Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2011
This review for the 2002 CD, not the original 1983 release or the 1995 remastered CD

If you're a fan of the original release be warned that this 2002 release is a remix, not a remaster. Some parts are now missing, some have been lowered in the mix making them inauduible, while others boosted. To give an example, on the original UK release from 1983, after the great opening riff, the first bit of Jake E Lee that made me sit up and take notice ( I was about 15 and likely lying down alot ) was a superb guitar break around 2:22 on 'Rock 'n' Roll Rebel'. On the 2002 release it's been removed. Very strange!
66 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2000
Bark At The Moon has always been my own personal favourite when it comes to Ozzy's albums. It is also the first album to feature Jake E Lee on lead guitar and you can tell when you listen to the music that Ozzy had a bigger influence on this album than he did on the others when Randy was on lead guitar. All the tracks on the album are heavy metal classics that will soon have you head bangin' way to some simply great music. The opening track, Rock 'N' Roll Rebel, is one of the best tracks Ozzy has written and perhaps it is written with tongue in cheek about the great man himself and his rise to fame. Bark At The Moon, Spiders and Waiting For Darkness also deserve a special mention for the shear inventiveness of some of the music and it was nice to see Ozzy experimenting with keyboards on some of the tracks. There is a very nice ballad on this album, So Tired, and it makes a change to hear Ozzy write some slow beautiful music. If you are a true Ozzy fan then this album is simply a must for your collection as in my humble opinion it is his best work to date.
44 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
If you are going to buy Ozzy Osbourne's third studio album Bark at the Moon, avoid the 2002 re-master. Stick with the original 1983 release with the blue lettering on the front cover. The 2002 version might as well have been called the remixed and re-recorded version. I made that mistake when I first bought Bark at the Moon way back in 2002. It wasn't until I heard the original version that a friend of mine had which was the 1995 re-master that I realised how different it sounded compared to the copy that I'd bought which was the 2002 re-master. I opted to buy the 1983 original cd after years of searching as it was very hard to get. I eventually got the 1983 original on amazon brand new at a decent price. Bark at the Moon is an excellent album. For people interested in getting it, I would strongly advise to buy the 1983 original cd or the 1995 re-master as the music hasn't been altered in any way compared to the travesty which is the 2002 version.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2003
This was the first proper studio album Ozzy released following the tragic death of musical partner and guitar hero Randy Rhodes.
Instead, Ozzy hired Jake E. Lee, previously unknown guitarist, and came up with an album that for me just about matches the previous two at every level.
The one big difference are Don Airey's keyboards, swooshing and swirling through most tracks to great effect.
Rock 'n' roll rebel and Bark at the moon are classic numbers, the former with a fantastic riff, the latter with frantic guitar throughout the song, and a superb outro solo.
Forever boasts a spooky church bell/male choir/organ intro, before the guitar bursts in and sweeps you away into what was side 2 of the original vinyl, and So Tired is a decent ballad.
To be honest, the only real let-down for me is Spiders, which doesn't really have the balls to stand with the rest of the album. Otherwise this is a very good listen, and any self-respecting Ozzy fan should own this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
I bought this CD as I used to own the album on vinyl, and wanted to re-own this classic. Bark At The Moon was the first Ozzy album I owned, and on the strength of this disc, I went on to collect 'Blizzard', 'Madman' and others. This album is a remaster of the original, and as such, sounds sharper and clearer to the point that you can hear things in the mix that you couldn't make out previously on vinyl. My only beef with this reissue is the track listing, as it has been radically changed from the initial version. The album originally began with 'Rock 'n' Roll Rebel', THEN 'Bark At The Moon', but for some reason, 'Bark' is now the album opener, and 'Rebel' has been relegated to track 4. One track has been completely re-named; 'Centre Of Eternity' was originally called 'Forever' on the vinyl release, but for some obscure reason it's name has been changed. I wonder why- was this a decision by Ozzy's management, or the record company? Also, 'Spiders' is listed as a bonus track, which it never was, as it was on the original vinyl release before 'Waiting For Darkness', and 'Slow Down' wasn't there- this must be the actual bonus track, along with 'One Up The B-side', which was Ozzy's original tongue-in-cheek B-side to the 'Bark' single. Those things aside,this is still an all-time rock classic, and displays the versatility that Ozzy unearthed when he left Sabbath. 'So Tired' is the best rock ballad that ELO never made, and 'Forever' (Sorry, 'Centre Of Eternity') still raises major goosebumps with its' overblown gothic intro, complete with churchbells, chanting monks and OTT organ chords. 'Bark' fairly rattles along at a cracking pace with a blisteringly complex guitar riff and an equally dazzling solo, and 'Spiders' is wonderfully atmospheric. If you're a fan of Ozzy and you haven't yet bought this album, go and do it. Now.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ozzy Osbourne's third studio album Bark At The Moon was released in 1983 and was the first Ozzy album to feature Jake E Lee on guitar, after the death of original guitarist Randy Rhodes.

