Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2002
Chilled summer music. Sit back and relax with some robust beats, bouncing vocals and nod-inducing piano. This album bounces along providing a perfect soundtrack to a sunny summers day. Helpful i the middle of winter you may say, but DCSM reminds you of summer days with an ice cold drink in your hand.
The meandering rhythms and beats plant ideas in your head and they spiral out of control. DCSM is musical weed; just chilled, relaxed and a wonderful spectrum of dub. This album really spreads dub's wings, expanding its boundaries as a genre and creating new styles for future dubmeisters to work on. Vocals aren't necessary on every track, they simply accentuate the beat when used while the other tracks develop. A truly innovative album from Roots, proving he is one of the brightest talents in the current British music scene. He ain't no one trick pony, Roots is versatile and creative and I look forward to more material from him.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2002
Roots has spent a lot of time & effort ensuring that this collection of excellent tunes has the heaviest bass going. My neighbours can attest to this. The dub tunes here are dark, heavy, using loads of delay, straight from the Mad Professor school & are superbly cut. The new songs rock too & have been treated to the same level of bass-heavy mixing. Check the awesome Man Fi Cool ("I aint got no choice but to flex like a nutter"); Revolution 5 with Chali 2na which is better even than Join the Dots on Run Come Save Me; and my track of the album, UK Warriors, with the North London Dapper Dan himself, Skinnyman. I catually reckon this is a better offering than RCSM & has hardly been out of my CD player since I got it. Heavy, mate - Heavy, Heavy, BOOM!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
it has to be said this is one of the great dub albums ! if you like roots manuva you gwan looove this ! from the top to the last drop exellent ! be aware it does in some ways sit on the fence between UK dub and UK hiphop but it does it very well , everybody should own a copy .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2002
Rather than release a new album, this is a collection of dubs and tracks that did not quite make it to the Run Come Save Me album. It is a mixed bag, tracks like 'Tears' and 'UK Warriors' are excellent but most of the dubs desperately need lyrics to back them up, The 'Witness' dub in particular just ain't the same without those ten pints of bitter to enjoy it with. I would describe this as a nice addition to Run Come Save Me and it does have a nice sound throughout, but buy this expecting the new classic from Roots and you will be very disapointed. Think of this as a stop gap while we wait for the true follow up...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
I just love this album, it's got the hallmarks of a true classic. If you love todays mainstream hits you're going to hate this one, it's that good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Roots Manuva's brilliant reworking of his previous album. Short and sweet with outstanding production from Roots Manuva himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
Roots Manuva is the MAN.. deep, funky and kick-ass.. go get it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2002
I picked up this CD and saw that it only had 10 tracks, I thought this was wack. There are 5 dubs and 5 tunes that didn't make it on to 'Run Come Save Me'. If you are not a Roots Manuva fan then indeed this is not for you, buy one of his earlier fuller albums, i recommend 'Brand New Second Hand'. However if you are already a Roots Manuva fan like myself then this album is very interesting and not as weak as it may first seem. The 5 dubs need no vocals as they explore the music behind Roots' tunes and show why his tunes have so much depth: they're not just about the lyrics (although the lyrics are quality). You might think that the other 5 tunes are weak cast offs from 'Run Come Save Me'. You would be wrong all they do is reinforce the diversity and extensive material the Mr Manuva is capable of. Once again Roots Manuva produces a chilled, reggae based alternative to American hip hop which us brits can't relate to. Also check out Skitz 'Countryman' and Blak Twang 'Kik Off', two more quality albums. Enjoy!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2002
Just because you already own Run come save me...does not let you off having to buy this masterpiece.
This album not only diversifies everything that you have known from the previous album but in doing so adds a great deal of listener satisfaction in identifying this.
Ultimately if you are only gonna buy one of the albums (run come ave me or dub come save me) then opt for run come save me...but anybody considering themselves a roots manuva fan or anybody with a decent bass setting on there stereo SHOULD BUY THIS.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here