Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2012
The Big Come Up and Thickfreakness (Black Keys debut and second albums) are two classics of the genre. In my opinion they are far better than the later albums produced by DangerMouse (although I still like Brothers and El Camino, but in a different way)I have just bought Rubber Factory and hoping that that is as good as the Big Come Up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This is the first album of the Black Keys. It's raw and unpolished blues rock. It contains a great version of the Beatles song 'She Said she Said'
For me this album is what the Black Keys are all about. The Albums 'Brothers' and 'El Camino' are far more commercial and polished. If you like your Black Keys unpolished, raw, like they are playing in your basement with minimal equipment stick to the first 5 albums. But at the end you want the last 2 albums also. Because you can't go wrong with the Black Keys. The Black Keys rock. Buy this record, it's great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
OK, first up, this is a truly amazing album. But it's marmite, you love it or hate it.

Second thing, the quality of the recording is terrible. It's nothing to do with my setup here, it's the actual factory output which appears to have been done in a 50 year old magnetic tape. Some may call it dirty and original, and it has a great feel to it, but actually, when you crank the volume up the distortion is so awful you're forced to turn it down again. Which is a crying shame because the tracks are A1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
This a very decent debut, but it's a touch messy at times and lacks the touch that made Rubber Factory and Thickfreakness so great.

It has it's highlights but they were clealy still learning, the last track is plain terrible. It's worth owning as a Black Keys fan but I don't see having much more value than that if you haven't already got Rubber Factory and Thickfreakness.

I can't work out whether the rawness of this debut makes it better than the polished lack of depth in their more recent work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Black Keys- Big come Up is raw and bluesy, brilliant first album and all you expect from the blues duo. This Album is a solid 5 stars from me and i've only listened to it about 3-4 times back to back. Grows on you quick and has alot of soul with it.
Worth the wait due to snow in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
This is such an awesome raw sounding garage blues album the best tracks are 'I'll Be Your Man' and 'Heavy Soul'. The album has such a great raw sound that makes it all sound so amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
If it wasnt for the HBO series 'Hung' I would have never bought this CD. The theme song is a real winner, and the rest of the songs are pretty cool to. Like black keys, like this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
For anyone who only knows the Black Keys from their more recent stuff - try this! It's the real thing - raw, bluesy, earthy, driving. Everything you want from a blues-rock group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
If you're gonna have any black keys album on vinyl. This is the one to buy!
Sounds like it was made to be played on a record player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Black Keys are a must for every bluesman lover. Rude music, crounch effects, just the right distortion ... amazing !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)