Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Miss E...So Addictive (International Version)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 23 December 2002
I bought Missys most recent album before "...so addictive" and I have to say this is alot better!No dis to missy though!Her vocals are amazing and so unique!
The music the vocals,the rap,everything runs together so smoothly.Id say that the best song off the album is...no I can't choose!
With amazing appearances from famous singers and rappers such as Eve,Da Brat,Ludacris,Redman,Jay-Z,Busta Rhymes,Method Man and Timbaland there's a track for everyone.
TIP:Listen to every track thoroughly.Miss E IS so addictive and so is her album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2001
A new direction for Missy Elliott, away from hardcore hiphop, but not towards R&B like Lauryn Hill but towards fat, booming funk. Sometimes it sounds as if George Clinton or Cameo's Larry Blackmon co-produced these songs. And Missy sings, well, not like an angel, but with a full and adult voice. Weakest point are the texts, the chest-thumping 'I am the best' lyrics, a sad hiphop cliche, that dosen't fit her. I love her since the first time I heard 'rain' and and each and every single and video she made was superb. A little bit less were her albums, not in a way that you would think hits and misses, but some parts were just weaker. This time it's the same, 'addictive' could be a 30 minute album that would all those jayzees and puffies and kellies hang themselves from the next tree. But who cares? her weaker stuff is ten times stronger than puffies best! This woman is gold and this album is her best ever!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I just had to write a review for this album becuase i think it is brilliant. I believe this is her best album and contains probably her best single Get Ur Freak On. The album is a mix of Hip hop/ R&B and has a very fresh feel. If you're a fan of Missy and don't have this album I would strongly recommend it, almost every song is excellent. This was Missy's 3rd album and at this stage herself and Timbaland had just reached perfection. Every song is excellently produced by Timbaland, and has plenty of great collaborations. From Tweet on the intro, to Redman and Method Man on the head-nodding funky Dog In Heat. Lick Shots is another party anthem from Missy along with 4 My People and Get Ur Freak On. There are two songs that are just incredible; the first being Take Away with Ginuwine. It is a slow jam with a dreamy tune, which is so hypnotising. It shows Missy has a fine voice singing too, and can slow the pace well, as well as having the party time/ hip hop songs. The other song is X-tasy. Another dreamy tune which is a rather hypnotising song, i have to almost meditate to that one. There is another song where Timbaland features on a rap called Whatcha Gon Do, a slightly darker tune, to reveal their other side, still capable of producing "sick" music.
There is also a wonderful end to the album, with Missy giving thanks to God. Two songs called Higher Ground (prelude) and Higher Ground are again just wonderful. The last one is quite wonderful featuring Yolanda Adams, Kim Burrel and friends with an amazing pure soulful and powerful end to a fantastic album.

This album would actually be in my top 10 favourite albums of all time, no greater praise to give than that!
Buy it now!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2007
What makes this worth buying is the technical proficiency and innovation that has been put into it. The title "Miss E...so addictive" reflects exactly what this album is about. The beats as composed by Timbaland and Missy herself are infectious virtually intoxicating. At the same time, it's musical. It has distinct melody. Take away the voices, and you have layer upon layer of...stuff. . The rhythm is great, both lyrically as well as musically. As usual, plenty of guest stars. For the most part, this is a good thing. This is especially true with such artists as Meth and Redman, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes. Jay-Z. Ludacris. Ginuwine, Eve and newcomer, at that time, Charlene "Tweet" Keys who appears on multiple tracks.

The duet with Ginuwine leaves much to be desired and is the low point of this album to me. My standout tracks are "One Minute Man", "Lickshots", "Get Ur Freak On", "Old School Joint" (it really sounds old but the beat is nice), "X-Tasy", "I've Changed" (an interlude where Lil' Mo sings), "One Minute Man" (a remix) this song is hot, with it's ultra-catchy rhythm arrangement. The two bonus tracks are really nice, "4 My People" has a frantic funk to it and Eve shines here, "Watcha Gonna Do," is good and finally "Slap! Slap! Slap!," which is rough and hilarious at the same time.

Don't expect any lyrical depth because that's not Missy's style anyhow. She sticks to what she and Timbaland do best, writing fun, original tracks (with often interesting bass and percussion samples) that always seem to bump and shake the clubs. Few do it better and this album proves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2002
This album is such a joy to listen to that it should be required listening for anybody with a dose of the glooms. Not only does missy share her vocal platform with so many brilliant artists but she shows the full range of her amazing voice that drips like honey over some very raunchy lyrics including a hidden track that my computer picked up right at the end after several minutes silence ~ a superb untitled gospel track that I think is called "Higher Ground" (not the Stevie Wonder classic)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
I Would not normally get this type of music but i got it very cheep on Amazon on line and the sound 5.1 on D.V.D. Audio is very good a very good sounding dance album and excellent demo disc for audio if you can not play the M.L.P. Audio there is a 5.1 Dolby digital Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2001
very scary album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when I first bought this album I was surprised, .my room was dancing on the great scary dancy tunes... this one is the greatest missy elliot ever album .. I loved {I want you back} and most of the tracks in this album are the same tune to it and to the scary one {get ur freak on} but every song has a different sound .. those tracks are : dog in heat .. one minute man,{next single probably}... scream, ...lick shots,... my people{greatest song}{,.. slapt, slapt, wahtcha gonna do, and get ur freak on.. also therer'es is 5 slow r&b songs which 3 of them are nice ,and the 2 other are rubbish this album also contains 2 inturludes .. so addictive .. bus-a bus when you buy this album you'll be surprised .. believe me .. missy elliot isn't just another rap singer !!!!! best for u missy!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
A superb Album by a Artist i had so little experience of, but so impressed by this hugely talented Diva.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
FANTASTIC SERVICE AS USUAL MANY THANX AAA+++++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Arrived on time excellent very happy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)