Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 6 February 2015
Great classic vampire viewing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2006
This is a great Buffy dvd for those of us who loved the series but couldn't quite bring ourselves to pay for all those series. Its really good value and all the episodes are quality entertainment not a bad one among them. Everyone is going to have different opinions about whether they were the right selection so here's mine...
My only complaint was that there was a heavy emphasis on earlier episodes. Two episodes about Oz and Willow but nothing from the series where Tara dies and Willow becomes the big bad. In Spike a couple of fairly random (though quality) episodes about him wanting to kill Buffy but it only touches on Spike's feelings for Buffy and completely misses the whole, soul return, saving the world arc that Spike goes through - a pretty major character development! Maybe I'm being fussy but it seems strange that a couple of such major story lines for the characters would be completley ignored and that both of these stories involve the later series.
Well worth the money though
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2002
A lot of folks rag on this season - it's dark, it's depressing - but hey! It's Buffy! She's back, and she's not happy about it!
Season 6 marks a turning point in the show - it starts to focus on real life for a change. The demons Buffy has to fight this year are real, paying bills, finding a job, dealing with a younger sibling who just doesn't want to listen... There are a lot of problems with the season (not least the over-emphasised Marti-phors of addiction) but there's at least one saving grace! "Once More, With Feeling"!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2002
By the end of Season 5 I was dubious about the return of Buffy - but Joss came through and made this the best Season since 3. The maturer cast, who came of age in Season 4, are really getting to grips with adulthood - lots of high-standard drama, way above Dawson and Roswell. The musical episode in this boxset is worth the money in itself - the producers (one of whom sings herself!) really out did themselves with those dances and musical treats. But even after all this its Amber Benson (Tara) who shines throughout the season - not only that but she can sing. Its my 10th Buffy boxset and it won't be my last.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2002
Its a strange season to review, really. As an artistic work, its as great directed and written as ever, bust it is so much diferent. I remember the days i enjoyed the firs season, and second, for example. I mean, there you had a series with funny comedic moments, homages to horror movies, great issues about relationships and life struggles and very grat characters, full of weakness, yes, full of mistakes, but whos friendship was more like a family issue than other stuff. Now the comedic tone, six years later, has disapeared. And the horror homages are not that much. No stand up episodes. No a central story, only pure development. And pure sadness. Its a sad, sad season. Everything that can be broken, is broken. Is like Whedon said to himself "Yea, i will torture my characters this season. I will give them a taste of real life hell." Its logig progresion? Yes. One of them. I mean, there where other ways, as logic as this, as valid as this. But this is maybe not as enjoyable. You know, at first the series was perfect to have a great fantasy-tragig-laugh night. And a beautiful look to friendship and love. Season four was like a ensamble season. It was lefting the season 1-3 note and embracing the new. 5 was a litle darker than 1-4, but it resembled sometimes the fun of them, the laughs, the joy, the friendship. Season six is great aer, but it is dificult that one fan that, like me, loves all this caracters, will want to see them suffer like they suffer once and once again, like before. To see the Willow like we see her here, for people who care for the caracter, is really painful, even if ist so great done and Alyson Hannigan shows why i think she is so a great actres. And yes, i saw the series in two nights and half, like always. Its just...so dark. Its my problem, not Whedon's, of course. But you, reader, should know, if you dont. They split, they hurt themself and the others, theres no much comedy, even if there is, almost no slayage, only pain, pain and pain. And the finale four episodes (seeing red, Villains, two to go and grave)are, in fact, an incredible well made finale, even if, its so painfull. Look, i spend to many words, because i am not a english speaker. I barely know this language, but, i think, the main thing i wanted to express, is that this season is dark, very, very dark. Its not as much a fantasy tale like it used to be, as it is actually a painfull drama about tragedy of lifes that get wrong and bad, and how a human being can get trhoug the pain. The message seem to be:" Well. Its not easy. But there are two things that really help; family and love. Every kind of love." Its logic that a whole number of people dont like it. Its diferent. The series has changed from the begining. There is no more Halloween, or Amends, Anne, Becoming and graduation Day. No more Innocence. Tragic tales, yes, but full of the magig of mith, of metaphor, of simbolism. They are gone. Maybe forever. Who knows. They were so full of pure magic and ideals. What i say is, its a great piece of work, but a lot of people who have a smile thingink of the Willow in Doppelgangerland, maybe will not enjoy this absolute heartbreaker. Still, its a fantastic way to be with your imaginary friends, even if they are swiming in pain.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2002
The new, darker theme explored in Season Six may not meet with every die-hard fan's approval, but I found the new direction a refreshing change from the levity that characterised the early seasons which, at times, was inappropriate for the grave situations (no pun intended) in which Buffy and the others found themselves. The characters in Season Six are older, wiser; they've mellowed; they're facing adult responsibilities. And Buffy is coming to realise that slaying all the evils the Hellmouth can unleash against her is a piece of cake compared with the travails of managing a house, acting as a surrogate mother to a kleptomaniac sibling, and holding down a regular job. Watching her getting "sloshed" in one episode makes the character more "human", less infallible. Somehow she's not that much different from the rest of us.
