Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
81
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£22.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2011
I found this product well made and a high precision item. The inner end takes a standard 1.25" filter. The chromed part also unscrews leaving a male thread of the same size. The end away from the telescope has a thread to take a T Ring adapter for an SLR camera. The inside will take 1.25" eyepieces or other similar size cylindrical item and has a locking thumb screw. I've found this useful for an adapted webcam as image sensor (minus its lens).

I am using this T-adapter with a Celestron EQ130 (MD) telescope but to use with a DSLR (without lens), a diverging lens such as a Barlow is needed to move the prime focus further outside the focus tube, to enable the image to focus on the DSLR image sensor.
22 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
A good quality, solid, T-Adaptor.

The only problem, not related to any deficiency in the product itself, is that most reflector telescopes (including some Celestron models) won't be able to bring the focus-point of the telescope past the eyepiece socket (and, thus, into this adaptor) with even the best of cameras on their own. That's just simple physics, where the focus-point is actually inside the eyepiece socket tube and is only extended by eyepieces with lenses, or Barlow lenses. You'll know this is the case for your telescope if holding the camera on the empty eyepiece means you can't focus your camera enough to get a clean image.

Celestron sell an equivalent to this adaptor with a Barlow lens integrated which solves the problem, which is also available on Amazon.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This T-adaptor is for the larger Celestron telescopes and not the small spotter-scopes, and is only relevant to SLR cameras that have removable lenses.

Most Celestron spotter-scopes (all those I have seen anyway) already have a screw-thread around the eyepiece socket where you can screw on a T adaptor for your specific SLR camera type (remove the diagonal adaptor if you have one first!). That said, the spotter scopes have a relatively low focal length (the Travel Scope 70 is just 400mm) so you may be better off buying a 500mm lens for your camera.

If you are using a larger 'scope, then you will need this and the relevant T-adaptor for your camera. This adaptor replaces the barlow lens in the eye-piece, effectively giving you a camera lens with the focal length of your telescope. The camera will need to be set to a manual mode (Tv or Time Variable on my Canon) and you will have to play with the shutter speed to get the best results, but you can get some fantastic pictures with the right settings. The 'scope manual will provide you with both the focal length and apature size for calculating exact shutter settings.

The adaptor is well made - as good as the rest of the Celestron kit. The biggest issue I found is as noted in another review, where a heavy camera can move around a little if the adaptor is not tightly screwed in place.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
This T-Adapter is well made and slots nicely into my Nexstar 4SE. I've experienced no issues with it so cannot recommend it highly enough. For those that don't know, you will also need to buy a T-Ring for your camera as well (e.g. Canon EOS T Ring by Revelation is perfect for use with my Canon 550D).
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
Does what you would hope. Fits into any 1.25 inch telescope eyepiece socket and allows you to screw a t-ring to it. You will need to buy he appropriate t-ring for your make of camera (just search for t-ring cannon etc) and the ring slots onto the camera body. This adapter then fits to the ring. Allows different cameras to be used with the same adapter via the t-rings. Made of aluminium, good thread, works well.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
A high quality adapter. I hooked this up to my Celestron Nexstar without any problems and it worked fine (when coupled with a Canon EOS T-Ring and the Canon camera itself) The only thing that bugs me about it is that the small diameter handle thumbscrew can become quite uncomfortable on your thumb and index finger to squeeze when fastening or loosening (Cold weather makes it a lot worse). I recommend replacing the screw with one with a bigger outer diameter.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I needed this adapter to attach the barlow lens to have more space between the telescope and the camera to have the right focus for the objects i'd like to photograph. It does its job very well. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Good quality product, well machined & fits snugly to the T-Ring for my camera & slots nicely into the telescope. The problem is that it 's too long for smaller telescopes (60mm Celestron in this case) & cannot be focused. Celestron must know this & should give advice or a warning when selling this product.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Combined with the Celestron T-Ring Adapter for Nikon Digital Cameras, this T-Adapter links up the camera brilliantly to the telescope, providing a clear telescopic picture for my telescope to my camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
Please be warned this Celestron universal T adapter is not compatible with the Celestron 130Eq or the Celestron 114Eq as these telescopes do not have enough back-focus i.e. you cannot focus at infinity using this adapter (only to about 20m!). It is therefore well worth checking the focal point of your telescope before purchasing (check with your telescopes manufacturer)
44 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.