Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2017
This is a must watch film for those that have gifted children - the pit falls are well known but ambitious parents need to be reminded again and again - kids need to be allowed to be kids no matter how gifted they are - they are still kids in an adult world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
jodie foster plays a plain spoken single mother who soon realises her son has special gifts and is persuaded to send her son away to see how he compares with other similar children. a very enjoyable film with some top class acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Since Diane's scathing review is written from the perspective of an experienced parent, an equally knowledgeable one is surely also due from a (former) gifted child.

Admittedly, Little Man Tate is hardly a work of social realism (it lurches from comedy to fantasy to melodrama in places). The two mother figures are limited by being binary opposites, the happy ending is too 'pat' and the ultimate message - that common sense and abstract genius need each other - is rather `on the nose'. However, Jodie Foster was herself something of a child prodigy, and this film is infused with the child's viewpoint. It's a flawed little gem.

While I never had Fred's level of genius, I skipped two years at school, outperformed my peers across most of the curriculum, and didn't learn to 'mask'. Seeing this film for the first time in my early twenties I finally found a character in fiction who represented my experiences. So while the two female leads are rather cartoon-like, I found Fred - a touchingly straightforward and arresting performance by Adam Hann-Byrd - entirely believable and relatable. His isolation and social ineptitude, his inability to stop thinking, even the disastrous birthday party, all took me right back to my childhood. Sure it's simplistic, even a missed opportunity in places, but it's also surprisingly truthful. At least, it spoke to me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
"Little man Tate" is a lovely movie. The story is heartwarming, moving, sad, funny... simply lovely! There's a cliche here and there, but the great performances by Jodie Foster, Dianne Wiest and Adam Hann-Byrd make up for everything. This is certainly a movie I could watch every few years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
‘Little Man Tate’ is about a small boy called Fred (Adam Hann-Byrd) who is highly gifted in several areas. He lives with his single mother Dede (Jodie Foster) and they’re very close; however he is bored in school and struggles to make friends. His mother wants him to be an ordinary little boy; but she eventually allows him to take some tests and attend some enrichment courses. The psychologist Jane (Dianne Wiest) becomes almost another mother figure to him.

Fred is affectionate capable of pretending to do things wrong so as not to stand out; the acting seemed a bit weak at times, for such an important character, but on the whole he's believable. Unfortunately some of his teachers (and, indeed, the psychologist Jane) are portrayed as caricatures, condescending to their charges and with no real connection to them at all. In places this gave a light-hearted touch to what could have been quite a heavy story; in others it was rather irritating.

Jodie Foster directs the film as well as playing Fred’s mother, and she does so sensitively and with a good pace. Overall, we loved the story with the different viewpoints and the struggles to help a child who is ‘different’. It was also interesting to see the tensions between those who value academic excellence above all else, and those who don’t, although a pity that none of the 'academics' were portrayed as realistic or even particularly likeable.

However, the soundtrack on the DVD was very badly mixed. The music was too intrusive, often drowning out the speech entirely. I struggled with the accents in any case, but Fred and Dede spoke very quietly. About half way through we had to switch on the subtitles in order to catch what was going on. I would have given this four stars if the sound quality had been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Came quickly through the post, been searching for this for ages. Happy Customer 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Thought provoking about gifted children - Jodie Foster is of course excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Great film, good and speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Good story beautifully filmed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)