Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 June 2017
Rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
Not his finest moment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2002
First of all let me start off by saying that although Rock star didn't do very well at the box office, I thought it was a lot of fun and it made for an enjoyable hour and three quarters viewing. Loosely based on the life of Tim 'Ripper' Owens, the office supplies salesman who replaced Rob Halford in Judas Priest, Rock Star combines satire, morality, romance and a good old fashioned rags to riches storyline.
So what's the plot? Salesman and ordinary working stiff Chris Cole (Mark Wahlberg) and wannabe rock star has been obsessed for years in his devotion to British heavy metal band Steel Dragon. As part of a tribute band, he is derided by his older brother who feels he should get a real job and his devotion to mimicry is so much that even his fellow tribute band members are sick of him, and they eventually dump him. Comforted by his patient and devoted girlfriend (Jennifer Anniston) Chris swears that he will prove them all wrong but he even he is shocked when he is invited to audition as the replacement singer in the band he adores. Of course he wins the gig and so begins a journey through the world of a rock idol, full of drugs, groupies, drink and general excessive behaviour.
I'm not quite sure why this movie wasn't that successful. Sure it's not the greatest movie you will ever see and it offers no original insight but there's also very little to dislike about it. Critics may complain that it's neither full on satire such as 'This Is Spinal Tap' or that it is full of clichés but this is a movie that doesn't take itself too seriously and does not try to portray reality. Mark Wahlberg is perfectly cast as Chris Cole and Jennifer Anniston gives a very pleasing and likeable performance as Chris's loyal girlfriend, whilst some of the supporting turns (particularly from Timothy Spall as the seen it all before manager) are excellent too. Stephen Herek's direction is perfectly paced and unlike most modern movies it is not overlong and it feels shorter than it actually is. It has some truly excellent moments and you could do much worse than to check this out on a Saturday night.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2002
Obligatory for all Mark Wahlberg fans!By day Chris Cole(Wahlberg) repairs photocopiers. By night he takes the stage as frontman for a tribute band emulating Steel Dragon, the world's hottest heavy-metal band. Then, suddenly, opportunity rocks: Chris is tapped to become Steel Dragon's new lead singer. Just like that, he goes from small-town nobody to megastar. Just like that, he and his manager/girlfriend Emily(Jennifer Aniston) enter a world crazier than eigther imagined. Stephen Herek directs this knowing, chord-crunching, hair-whipping look at 80's arena rocks and the price of Fame. Filled with the style, strut and feel of an era, Rock Star gets right. Long may it shine.Simple funny story. Mark Wahlberg brilliantly play role Chris Cole in this movie.Wahlberg played and sing!Listen soundtrack with fictious band Steel Dragon (Wahlberg sing)or Chris Cole Band(lead singer Wahlberg) and much more band : Bon Jovi, Kiss and much more!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2017
100% pure cheese. Excellent stuff.
And, for those that don't know, based on the true story of Tim "Ripper" Owens getting selected from his covers band to join the mighty Judas Priest.

Great fun to spot the real rockers hidden in the cast too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2013
Not being a massive fan of Mark Wahlberg, I really don't know why I watched this. However, I'm quite glad I did. There are some films that you just don't like for reasons you can't quite put your finger on. This is the opposite. I liked it and I don't really know why.

The plot follows Mark Wahlberg as the lead singer in an eighties tribute band to the (fictional) rock gods, Steel Dragon. However, his life takes an interesting turn when the lead singer of Steel Dragon leaves (or is kicked out!) and his bandmates offer Mark the job as replacement. Now, if that sounds a little hard to believe, check out the movie trivia. Apparently, a similar situation actually happened during the seventies (and before I was born, hence I'm not totally up on it).

From there we see what his life is like `living the dream' of drugs, rock and roll (and `the other' obviously).

The thing is, based on that briefest of plot summaries, you can probably guess the highs and lows (and probably eventual outcome) of the film. And you'd be right. There are no major twists in the tale. Yet, for some reason, I still found it enjoyable to watch. There's a healthy dose of sentiment, but not too much to distract from the big eighties hairdos and thumping guitar chords.

Perhaps fans of rock (as I am) just automatically like it? Perhaps I just got lucky. I found it a kind of semi feel-good movie for adults.

It doesn't reinvent the wheel in terms of story-telling, but the characters have their own charm (and special kudos to Mark's onscreen parents, who, despite being `all grown up and respectable' like to headbang with the best of them down at the gigs and mosh pits!).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2002
I was very keen to see this film when it was on at the local cinema, and was not disappointed. In fact I liked it so much I could not wait for the Region 2 DVD release, and ordered the Region 1 version immediately, and also the soundtrack album. I have enjoyed watching it several times, you notice something new each time, The atmosphere at the concerts is tremendous, and the acting is too. Mark Wahlberg plays a thoroughly nice guy who is suddenly granted his greatest wish, to front his favourite band Steel Dragon. Jennifer Aniston gives a terrific performance as his very supportive girlfriend and manager. This is a film that has been reviewed in all the DVD magazines,and I think they have criticised it most unfairly. It is a brilliantly produced film , with good acting, great music and it makes you feel good too. Don't take any notice of the DVD magazines, give it a try, it's really worth watching , many times !!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
I think I really fell in love with this movie, and I'll watch it a few times. The plot is very subtle. I watch it with my mother. A story with happy ending. The filming technique is breathtaking. The performance of all the actors is very realistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2012
I enjoyed this movie, and the '80s and '80s-sounding hard rock music. Apparently Steel Dragon is not a real band after all, which comes as no surprise since the story is a little too contrived and formulaic to be true. I liked seeing a few true touches there though, such as Rod Stewart's second wife Rachel Hunter in the girls' bus. Mark Wahlberg puts in a nice performance as a singer in a tribute band who gets to be the front man of the band he worships. Wahlberg seems to really enjoy acting his part. He's really engaging.

Just read that the story could be based on the story of Tim "Ripper" Owens replacing Rob Halford in Judas Priest (Ripper's tribute band was called "British Steel").

So it's a formulaic yet nice movie with a very likeable Mark Wahlberg. I expected it to be entertaining, and it is, in a mostly clean and tame way, unlike another rock movie, the Rock of Ages, that came out this year, also intended as a feel-good rock movie, with great '80s music, but which is definitely on the camp side. The two movies cater to different audiences, but a comparison is useful. Rock of Ages has more fleshed-out characters and a more believable and worked-out story, with a few twists. Here you don't have much in the way of characters and the story is linear and predictable. And yet, the acting is spot-on in a relaxed, natural way, and the feel of the eighties and the world of an eighties rock band is there, which is all I bargained for, so no disappointment here. If anything, it was better than I expected it to be because I really enjoyed the Steel Dragon music -- even if it was very safe, ordinary, run-of-the-mill -- and the concert scenes.

3.5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2006
this is a fun film, the plots not great but the concert scenes are well done and the musc is fantastic. the main comedy in the film the irony that can be missed easily. for example the two tribute bands getting ready to fight one another, each begins to fight there double. defnatly an entertaining film worth watching
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)