Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2017
Great music and good service from seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2002
It's not what you'd expect from a band on Drive-Thru records, home to such bands as Fenix*TX, New Found Glory and Midtown.
This record is a little gem. I've heard them compared to their labelmates and so steered clear at first, assuming them to be just another generic pop punk band. But I downloaded 'Konstantine' on impulse and was well and truly blown away. A piano led 10 minute epic that somehow manages to avoid becoming over indulgent. Even though that track is absent from this album, Andrew Mcmahon's wonderful songwriting shines through in much the same way throughout.
The only way to describe their music is like a cross between Ed Harcourt, Alanis Morisette (hey, that's not a bad thing fools) and Jimmy Eat World. Unashamed pop. That's all it is. This album is certainly no masterpiece, but it IS a gorgeous little break from all the dirge coming out of America right now.
The use of a piano on the songs really seems to add a great little edge, making them seem that little bit better than they already are.
My favourite songs on this album are 'Not What It Seems', a Jimmy Eat World-esque song, with a great chrous; and 'Globes And Maps', an absolutely fantastic piano led track that really builds up into a tearful ending.
And, if you manage to pick up the special edition, you'll get the track 'Walking By' which is really made special by the combination of piano and violins.
Buy this album if you want something a little more pop than punk for once, and a little more meaningful than keg parties.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
I've been a fan of SoCo since hearing If U C Jordan and Konstantine on a Drive Thru records sampler. The EP (AudioBoxer) was superb, but this is even better. They seem somehow to combine the best of the newish punk bands with the musicality of bands like Counting Crows. Every song is catchy and emotional without being cheesy and mawkish. I'd thoroughly recommend this, and they are also worth seeing live. If they're not huge by the time this CD is officially released here in the autumn, I'd be very suprised!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2004
If you've had a bit of a pop-punk overload with the likes of Good Charlotte and Simple Plan, get this to cure your blues. I bought this album when I was in the USA over the summer and completely fell in love with it on the first listen. The lyrics are beautifully emotional, with such intricate piano playing it makes the mind boggle. From the first haunting note of I Want To Save You to the closing bars of Globes And Maps, Something Corporate will draw you under their spell and keep you mesmerised for the full hour playing time. Every single song is a musical masterpiece in its own right, but my standout tracks are first single Punk Rock Princess and iF yoU C Jordan, a tale of a guy who just can't let high school go. A gorgeous album that's the perfect soundtrack to a lazy weekend of hanging out with friends.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
Something Corporate really did a good job of this album. In much the same way as The Manic Street Preachers' "Everything Must Go", almost every song has got the potential to be released as a single.

The obvious hits include the opener "I Want to Save You" and the anthemic "Punk Rock Princess" but the long-term growers, which overtake the immediate hooky tracks, are "Drunk Girl", "Hurricane" and the fantastic "Woke up in a Car".

Things are led equally by the guitars and by the piano, which lends to an indie / rock style that has plenty of variety.

This record will keep on creeping back into your CD player.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2003
Oh no not another whiney emo band!!! Well you're right it's not, often overlooked is that Something Corporate aren't your average emo band, and I don't mean they're actually more romantic with their string accompaniments and piano fronted rock ballad sound. SC is a mix of emo feelings, a lot of rock and a dab of humour. Tracks like "Punk Rock Princess" and clearly "Drunk Girl" shows this off.
Varying in pace, mostly SC move at more of a stroll and you can soak up the pleasing blend of instruments at McMahon's disposal. As with any artist who tries to manipulate strings there is a tendency to go over the top ("Cavanaugh Park") yet McMahon manages to pull off a fair number of string accompanied tracks quite adeptly (which I haven't seen since the likes of Moist).
If your looking for a follow up to your 'Rx Bandits' or 'New Found Glory' album then you may be disappointed but lovers of 'Ben Folds Five' and the new '3 Doors Down' may be a little more comfortable with the style adopted by SC. It is certainly something for emo listeners to explore and for more accustomed rockers to fall headfirst in love with. So open your heart and your mind and give 'Something Corporate' a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
Wanna be rocky, this album is somewhere between The Verve and Blink182 with maybe a young ska feel, but it works and these lads really know how to get you singing along. With its nostalgic, often poetic lyrics, everyone will be able to find atleast one song to relate to or to make them smile .
This album is a welcome release from the normal brainless thrashing; Something Corparate is perfect for anyone who wants something different...but not that different.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2002
I was recommended this CD by an American friend, and although it was only delivered to my house this morning, it hasn't left my CD player all day!
I'd say Something Corporate are in the same genre as Jimmy Eat World with maybe a little Ben Folds added to the mix. The lead singer, Andrew McMahon has a very likeable voice, and I found this album to be a 'grower' i.e., after the second listen or so it had hooked me in. I tend to find these type of albums will stay in my player much longer than more instantly catchy ones.
This is a wonderful debut for such a young band, most of the members being in their late teens early twenties, and I anticipate this will be on my favourites list for some time to come.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
Leaving through the window is probably one of the best albums i own, its emo filled intrique songs mixed with pop punk anthums make for one great album. Andrew Mcmahon brings a piano into this genre like a duck into water, just listen to Hurricane or if u c jordan great pop punk songs but musically advanced! but the stand out track for me is cavanaugh park filled with emotion and great piano, this is an album for throwing on when u need a pick me up or for a sing along with your mates, just buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
A guilty pleasure and swiftly becoming an almost nostalgic treat, despite its release being 10 years ago (wow that decade went quick! - at time of writing 2012), the major label debut by the now Jack's Mannequin-consumed Something Corporate is no groundbreaking tour de force but is a huge accomplishment for a post pop-punk/post-emo band. It is tuneful without being 'in your face'; it is melancholy and touching without being whiney and cloying; and it is both sufficiently rock heavy as well as exposing beauty when pared down to piano or acoustic guitar.

Stand-out tracks are the stunningly understated and rather filmic 'I Want To Save You', 'I Woke Up in A Car', 'Straw Dogs' and 'You're Gone'. The rest are all good. They are mid-paced and, some might say, for the Dawson's Creek alumni but if you enjoy a well-penned tune there is something in here for you.

More of a personal classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.84

Need customer service? Click here