Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Scars
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2003
Gary Moore seems to go through phases where he desparately looks for something new e.g. the electronic beats of "Dark Days In Paradise', only to find that the public want him to carry on doing what they know him best for - blues rock. This album may be the best route to go down since it's classic rock with a hendrixy-vibe but with more modern production which seems to gel quite well. The problem for me with Gary Moore is that his guitar playing is always superb, but I feel his songwriting skills are rather limited which is noticeable on this album - the songs which have a Hendrix or SRV vibe sound a little too much like a teenage bands' first songwriting efforts where they're just rehashing their idols' songs. Plus I don't like his vocals - unsubtle vibrato and bad 'raaaawwwk' pronunciation. But the guitar playing is, as always, excellent and when I saw him do this live with the new trio it was really kicking - the above reservations weren't really noticeable. Overall, it's a 'shut up and play yer guitar' from me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
I have admired Gary Moore for many years and i was worried this album would stray too far from his blues roots and may be pandering to the 'monkey see monkey do' rock we hear from the new bands coming out at the moment, but i neednt have worried.
This album is funky, upbeat while maintaing the charisma and style of Moore's playing, and includes some stunning ballads such as 'I just can't let you go'. This is the best weve seen from Moore for a while, and i'm sure he will pick up new fans aplenty upon hearing this album, its just a piece of good old classic rock mixed with an infusion of funky guitar riffs which is so neglected nowadays, i look forward to seeing him live in a few weeks...........
Go buy it! xxx
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2002
With "blues" being my no. 1 favorite music genre, I was a bit dubious about buying this, but it blew my brains out. Gary Moore has always been high in my books, but I thought his blues was better than his thin lizzy days. In some ways you cannot compare this with his blues life, but my goodness, it is GOOD. Heavy metal-ish, punk rock-ish almost at times. Very good sound quality, good instrument separation. It bites (meaning it jumps up and bites you). 10/10 Gary.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Well what can i say about the legendary Gary Moore, you will find this album to have a sorry for the pun a Moore Hendrix vibe to the album, and you will find the voice is a lot more harsh than previous efforts but if you are a fan i would lap it up either way highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2002
Gray Moore is an exceptional guitarist who unfortunatly has had to live in the shadow of Eric Clapton etc, I have just been to see 'Gary Moore/Scars' in concert it was excellent, I also got this CD via Amazon and would say that it is good but it takes a good number of times playing the CD before you get used to it the new CD is a lot more heavy rock (even 'hendrix' type sound) if you want the more traditional type of Gray Moore sound then go for his Blues CDs. ie 'Best OF The Blues' etc, I hope that Gray Moore's next CD is a mixture of blues/rock.
Sorry if this review may upset some Gary Moore fans and (I am a fan) This CD has left me a little puzzled and I feel that Gary is doing 'a different beat' type of thing with this new CD before returning to the blues.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
I had heard some poor reviews of this album and I was not sure if I would buy it. I eventually purchased it in the Amazon Marketplace as I didn't want to risk wasting money on a full price CD. How wrong I was. It's great, if not particularly innovative, and most Gary Moore fans should enjoy it. It is not quite up there with albums like 'Back to the Blues' and 'Wild Frontier' which are my two favourite Gary Moore albums, but it is still a solid rock album with great tunes, (is that the right word?),and of course Gary's top guitar playing. Buy it, you shouldn't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2002
I first heard this in a record shop south of Paris a couple of weeks ago, and had to ask the assistant who it was! What a change for Gary Moore, Scars is heaviest for a long time. Gone are the old style solos' Moore could have gone back to school to re-learn his style, if so it has certainly paid off! Good solid rock, vibrant bass lines and some dynamic vocals. There are a couple of reminicences of ancient Hendrix (long version) Voodoo Chile and Taste's Catfish (Rory Gallagher) can be felt throughout "Ball & Chain" but this is forgiven; another track is so like Manic Depression, I was expecting to be able to sing the chorus. But, I am a long time fan of Moore, way back to Skid Row, Colleseum II, and one of the surpises of the mid 90's, with BBM's "Around the Next Dream." All in all a highly recommendable album that should also appeal also to the Nickelback generation!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
This is an insult to those of us who have followed Gary Moore's career since Skid Row and beyond. It is probably one of the most half hearted albums i've ever heard from a so called top guitarist. The rhythm section are uninspired and pedestrian (doesn't the drummer know anything but one beat?) but it is Moore's guitar playing that is the real shock. Very formalic and never catching fire. The whole thing stinks of going through the motion. There is an obvious 'manic depression' rip off and the the lengthy closure is sleep inducing. What is my real bane is the singing. Now Moore has a good not great voice but on this he sings in a low range as if he has recently recovered from a bout of influenza even that or give up the cigarettes and late nights!
The track 'born in chicago' with the trip hop beat (i kid you not) is so awful that it would go in my top ten worse songs of all time. The lyrics are embarassing ( i wasn't born in chicago/ but i can play the blues) and trite and the solo is so uninspired its hard to believe that this was the guy who played that blinding solo in 'waiting for an alibi' I'd suggest to anyone that you save your money and buy 'g-force' instead and if like me you went on his past reputation sell it immediately (if you can!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
What can you say - he just keeps getting better and better. There's something in this album for everyone and Cass Lewis & Darren Mooney are superb.
Gary Moore is one of the masters of his art and this is another demonstration of the range of the guys talent. There are definate Hendrix influences in this album, especially "World Keep Turning Around", but thats unsurprising considering the respect that all the great guitarists have for Hendrix.
Truly superb - I cannot wait to see this performed live.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Fast & reliable, excellent service, highly recommended, love the Gary Moore CD, many thanks from California.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)