Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Supa Funky
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 September 2017
funky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
This is a great and imaginative selection; it is however, not mixed. The tracks are segued and in one or two cases not too well. I bought this on the basis of the reviews above and was slightly disappointed to find that the tracks are not mixed. If anyone wants to check out what true mixing is try the work of Dimitri From Paris, Bob Sinclair or Larry Levan.

The sound quality is excellent and the seller's service was first rate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
A fine collection of tunes, some more funky than others.

The 'mixing' leaves a lot to be desired - one fades out as another fades in - but I didn't buy it for the quality of the mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2002
I have heard many complilations in my time, but this stands out as one of the absolute best. If you're not dancing along to this record from the opening chord of Stevie Wonder's "Superstition" through to "Mas Que Nada" then there is something very wrong with you!
The first thing that strikes you is the variety on offer here - from classic funk such as James Brown and the Jacksons, through 90s dance like Us3 and Jamiroquai to old hip hop like Young MC and House of Pain. You cannot help but smile when you hear classics like Incognito's "Always There" and Family Stand's "Ghetto Heaven" blasting out of your stereo.
This is a pure party record, one that you just cant skip through. The songs sound fantastic mixed together the way they are, as if they were made solely for the purpose of being next to each other on this album.
This is an album that really is what the title says - funk at its most supa!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2002
Both Supa and Funky, this album hit me after just one seeing of the TV advert,and Im still in love with it. The selection of tracks is great. Some classics mixed with some lesser known gems. And if the names of the tracks dont mean much to you, you'd be surprised how many of them you know. Quincy Jones? Austin Powers theme tune did I hear you say? A guaranteed one to get everyone dancing stupidly is 'Papa'a got a brand new bag'. Everyone knows it, everyone loves it, and none of them can dance. Switch on, and dance the night away!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2002
This 2-CD compilation is great! There is not one track that isn't funky AND well-mixed. I do not regret having bought this album even for a second. It's got all the old favourites plus a few more recent ones that are just as beat-driven and groovy. A special treat are the Maceo and the Macks tracks (there are 2) and the Roy Ayers tracks. Someone at Universal Music is thinking when it comes to combining old sounds with new ones! This stuff never went outta style, if you ask me, and Supa Funky proves that it never will go outt style, either! I highly recommend this album!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Supa funky as its says in the title.
Great artists such as, incognito, Quincy Jones, Jackson Sisters, Jean Knight, Young Disciples, and the excellent Family Stand with Ghetto Heaven which is exactly what this cd is - Heaven!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Good track choices, well linked. One for the 'record box' if you know what I mean. I wouldn't be without it for those moments when someone asks ''have you got......?''
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Great apart from the odd song which has swearing in it. Needless to say that they are the most recent tunes from the 90s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Great album of Funk classics - had me dancing in the car - if you're into your Funk this is a must have album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)