Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 9 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2002
I dont know if this album will be appreciated by everyone, but I dont think it will be, but also it doesnt need to be. I am a big jazz music fan but also a House music fan so this album is just right for me. Combining the creme de la creme of jazz and electronic dance music, the end result is amazing that makes me want to listen to it again and again. But this cd will probably not be accepted by all the jazz purists. Its fresh, its innovative, its respectful to the original music and above all is a pleasure for the ears. The best album for the summer and a future classic. Thank you Verve, I cant wait for the Vol.2
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2002
Thid album is brilliant, I bought it yesterday and already have the entire office converted, didn't take long! The artists really have treated the vocals with utmost respect and have mostly put them before the instrumentals. In most cases there is a very good balance... the original vocal tracks are also sounding extremely crisp and clear, very impressive. I do think that on 'Summertime' - remixes by UFO - the vocal is swamped a little by the strings, although this track is very good in their hands, the vocal deserves to shine a little on its own, it doesn't need anything else at times... Rae and Christian drop the bomb as always and MJ Cole / MAW / Joe Claussell show some TIGHT production skillz. The purists must realise that this is what labels should commonly do... remix the music for the new younger generations emerging and keep it all fresh! I'd definitely recommend this purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2006
The idea of taking a “classic” track and updating it for club consumption isn’t new and the road to success is littered with the burnt-out wrecks of failure. But when it works it, as it does on most of the tracks here, the results can be quite magical.
So, what makes it work? Well, in the case of Richard Dorfmeister’s stunning interpretation of Willie Bobo’s “Spanish Grease” it’s understanding why the original is so infectious and then overlaying & seriously extending these elements with the very best of electronica/dance to make it… much better. Or in the case of Thievery Corporation’s total rework of Astrud Gilberto’s “Who Needs Forever?” its taking a couple of phrases from the song that capture the atmosphere & essence of the artist and using them to produce something that, while it bears little relation to the original, becomes one of the very best Astrud Gilberto tracks you’ll ever hear.
Clever & brilliantly effective, the whole album is stuffed full of similarly impressive remixes by some of the best club artists around and, if you like this sort of thing, it’s an absolute “must buy”. And, if you don’t, it may well make you think again because once it gets its hooks into you it’s pretty impossible to put down.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
Took a punt after hearing samples - the first 2/3 of this album are great, but the last few mixes don't work for me (particularly Tricky's plain odd remix of Strange Fruit, which I loathe). However a compilation like this deliberately targets different genres, so even if you don't like that style, there is plenty on here - the main thing is most remixers have incorporated a lot of the original vocal (in most cases, all of it). Later issues in this series forgot that's what jazz/vocalist fans wanted to hear, not small samples over a repetitive bass-line and beats! Voluime 2 seems to be worth checking out too, but to be honest I don't think jazz purists would want to touch this series, unless very open-minded!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2002
Now and again and album comes along that grabs you by the short and curlies. Verve Remixed is a point in question. The album is filled with a range of quality tracks for the 'alternative dancefloor' and trendy bar goers.
Masters at Work's remix of Nina Simone's See-Line Woman is a broody interpretation with funky latino percusion and floating piano chords that fit perfectly beneath Simone's haunting vocals. Another track worthy of note is Rae and Christian's mix of 'Is you or is you not my baby?' by Dinah Washington. This is more of an uptempo breakbeat number, in the same vein as some of the Propellerheads' work.
Other quality tracks include MJ Cole's interpretation of 'How long has this been going on?' which is a soulful garage record along the same lines as 'Sincere'. Return to Paradise by Shirley Horn is a funky, downtempo track that is synonomous with Gilles Peterson's sound and definitely worth checking out aswell.
The rest of the album consists of some other downtempo gems. A must buy. The connisseur's choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2003
cool, mellow.....a great wind-down album.
what a flattering twists to all this old classic jazz favourites.
i don't like people tampering with this kind of stuff usually, but this is the biz!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Excellent album...play it daily and it always evokes a nice vibe for the start and end of a busy working week! A must purchase! X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Received promptly, item as described & expected. Excellent price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2002
Purist will say that the originals were Miles better - and they would be right. This new lot could never stand up to such greats as remixed here.
However, if the album is taken as a new collection of songs from some of the best remixers/producers, it suddenly starts making sense. For example, imagine that M J Cole has made a classic deep garage track and has had the good fortune to have Carmen McRae guesting on the track, and accept this album for what it really is - new tunes with some classic vocals.
Some of it doesn't work, but most of it does and very nicely too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Verve Remixed 2
£9.69
Verve Unmixed
£19.42
Verve Remixed 4
£20.53

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)