Jake E Lee's has a very different guitar style to either Randy or Zack, which gives his two album's with the band a unique flavor. The album is still full of dramatic guitar solos and big riffs and should keep guitar fans very happy.

Bark At The Moon contained some hard and heavy numbers but also saw a move in a slightly more commercial direction than the first two albums and as such hasn't dated just as well as they have. Some songs seen a tad overproduced and some feature synth sounds very much of their time.

The album has some utterly standout music however, such as `Bark At The Moon,' and `Rock N Roll Rebel,' both of which are two of the best songs ever released under the Ozzy Osbourne name. If the whole album was as good as those two songs it would be an unquestionable five star effort. To be absolutely fair, the good to filler ratio isn't as high as it could be however, and some listeners may find it a little hit and miss.

Legal difficulties between Ozzy and ex-members have spoiled the band's legacy for a whole generation, making some albums hard to get a hold of, impossible to hear live or reissued with heavy edits and overdubs.

If you plan on buying Bark At The Moon you'll have a choice between the original, the 1995 cd version with the tiny cover art in a dark purple frame or the 2002 version where the music has been altered and guitar parts are missing but containing the excellent bonus track `One Up The B Side.'

Overall, Bark At The Moon isn't the hands down greatest Ozzy album, but it is still fairly essential for fans, and definitely worth checking out for the two aforementioned tracks.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
Oz was on a roll after Blizzard and Diary. Even the tragic death of Randy Rhodes ultimately proved that musically Oz still had what it took to deliver. This album is brilliant. You need this if you are missing it in your collection. Not one bad track just another great album by the main man himself. And at the price its a steal !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
It's not as if Ozzy Osbourne had nothing to live up to when he released 'Bark at the Moon' - his third solo album - in 1983. Its predecessors ('Blizzard of Ozz' and 'Diary of a Madman') were both excellent albums, establishing Osbourne as an artist in his own right and arguably both qualifying as classics.

'Bark at the Moon' may not possess the brilliance of these albums, but it's still very good and obviously one that should be in your Ozzy collection. The title track is a good example of Osbourne's pop sensibilities even if they seem at odds with the beastly album cover. 'Waiting for Darkness' is another truly well-crafted song and one of the best on the album, which may hold a few pedestrian tracks, but certainly no duds.

So not as good as his earlier albums, but an album that he hasn't really surpassed since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This is about as good as it gets for Ozzy's solo career. He probably peaked at this one, & afterwards his voice tails off & he just sounds like he's whining into the mic. I'd avoid any of his later stuff, unless you find the odd one you particularly like.
He went all American & commercial, or tried to, but didn't have the voice to carry it off. Tony Iommi was once quoted as saying Ozzy had gone outside of his vocal range, and he's probably right.
If you really want to here Ozzy at his best, go buy the new Sabbath album 13.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
The album is so obviously an 80's mix but there is too much keyboard and it makes me think of Miami Vice. The guitar that does come through is excellent thanks to Jake E Lee but if you see the live concert of the same name, the sound is heavier and Jake really shines. A reasonable album but not in the same class as Blizzard of Oz or Diary of a Madman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)