Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.95+ £1.26 shipping

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2016
This is one of my favourite 80's albums. I now have the original 1987 CD, the 2002 bonus reissue and this 2014 Deluxe 2 CD reissue from Cherry Red. It's jam packed with bonus material and other goodies! What a treat!
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Brilliant....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Bought this on vinyl in the 80s. Still great now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Everything was great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
prompt delivery. item as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This 2014 re-issue by Cherry Red of "A Grocer's Daughter" is simply amazing and i'm very happy indeed that i purchased it.
It's like having two albums for the price of one by having so much new material to listen to and some demo's sounding completely different to the final versions.
I've always loved this album by the Monkeys and the Doctors voice is as smooth and velvety as always, oozing into your ears like a warm sticky toffee sauce. It's probably my favourite Monkeys album followed by a close 2nd with "Animal Magic".
A very well put together re-issue by Cherry Red and highly recommended!
If the Doctor and Cherry Red are reading this then please can we have the same treatment done to the Monkeys next album "Whoops! There Goes The Neighbourhood" I for certain will be buying it as that's another favourite album of mine :)

Disc 1:

1. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THIS WAY
2. SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL
3. OUT WITH HER
4. HOW LONG CAN A BAD THING LAST
5. MAN AT THE END OF HIS TETHER
6. RISE ABOVE
7. THE DAY AFTER YOU
8. CHECKING OUT
9. DON'T GIVE IT UP
10. CASH
11. BEAUTIFUL CHILD
Bonus tracks:
12. THIS IS THE WAY IT HAS TO BE
(original CD/cassette bonus)
13. THE GRANTHAM GRIZZLER (original CD bonus)
14. ASK FOR MORE
15. (CELEBRATE) THE DAY AFTER YOU (Paul Weller Mix)
16. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO DUB THAT WAY

Disc 2:

1. I'M SO GLAD
2. SOUL DESTROYER
3. GHETTO GIRL (previously unissued demo)
4. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THIS WAY
(previously unissued demo)
5. CHECKING OUT (previously unissued demo)
6. (CELEBRATE) THE DAY AFTER YOU (Long)
7. SWEET OBSESSION (alias Worship You)
8. OUT WITH HER (Long) (alias Out With Who?)
9. HUCKLEBERRY (alias It's Got To Be A Hitch)
10. (CELEBRATE) THE DAY AFTER YOU (Unity Mix)
11. THE GRANTHAM GROOVER
12. OUT WITH HER (Short)
13. THIS DAY TODAY
14. IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THIS WAY (Instrumental)
15. BEAUTIFUL CHILD (with Curtis Mayfield)
16. (CELEBRATE) THE DAY AFTER YOU (from Choices)
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2003
This was my fave album of 1987 without doubt. The Blow Monkeys third album and for me, their funkiest and best (at that time). The first two discs, "Limping For a Generation" and "Animal Magic" which are sadly no longer available on Compact Disc were fine pieces of mid 80's pop but by this third album the formula was near perfection. It starts with the monster top 5 hit "It Doesn't Have To Be This Way" which cuts it politically as well as musically. Robert's songs have always been as much a political statement as a statement of fashion (which is probably why it was a good thing that he failed the audition to join the also brilliant "Duran Duran" in the 1970's). Two further singles follow before the "Anti-Thatcher" message is really hammered home. "Man At The End of His Tether", "Rise Above" and the BBC banned single "The Day After You" all have more than a slight negative vibe in the lyric when it comes to the Iron Lady and the 1987 general election! However, the songs are excellently written pieces of 1980's left wing politically charged pop music, with "The Day After You" being just so upbeat and FUNKY that the ledgendary Curtis Mayfield was only too pleased to team up with the band! Robert and Curtis were good friends and the combination is electric to say the least. The sad thing is that whilst the BBC were banning George Michael's "I Want Your Sex" and gifting him a massive hit, a similar election time ban on "The Day After You" did nothing but stop the single in it's tracks. A shame if for no other reason than it would have been great to see Robert & Curtis Mayfield on Top of the Pops!This album genuinely does not have a bad track on it and I recommend it 100% I have owned this album on CD since it's release in early 1987 and am glad that it's re-issue on to CD gives more people the opportunity to sample the mastery that was the Blow Monkeys at work. By the way, should you see it, check out the 1989 follow up album called "Whoops!, There Goes the Neighbourhood" More of the same political message, but still a fine piece of music with more electronics and slightly less funk. Again, hard to find on CD these days, but if like me you have a copy, listen to it and treasure it!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Wonderful Reissue of The Blow Monkeys third album. Expertly remastered with all the 12" mixes and b sides,demos. Contains the huge UK top ten hit It Doesn't Have To Be This Way. Cherry Red have done a wonderful job on this reissue. Thankyou Dr. Robert for your inner sleeve notes and hopefully you'll encourage CR to remaster and reissue Whoops There Goes The Neighbourhood next.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
Great Album, great band. Have recently been to see Dr Robert the lead singer of The Blow Monkeys and he was absolutely brilliant. It was only a small venue but his guitar and vocal abilities are second to none. He's a lot taller than I thought he'd be though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)