Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Drake Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2004
Although the great Ted Heath died in 1969 his band (or a good part of it) carried on, and performed every now and then to appreciative audiences worldwide, under the direction of Don Lusher.
Since most of them were getting rather long in the tooth, they eventually decided to call it a day and this is the recording of the complete "farewell concert" from December 2000.
Introduced by Malcolm Laycock it is very much one of those old-style Radio 2-type live concerts, all cosy introductions and anecdotes between tracks. The music-making was also old-style Ted Heath big band, loud and proud, tight and brassy, belieing the musicians' advancing years, and all the old favourites were given one last outing, as was long-standing band vocalist Denis Lotis.
Perhaps an album for fans only, nevertheless extremely enjoyable.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
i chose this disc because it was the fabulous heath.
brilliant from start to finish with exellent narration between tracks,
why did i buy it,?, because it was TED HEATH, one of the best BRITISH swing band leaders of all time,
i could get mto like him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I have lived in the U.S.A. all my life,and I was able to see Ted Heath's band just once:however I am a great admirer of his music.Don Lusher leads the band,and he was an integral piece of the Heath group .I loved this band and You will too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
A great CD and will be a constant reminder of the fabulous Ted Heath band. Certainly one that I will treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Was at this concert wonderful cd that captured the evening. A great tribute to Ted Heath
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Everything we remembered about the concert was there. First class!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Good quality CD from wonderful band with great musicians
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Excellent CD and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
very good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)