Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£4.95+ £2.80 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2003
I will never be able to understand where these people who assert that Friends shows signs of tiredness come from. The episodes are as lively, fresh and hilarious as ever, even is this series manifested some imbalances as to the equal distribution of screen time and importance to the members of the cast (hence Aniston's lone award, which, as great an actress Aniston may be, was a bit unfair). I would not hesitate for a second to recommend buying the videotape, especially, since the DVDs have little to offer apart from the usual 2-3 extra minutes (which usually just persuade us that the editors of the series are perfectly competent...). Only the first instalment of this series on DVD is truly worth buying since it contains a considerably different version of the episode where Chandler and Monica go on honey moon. The original episode which included the couple poking fun at airport security had to be curtailed after 9/11... (which, by the way, did not fail to leave its "patriotic" mark on Friends, too: the trained eye will notice not only that the trademark opening overview of New York is now naturally different, but will also catch little American flags barging in here and there!...).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
I will never be able to understand where these people who assert that Friends shows signs of tiredness come from. The episodes are as lively, fresh and hilarious as ever, even if this series manifested some imbalances as to the equal distribution of screen time and importance to the members of the cast (hence Aniston's lone award, which, however great an actress Aniston may be, was a bit unfair). I would not hesitate for a second to recommend buying the videotape, especially, since the DVDs have little to offer apart from the usual 2-3 extra minutes (which usually just persuade us that the editors of the series are perfectly competent...). Only the first instalment of this series on DVD is truly worth buying since it contains a considerably different version of the episode where Chandler and Monica go on honey moon. The original episode which included the couple poking fun at airport security had to be curtailed after 9/11... (which, by the way, did not fail to leave its "patriotic" mark on Friends, too: the trained eye will notice not only that the trademark opening overview of New York is now naturally different, but will also catch little American flags barging in here and there!...).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2002
This video is Friends back to top form. The humour is fantastic and the characters are even more pronounced than ever. This is a great video for fans or for people who are being introduced to the wonders of Friends. We get to see the comeback of the ever annoying Janice who is in labour alongside Rachel who is desperate to give birth. At the same Phoebe meets a cute guy who is ill in hospital and get 'Dr. Drake Remoray' (Joey)to question him for her. Chandler and Monica decide to have a baby and make preparations using a room in the hospital!Three great episodes on one tape-excellent value for money. P.S. Look out for the next series. I've seen the first 7 episodes and they're absolutely fantastic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2003
Wow!, What can i say, the double episode at the end is very tense, and then once you have bought this you will want to buy the first few videos of series 9, now you have the luxury of buying it together with the other videos, buy this video and the first video of seires 9, that is what i would recommend, and i am the biggest friends fanatic!!!, i loved this video and it gets better throughout, at the end you will be shocked and really excited to see the next on. Go out and buy it now!!!
ENJOY...!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
This friends video is so funny. The first time i watch it i almost wet myself! if you are thinking to buy a friends video buy this one :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
friend is one of the best show out. this dvd was the last one i needed to have all 10 series. so i was well chuffed with this dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2002
For those of you who have been asleep for the past eight years then you may have missed out on the wonder that is FRIENDS. Call me biased (i own every episode of friends there is!) but this is the best ever.
In the new series the characters have developed so much and of course what would a series of friends be like without the ever twisting plots!
This last video in series eight sees Rachel desperate to start the birth as she passes her due date without a sign of it coming! Of course Phoebe and Monica play the supportive friends and make bets about when the little baby girl will come. You'll be pleased to know that Joey has finally made it to the big screen with his war movie and he takes Chandler as a sort of pay back for all those lessons, headshots and slices of pizza he's paid for!
The end of the episode sees Rachel finally being rushed to the hospital where they arrive for the double episode and finale of series eight. Rachel endures a painful 47 hour wait at the hospital and of course its playing on her nerves just a little bit, Monica and Chandler decide its the right time to start their own family and where better to startbut the maternity ward! Phoebe and Joey play the double act and of course make themselves look stupid along the way, that POOR patient!
As ever we are left with the Rachel and Ross storyline: Will they or won't they?
I have to say there are so many twists, turns, cringe moments, laughs, tears, VERY unexpected patients (for those of you who watch it: OH MI GOD) and a cliffhanger that leaves you well desperate for more!
I cannot tell you enough how good this show is! This video inparticular has to be the very best one. I beseech you buy it! And a special plea to Jennifer Aniston, Courteney Cox, Lisa Kudrow, Matt le Blanc, Mathew Perry and David Schwimmer: KEEP MAKING MORE F.R.I.E.N.D.S!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2002
Ok so 'Friends' has over the past 8 years been an excellent sitcom with some really funny lines and stories.
This series was supposed to have been the last, but now there will be a series 9, and a part of me, while having enjoyed it for many years, thinks the time has come to put it to bed.
There is only SO much 5 friends can go through, and I am finding some of the more recent episodes like ones on this DVD to be almost duplicate of earlier episodes from years back.
Where as once, Rachel getting pregnant would have been quite exciting and leave me aching for the start of the next series, now I feel that the humour has been exhausted and that its just nothing special anymore. Of course there are still some classic moments that will have you in fits of laughter. Phoebe remains quirky and not quite of this World, and probably the funniest of the lot, Rachel remains the naive ex socialite made good, with the addition of a baby on the way, Ross remains, well boring! Chandler remains a one line wonder, Monica remains up tight and self obsessed, Joey remains a little bit dim and out of work. The key word here is 'Remains'
So if you are a die hard Friends fan then you will not get bored, but the days of being able to watch the same episodes over and over again have gone, and the best days have well and truly passed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2002
the one with the cooking class:
when monica's (cournty cox arquette) restauant is badly reviewed by a news paper critic, she drags joey (matt LeBlanc) to his food criticism class in hope of changing his mind. meanwhile rachel (jennifer aniston) is put out when a cute sales girl flirts with ross (david schwimmer) when they go shopping for baby gear and a psyched out chandler (matthew perry) gets some questionable coaching from phoebe (lisa kudrow) before a big job interview.
the one where rachel is l8t:
an over due rachel is willing to try anything to getthe baby moving,however,monica and phoebe are distracted by their bet over the date of the birth.meanwhile, joey is less than pleased when chandler nods off during premiere of his new world war 1 movie.
the one where rachel has the baby:
in the 1 hour seires final, rachel's babynears delivery with an anxiouis ross hovring near by. however whilst numrus pegenat women are weeled in and out , rachel is caught in endless labor hell- and her waiting friends causehavocin the hospital. whilst chandler + monica serch for a privrout room to make a baby of there own and joey enacts his dr drake ramoray soap charicterin order to screen a hansom pationt phobe has met.
fantastic 5 *****
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)