more extreme than the average metal record, at times heavier than hell, especially on tracks like Nausea or the bonus track Legion, but the consistent melody and rhythm throughout stops you from getting sick of the heaviness. As such, this is one of my favourite CDs, and one that's in constant rotation on my CD player at home. If you like metal, you owe it to yourself to check Slaughter of the Soul out.
PS: If you like these guys check out these bands. They're ex-At the Gates: The Haunted, Disfear, The Great Deciever. You won't be sorry
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2005
this has been rated one of the all time greats of death metal albums and i can't complain. the music flows rather well, some aspects do sound samy but then if you like one song why wouldnt you like the others. for guitar players and everyone else, the riffs are very catchy and very good to learn showing a very strong style of songwriting. older at the gates albums are very different to this, they sound more like undergound demos but this has a better recording quality and its bold and clear. to conclude, it is a good album for heavy metal fans and should be somewhere in your cd collection. definatly for fans of in flames (old or new stuff) and bigger death metal bands.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2006
The inspiration, perhaps unfortunately behind many of the modern melodic death metal and metal core bands, this is At The Gate's finest hour. Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, and always accessible it opens with 30 seconds of white noise before launching into the thrash fest "blinded by fear". The album is packed full of great rockers, of which my personal favourites are the awesome "suicide nation" and the title track "slaughter of the soul". This album does not suffer from the one-dimensionalism that plagued many of their contemporaries -it has its quieter moments such as the melodic "into the dead sky". To call this album the European "reign in blood" wouldn't be far wrong-for any fan of metal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2003
I have always been a fan of death metal bands. Such as slayer. If you are too, do not hesitate to buy this album!!
I listened to slaughter of the soul. Then the next day i went out and got the album! This is one of my pride possessions in my CD collection. With Great guitaring and drumming its hard to find better! At the gates have really showed us how its done.
There are also some boody good solos in this album as well.
If you do get it (Trust me do!) Take the time to listen to legion*, but there all great songs. I can't find one i don't like.
Overall i give this album a 10/10. Well done At The Gates!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2003
Every so often, someone likes to take an album, years after its release and say HERE, this is where something began... and Slaughter of the soul by by At The Gates was just such a moment. It was the realease of this album that woke the world up to the fact that thrash was not some 80s throwback, but a form of music that had gone back underground, remembered why it hated the world and come back teeth bared, spoiling for a fight. At The Gates played thrash through a slightly gothic filter, allowing the melodic sensibilities of Iron Maiden to occasionally shine through the pummel, not afraid to let a little folk influence in, just so as to highlight the riffage when it inevitably came. Sadly, with this album, the band split and members went their separate ways, but the main songwriting team ; identical twins Anders and Jonas Bjorler (lead guitar and bass respectively) went on to form The Haunted, an equally thrashtastic band, though perhaps not as original or experimental as ATG.
With Slaughter of The Soul, thrash proved it had grown up, grown into a meaner leaner beast... and for that we are forever thankful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2006
Bought this when it originally came out (in its 11 track format) off the back of an Earache sampler and having heard their version of Captor of Sin. I was not disappointed. From the growling opening the album explodes into Slaughter of the Soul, which is truly up there as a true all time classic death metal anthem. Reason the album doesn't get more stars is because it fails to get back to that peak and becomes a little repetitive. Good stuff though, not quite 4 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2004
This is a thrash classic in the same league as the mighty Slayers Reign In Blood. In my opinion they are neck an neck. This album still sounds as fresh and as brutal as it did when it came out. I dont really like any other At the Gates albums. But this is not a critism of the band is just that this album is perfect. It weighs in about 30 mins and is a blast from start to finish. This is an album youll listen to again again. None of the bands made from the ashes of At the Gates have managed to suppass this opus. The Haunted sound dated in comparison, and Arch Enemy sound like choir boys compared to this slab. This is the definitive SWEDISH thrash album!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Red In The Sky Is Ours
£10.56
The Gallery
£11.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)