Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
119
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£7.53+ £2.80 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2004
I am Sam is a film which follows the story of a man with the mental age of a seven year old, as he attempts to regain custody of his own seven year old daughter. This film is beautifully crafted and where sentimental could have become mushy Sean Penn ,Dakota Fanning and the rest of a brilliant cast stop this happening. I think that Sean Penns' portrayal of Sam far outshines similar performances such as Dustin Hoffman in rain man. All in all this is a highly entertaining and enjoyable film , well worth a viewing with an excellent cast.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
I imagine this would have been quite a difficult movie to make in terms of getting the tone of a sensitive subject like this just right. In a lot of ways they have done a superb job, especially of course Sean Penn, but sadly I found the underlying plot just had too many holes to make this great a great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
A really good feel good film, well acted and totally believable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Awesome movie, have a box of tissues handy. It shows the way people with disabilities are treated as second class citizens and how some lucky few have enough support to get over those issue. I loved this movie and everyone should see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
A very touching drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
A film with great insight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2007
Having watched this movie and trying to be as objective as possible, I can say that this movie is somewhat special. It is one of these movies that many people are not aware of, and one that does not add anything unique to the film genre. Nonetheless, it is a clear star. Although ,all of its aspects (scenario, acting, direction) are laudable, what I liked most about this movie is the fact that stereotypes in the scenario are avoided. In fact, all of the characters were developed to such an extent - and portrayed in so profound a way- that the dichotomy between good and bad was transcended (a good person and a bad person fighting in court). Usually movies with a scenario that involves austere social workers, the State, foster parents, and well-paid lawyers paint them with a dark colors, while people with special needs are always the opposite. Here things are different and this vortex of stereotypes is adroitly avoided.

All in all, a nice, bitter-sweet movie with moments of both sadness and happiness, as well as some quite humorous lines. In the beginning I was quite reluctant to watch this movie myself, but now I suggest it without any second thought to literally anyone with a DVD player. thanks Irene!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)