And I love her new, shorter hair style. It suits her.
Willow is finding it hard to do without magic. The drug addiction/cold turkey metaphor is obvious. A less obvious metaphor is Buffy's use of Spike to extract information about the Underworld. Spike is useful to her, although she doesn't admit, even to herself, just how useful. He has the "info" on all the demons, leading Buffy to resort to what is, to all intents and purposes, prostitution. Instead of rewarding Spike with money for all the help he gives her, as she has done in the past, she uses her body as payment.
There are many highlights which put this purchase on a par with previous seasons. The very best episodes are: "Doublemeat Palace"; "Dead Things"; and "Normal Again" (this last one I rate among the very best from all the seasons, especially for its originality, integrity, and courage in deliberately choosing to draw attention to certain anomalies that have crept into the last two seasons, such as the very sudden and unexpected appearance of Dawn). And who could fail to be excited by the concluding episodes which portray the apocalyptic aftermath of the death of one of the main characters (I won't reveal which one, although the character's identity is fairly common knowledge)?
The worst episodes are "Older and Far Away" and "Hell's Bells". Set on Buffy's twenty-first birthday, "Older and Far Away" does contain a memorable demon with an unusual method of escaping. Question: Since something terrible always seems to happen on Buffy's birthday, why doesn't she just give up celebrating them?
"Hell's Bells" is redeemed to a certain extent by Emma Caulfield's as usual delightfully quirky portrayal of Anya.
The episode in which Buffy is convinced she has killed a young woman and is about to confess all to the police, provides one of the most emotionally charged scenes. Buffy tries to explain to a tearful Dawn that she (Buffy) has no choice but to turn herself in. What makes the scene so poignant is Buffy's use of exactly the same words ("Dawny, I have to") that she first used when about to make the ultimate sacrifice at the climax of Season Five. The parallel is striking and makes for engrossing viewing. Then she was about to lose her life; now she is faced with the prospect of losing her liberty. In both cases, she is resigned to her fate; in both cases, she is prepared to sacrifice herself for the people she loves.
I enjoyed the "pop culture" references which pepper the script as thickly as they have done in previous seasons, which show that BTVS does not exist in isolation, but the characters inhabit the same world, and are affected by the same influences, as the rest of us. The danger is that such topical references might prematurely date the show when episodes are repeated (as I'm sure they will be) in ten or fifteen years time.
"Buffy" is spoiled slightly by the number of unexplained dramatic conveniences. For example, the night, just after Willow had turned bad, when Dawn sneaks off for a secret assignation with a powerful, evil warlock, how did Buffy know where to find her, and arrived (of course) just in the nick of time to save her?
The last three or four episodes, in which Willow embraces black magic big time, are extremely dramatic and suspenseful, and show the old adage of Hell having no fury like a woman scorned, to be a gross understatement, as Willow prepares to destroy all she loves in her insatiable quest for revenge. I couldn't wait to watch each succeeding episode to see how things panned out, even if the final denouement, when it came, seemed rather contrived. This is truly edge-of-the-seat stuff. For once, in an unexpected turn of events, Buffy doesn't get to save the world - one of the other Scoobies does.
The major problem facing the scriptwriters must be (to paraphrase a line heard in "Once More, With Feeling") where to go from here. Having had Buffy face such apparently indestructable foes as The Master, The Judge, The Mayor, Adam, Glory, and now a vengeful Willow Witch, it can't be easy to think up new adversities for Buffy to come up against.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 April 2003
Based on the first half contained within this box set Series 6 is shaping up to be the poorest Buffy series ever. The quality of writing and directing has dipped well below its previously very high standard.
It starts very well with the three episodes covering Buffys resurrection and the revelation of where she was spending the afterlife. But the next 3 episodes are all very so so. Things pick up significantly with the excellent musical episode 'Once More with Feeling' and the powerful Tabula Rasa. All three episodes on tape three are poor. The ability to get just the right balance of comedy, drama and horror seems to have been lost.
Main problems are the handling of Willows magic 'addiction', the drugs parallels are laid on far too heavily and the scenes very clichéd. Secondly are we supposed to take the three geeks seriously as the series enemy? It smacks too much of playing to the supposed target audience and is dangerously close to the ill advised x-files territory of series 4, and no they are not funny. Thirdly 2 significant characters are either gone (Giles), or much reduced (Tara), which upsets the balance of the programme.
This only leaves Buffys relationship with Spike to hold the thing together, while obviously upsetting to some fans it is the best thing about this series and the only thing making me want to start watching box set 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
Loved this as a kid, so thought I'd introduce them to my kids. We have watched them together and all films have been enjoyed by all :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2002
Season five is hard to beat, and season six tries its hardest to match up but runs a little short of the target. Emotions run high as buffy tires to return to her normal life but finds strange differences. The introduction of spike as a love interests is a great turn for Buffy the sereis, however, wheldon appears to be absent from some of the episodes and the audience will be able to tell.However some great perfromances for geller and masters and lets not forget ANYA, we love her little ways. If you have the other sereis you must buy this.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2012
When i got this i was excited but was very soon disappointed! these only contain episodes from the seasons which sucks and most of them are the crappy ones!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse