Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
109
4.6 out of 5 stars
Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 April 2017
I remember when I first ehard Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots part 1 on the radio - it was love at first note ;) Now I finally have the record and let me tell you, it is gorgeous - the whole thing: music & the vinyl itself. The artwork is also incredible :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
One of my all time favourite albums. Quirky lyrics and good sounds. My daughter who is 8 also loves it - many happy times singing along:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
bought this after seeing FL brilliant performance at Boardmasters Festival in Cornwall 2017 - great album -
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
great listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
The lyrics are often mawkish & the singer has an annoyingly reedy & nasal voice. But for some reason I find myself listening to this. Perhaps it's the awesome squelchy synth bass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 June 2003
ere are, unfortunately, not many albums like "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots." I enjoyed "Soft Bulletin" when I found it at a store last year, but what really dragged me in was the peculiar title of "Yoshimi." It's a fun, sweet, sad, immensely fulfilling album.
The songs tend to have a slightly futuristic feel; first off is the catchy "Fight Test" ("I don't know where the sunbeams end/and the starlight begins/it's all a mystery"), the haunting "One More Robot/Sympathy 3000-21" about a robot developing emotions (don't cringe -- it's done wonderfully), the poignant time-travel song "All We Have is Now," the somewhat more forgettable "It's Summertime (Throbbing Orange Pallbearers" and "Ego Tripping at the Gates of Hell," and the fantastic, almost pleading "Are You a Hypnotist?".
But my favorite tracks may be "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots"; part one is a delightfully cheesy description of a karate girl who is battling the evil robots. ("Oh Yoshimi/they don't believe me/but you won't let/ those robots eat me!") The second part is a funny instrumental, the actual conflict itself, punctuated by Yoshimi's bloodcurdling shrieks and the sound of those destructive pink robots.
If you can't handle music that stretches the imagination, then this isn't your album. Some songs ("Do You Realize?") would fit easily into a different album. But many of them ("All We Have is Now," "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots Pts. 1 and 2," "One More Robot/Sympathy 300-21") have that slightly fantastical, science-fictiony feel. The music is fast and deftly-performed, with the surreal notes that the lyrics demand. The overall effect is fun, catchy, sweet and sometimes quie funny. (The only distracting element was the cheering and applause)
Most albums leave you unsatisfied, craving something indefinable, but "Yoshimi" didn't do that to me. When I finished the last track, I just hit "play" again and listened to the entire album a second time. Highly recommended, a pleasant quirky piece of work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
Yosimi Battles The Pink Robots, was the follow up to the bands 1999 release the majestic, awe inspiring "Soft Bulletin" which critics around the world drooled over, and to large excitement so did the record buying public, the record shifted a million copies, which for the flaming lips was a mega achievement, because I think if you were to add up the amount of copies their other albums sold, it would more than like be half of the amount of the soft bulletin.

With the success of the soft bulletin, the bands 11th album, the bands larger fan base, were expecting the band to come up with the goods for "Yosimi Battles The Pink Robots", how could the band follow up with arguably the best album of the 1990s?

Come back four years later, whit what is arguably the best album of this decade. This album is a album that deal with love, loss and death.

This is a record that should not work, it's a record that should be quite frankly awful, but due to the honesty of Wayne Conye, and his heartfelt lyrics, this, against the odds is one the most life affirming pieces of work that you are ever likely to hear.

Even in its most depressing moments tracks such as Do You Release??, Its Summer Time and all we have is now, they are ultimately positive songs, that are about enjoying the time you have on this planet

This is a bench mark in the history of recorded sound, that others will be trying to surpass for years and years to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
This cd comes on the same label as bugs bunny - Warner Bros. Well I thought that was interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2004
In the tradition of popular music, concept albums are generally poor and unsatisfying. Dire, even, with the exception of that rare few - Van Morrisons seminal 'Astral Weeks', David Bowies loosely connected glam rock fest 'Ziggy star dust' and Mike Skinner's 'A grand don't come for free' are a few gems in a mine of mud and rubbish. It was with a certain degree of trepidation then that I approached a concept album about a girl battling an army of pink robots from a band who I'd never heard a lot about before, and despite critical acclaim, upon first listen I was dissappointed.
The second listen was the same. And the third. But gradually the psychedelic, digital, orchestral indie-rock on display began to seep into my psyche and dig away at me, until the album had me hooked and stayed on constant rotation in my cd player for a number of weeks. Now I know that psychedelic, digital and orchestral indie-rock all sound contradictory, and they are. But 'Yoshimi battles...' blends the various styles and influences seamlessly into what initially may appear random and scattered arrangement, but will progressively unravel until it all makes perfect sense, much in the fashion of Captain Beefheart's classic 'Trout mask replica'.
The album opens to a harsh electronic voice reverberating before breaking into a summery introspective tune which initially sounds reminiscent of 'Father and son' before finding it's own shape. One more robot / sympathy 3000-21 is blessed with Coyne's soft centred vocals which bring a ludicrous concept to have some emotional effect as he sings 'one more robot wants to be something more than a machine' to a pacy drum snare and electronic sounds. The two namesake songs of the album spiral towards a frantic and chaotic electronic climax yet somehow retain a sense of melody amidst the confusion of Yoshimi's screams and laser shots. Later the listener is sonneted by the innocent charm of 'Do you realize' as Coyne softly sings plaintive but touching lyrics to a low tempo track.
Such a medley of styles and influences would normally provide a stumbling block for any artist or band, but apparently not with The Flaming Lips. Traces of artists ranging from Captain Beefheart to Kraftwerk to Blur are detectable within this album, yet for all their contrast they blend perfectly. Though the subject matter is ludicrous, the psychadelia of the record and the heartfelt vocals of Coyne combine to submerge the listener in the story and the music. Small touches such as a chorus of girls making karate chop noises in the back ground to the lyrics of 'Her name is Yoshimi, she's a black belt in karate' are a measure of the intracicy of the album, it's quirkiness, and it's charm. The production from the band, Dave Fridmann and Scott Booker is pin-point accurate throughout the album throughout, and the track-listing is perfect - the cd plays as if it were one song flowing through different phases, not a collection of songs - as any good concept album should. Infact the term 'good concept album' is not applicable here. It would be more appropriate for 'Yoshimi battles the pink robots' to inherit that rarest of terms 'great concept album' which has been passed down from The streets, David Bowie and Van Morrison. Fantastic stuff.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Oczy Mlody
£7.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)