Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 May 2015
Tony Scott's 2001 spy movie is, as you might expect from the director, a more stylish affair than most. It's also more cerebral and less action packed than you might expect from a movie combining him, Robert Redford and Brad Pitt. Indeed, Redford's character spends the movie going through his last day at work, playing office politics - but playing it to great effect in a race against the clock to save the life of Brad Pitt, and interlaced with flashbacks which mean we do also get to see rather more of the action man Redford.

It's one of those plots that's a relief to watch on DVD as you can pause and rewind when the ambiguities or twists get too bemusing, although the DVD extras are rather lightweight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
Two Hours of pure genius by the late Tony Scott and awesome in Blu-Ray on a 5.1 home cinema system. Plus great acting by Robert Redford.
We have watched it numerous times and it never fails to impress, there are more twists and turns in the plot than an English country lane plus the soundtrack by Harry Gredson-Williams is mind blowing in Blue-Ray. It is set in Virginia, Hong Kong, Middle East and China, oh and briefly London.
We have the DVD, the CD Soundtrack and now the Blu-Ray, it's entertainment supreme.
Only one downside there is some swearing by Brad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2012
If you liked "The Sting" and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" then you will love this film. I fell on this under-rated gem a few weeks back when I happen to read a review about it. I am not a Spy film fan so I had a few doubts about it. I was not disappointed. The two lead roles were well casted for this film. This is a very intelligent film which taxes your mind. It took me a while for me to work out what Robert Redfords character was doing and then everything fit into place. The scene where Robert' character managed to get the money and then pass it onto the guys..............no that would be a spoiler but it was a very touching moment. You have to be a hard nut not to enjoy that moment. Anyway, go and buy the video and you will not be disappointed. It earns more then five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
Whew this is a serious film but you need to keep your attention on the plot it can become complex,Robert Redford is great as the seasoned cia agent about to retire who has to come to the rescue of a fellow agent that he trained years previous,Redford is his usual cool calm assured acting style with Brad Pitt playing the ex partner bits and handling all the action scenes in this movie,great acting by both actors and all assembled make this a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2015
I love this just as I love the 70s films to which it alludes, eg Three a Days of the Condor ( much as Enemy of the State hooks up with The Conversation).

Maybe time for Redford or Clooney ( since his directorial efforts are similarly liberal- democratic inflected) to have a look at James Buchan's East-German located Heart 's Journey in Winter, and set about adapting it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2018
Love the movie. It's a bit dated now from early noughties, but Robert Redford and Brad Pitt are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
Excellent Service. Very Quick. The product itself is amazing. Well worth it. Love and miss Tony Scott.. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2017
As with most films which originally were for the cinema screen, the sound does not transfer to the small screen as well as the pictures, but this is a common fault with most films, unfortunately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2018
Great film. Good actors, well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2015
Excellent film, which is well performed, and sums up the Intelligence Game very well. Very dark, and also a service where you have to watch your back; as it changes very rapidly, as loyalties come and go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)