Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2010
I am a huge fan of Jared Leto as an actor, and I also love his music so I'm writing this review I guess with a slight bias already. However I avoided this film for a while because of mixed reviews. Having watched it, I would say to anyone who can appreciate quirkiness and wants to see more of Jared's earlier movies, watch it - it's actually pretty good! Jared and Jake are in my opinion very convincing as best friends in the movie. Their affection for one another is totally believable and sincere. It's an easy film to watch, in essence a road trip movie about friendship which is heartfelt and sweet. Jared's character is so loyal; their friendship is strong and touching. And if you like Jared Leto, well, the shirtless scenes don't hurt!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2002
I was hugely impressed by this little known feature. All three leads are very impressive and the supporting cast including judgement nights Jeremy Piven are excellent. Selma Blair again oozes charisma in a performance every bit as good as her one in Storytelling. The film has a lovely renaissance feel for it's early nineties setting and the film glides by without slipping into heavy sentament or banality. I hugely recommend this title to anyone who likes there teen features with a little more punch. I think it can be best described as wild at heart meets say anything, and i mean that as a compliment.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2006
This film apart from the glorious performances, not only from Jake and Jared, but of johnny .C. and my favourite performance by Jeremy Piven! The energy in his scene is something else. A buddy road film of the highest quality, fun, fantastic soundtrack, memorable quotes, and likable characters.

The story is great too, maybe to be taken as a laugh, but serious entities as well.

Then comes the direction, PERFECT!!!

1st time director James Cox, who had another underground hit with Wonderland. Why isn't he making more films??

Why this film hasn't reached public cult status yet is beyond me.

So I loved this film, my most watched DVD!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2002
Meant to be a portrayal of the 90s, this film serves it's purpose as an unglamourous, styleless, and misguided tale of 3 youngsters' coming-of age. The acting in this is gorgeous. The heavenly and inately endearing Jake Gyllenhaal could charm the socks off someone with a sock fetish and the threesome work really well together. The story, however, is BAD BAD BAD. Selma Blair plays as a prostitute and the other 2 as no-hoper buddies in trouble with some kind of a mob. Weak and totally unbelieveable, it saves itself (only slightly) at the end with a friendship/loyalty message. How touching I hear you cry! But seriously, this should only be given the time of day if you're a huge fan of one of the leads. Which I now am.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 2002 road trip drama is set in 1994 and opens with Jack Hayes (Jared Leto) going on the run after getting caught having sex with the wife of a gangster and is joined by best mate Pilot Kelson (Jake Gyllenhaal), a petty drug dealer, but what adventures will their road trip to freedom bring and what will it tell them about their friendship and desires?
The single disc goes straight to main menu offering play and the trailer while the film itself starts rather slowly as we are taken around a number of drunk and stoned friends and it feels like its going nowhere amid lots of unnecessary swearing, but once on the road, this does begin to entertain as we learn more about the characters and they discover what really matters to them.
With its swearing, drug usage, drinking, themes of prostitution and some violence, this is an obvious 18, but it also has some tender and thought provoking moments which stop this becoming mediocre. Well worth a watch if you like Leto, Gyllenhaal or Selma Blair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Jared and Jake - perfect! Took me right back to my youth - very watchable film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2006
Understandable why some people didn't like it - many need a strong story and moral direction to enjoy a film. But a classic road movie is like ...... well, a road. Characters are met along the way for no apparant reason, people meet and just hang because the road has brought them together, and the details of what they're escaping are minor to the general theme of escape.
This is an un-Hollywood film that never even tries to be Hollywood, but luckily it doesn't try too hard not to be. It just is what it is naturally.
Oh, and the two leads are both sweet and gorgeous and should be a couple.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2008
If you are an aficianado of bad cinema then this had to e the film for you. Thats not "bad" as in spectacular, amazing, awe inspiring but in the "old school use of the word. Bad as in it doesn't deliver the promise of the title. It's pathetic. One star for the actor who pLays "The Boy"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
With Jared Leto having won a best supporting actor Oscar i thought i would review some of his previous movies.

I'm a huge fan of both Jake and Jared and i also like Selma Blair so i was glad i got to see this movie. It isn't amazing but the three leads are great together. The movie is based in 1994 around the time or Kurt Cobain's suicide which is mentioned in the movie
The extra on this film is a trailer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
i bought this film cause i love Jared and i have seen this film before and wanted a copy of it i have watched it too many times never get bored and a fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)