Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 23 June 2010
William Daniels (the voice of the talking car on "Night Rider") stars as John Adams in this rousing musical recreation of the weeks leading up to the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Adams is considered obnoxious and unlikable by all the other delegates of the Continental Congress, so his plea for independence falls on deaf ears. He finally wins most of the southern states to his side but the issue of slavery may end his hopes for a free America.

This movie is educational, inspiring, poignant at times, and very often quite funny. Adams is a pig-headed idealist who only lets his guard down in his love letters to his beloved wife; their song duets are sweet and touching. Ben Franklin (Henry Da Silva) is a wise and witty old scoundrel. Rutledge from South Carolina (John Cullum who played Holling in "Northern Exposure") is the villain of the piece and sings the show's most dramatic song, "Molasses to Rum to Slaves."

The delegates were quite human and had to make many compromises before they 'pledged their sacred honor' and signed the Declaration. Their bargaining makes for a long but very entertaining movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Well worth a watch even though the music is terrible. The lyrics are interesting and it really tells the story but there isn't one song that you'll end up humming. Glad I've got it, though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
This musical is great. Not too sure of the historical facts, then what do I know loved it anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
i love it , if i could have seen it.the movie i received was not what i ordered,i ordered universal and i received u.s. import which i returned.i did see the movie when i was in the states years ago. and i wanted to see it again.however i discovered it on you tube and saw it there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
1776 A truly great movie musical about the signing of the American Declaration of Independence. Have seen it twice - once in UK cinema, once on UK TV, but when oh when will someone have the foresight to provide UK viewers with a Region 2 version of the dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
A great musical, somewhat unusual but I love the songs and the sentiment. This is the restored version with the cuts restored. Some of the restored sections are not as good quality as the rest in term of picture quality but they are essential to humanise the characters. This does deserve wider viewing across the pond. View in a multi region dvd player or on your computer.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
If you like a good musical with American history than this is your film. A lot of the points they make make in the film are historically acturate. I always view it during the 4th July!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
This is a fabulous film. I fell in love with the play when a friend got me the soundtrack,and it took me ages to get the film. It lives up to all my expectations. The cast is excelent, as they should be since they are almost all reprising their stage roles. I recomend this to everyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
ecellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)