Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 May 2017
The title says it all so I decided to buy it via the download as it was so much cheaper. Definitely worth the 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
Great album have great pleasure listening to this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2003
Tropical Gangsters was Kid Creole And The Coconuts’ 1982 album and has been re-released with 6 additional tracks consisting of remixes of Annie I’m Not Your Daddy, I’m A Wonderful Thing Baby and Stool Pigeon, plus B-sides previously only available on vinyl.
It is musically very well rounded and more sophisticated than earlier albums like Off The Coast Of Me, meaning production is slicker and the band is tight. Still I think the Coast album contains more memorable songs and more musical variety like the brilliant Bogotá Affair and their charming version of Lilli Marlene.
My favourites here include the huge UK hits Annie, I’m Not your Daddy, Wonderful Thing and Stool Pigeon. They’re all melodic, uplifting and sometimes humorous tunes with catchy hooks and the trademark Darnell humour. I also love the soulful Loving You Made A Fool Out Of Me.
Tropical Gangsters is a good album but the music is a rather similar blend of pop, caribbean and big band sounds lacking the variety offered by albums like Coast or Fresh Fruit From Foreign Places. It is however, an enduring and unique strain of popular music that started with Dr Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band and has aged well, especially if you like dance music with lots of personality and a dash of humour.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2002
Tropical Gangsters was the soundtrack to my clubbing years in the early eighties.
Pop Music was a lot different then - Culture Club, The Associates, Haircut 100, Dexys Midnight Runners, and er, Musical Youth!
I had been aware of Kid Creole for a few years before this album was released.
I already had a Dr Buzzard L.P. and the Mutant Disco Album.
You had to be there to understand the impact this album had.
It was being played in every Wine Bar and Pub in town, throughout the long hot summer of 1982.
Kid Creole and the Coconuts were famous for risque lyrics, outrageous costumes, and Hollywood style theatrics.
I went to see them at Birmingham Odeon on the Tropical Gangsters tour.
Half of the audience was on stage for the encores!
This new release includes all the classic 12" mixes and B sides.
There are also another three remastered and expanded Kid Creole albums available now.
What can i say - I will buy the set - if you like great music you should too.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2002
Tropical gangsters is arguably one of Kid Creole and the coconuts' best album, if not the best.
Tracks like 'I'm a wonderful thing, baby', 'Annie, I'm not your Daddy' and Stool Pigeon' became disco/latin classics of the 80's.
It's great that Amazon are going to offer one of the 80's best albums when no other companies can - and at a very reasonable price.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
Meant to get this in vinyl for daughters birthday, however managed somehow to order it as cd.. how lucky!.. always loved their sound and this lived up to expectations truly happy music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2010
Sizzling hot latin rythms, superb lyrics , great vocals and a first class orchestra make this a great 80s classic
You won't be able to sit still!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
The superb stereo quality had me bopping around my living room as though the intervening years between first appreciating Kid Creole's magic and taking delivery of this gem had never occurred!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
This is a fantastic album that has originality stamped all over it. Kid Creole haven't released a duff album to date and are atill together. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fresh Fruit In Foreign Places
£6.50
Wonderful Thing
Off the Coast of Me
£13.44

Need customer service? Click here