Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
96
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2017
Great fun! I wish there were more films as well made and inventive as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
A good price and delivered as ordered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A funny and enjoyable sequel, MiB 2 is a film to be taken at face value. What you see is what you get. There are a lot of sight gags and jokes, most of which are funny. This is a simple, upbeat movie with some great special effects.
The premise of the film is simple. In 1978, Laranna, Queen of the Universe, landed on this planet, wanting to leave the Light of Zartha here on Earth, The villainous and totally evil, shape changing alien, Serleena, vowed to destroy any planet that would give safe harbor to the Light of Zartha. Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones) was then the agent in charge of the operation that was to ensure that Queen Laranna would depart Earth, taking the Light of Zartha with her, with Serleena in hot pursuit, thus saving the Earth from destruction.
Enter present day Earth, MiB Agent J (Will Smith), having come into his own since the retirement of his mentor and former partner, Agent K, has neuralized yet another unsatisfactory partner, Agent T (Patrick Warburton). Summoned to MiB headquarters, J meets with the head honcho for MiB, Zed (Rip Torn), and discovers that his new partner is Frank the Pug. Together they are to investigate an unusual occurrence and debrief Rita (Rosario Dawson), the witness. He does so and discovers not only love at first sight when he meets Rita, but also that Serleena (in the form of Lara Flynn Boyle) is back on Earth, once more searching for the Light of Zartha and vowing not to leave Earth without it. Working with a pretty stupid, two headed alien, Scard and Charlie, hilariously played by Johnny Knoxville, Serleena is on the prowl. She must not, however, get her mitts on the Light of Zartha, or all is lost.
It turns out that Agent K must be brought back from the obscurity of Maine, where he is the postmaster, and de-neuralized, as it is he who carries with him the secret of what really happened to the Light of Zartha. Only Agents K and J, working together again, can stop Serleena from getting the Light of Zartha. In the intervening years since they last worked together, Agent J has matured, while Agent K finds himself flummoxed by the technological advances that the MiB have made in the years during his absence. Together again, Agents K and J are just as funny as they were the first time around, and the aliens are better than ever. The locker colony of miniature aliens that worship Agent K is my own personal favorite, though the swinging worm guys, who have their own stereotypic bachelor pad, give them a run for their money in the funny department.
The entire cast gives terrific performances. Look for a lot of fast paced action, as well as funny, though sometimes sophomoric, repartee, a lot of sight gags, wonderful alien creatures courtesy of the magic of special effects, and cameo appearances by Peter Graves and Michael Jackson. If you are willing to sit back, kick off your shoes, and take the film at face value, you will, undoubtedly, enjoy MiB 2.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A funny and enjoyable sequel, MiB 2 is a film to be taken at face value. What you see is what you get. There are a lot of sight gags and jokes, most of which are funny. This is a simple, upbeat movie with some great special effects.
The premise of the film is simple. In 1978, Laranna, Queen of the Universe, landed on this planet, wanting to leave the Light of Zartha here on Earth, The villainous and totally evil, shape changing alien, Serleena, vowed to destroy any planet that would give safe harbor to the Light of Zartha. Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones) was then the agent in charge of the operation that was to ensure that Queen Laranna would depart Earth, taking the Light of Zartha with her, with Serleena in hot pursuit, thus saving the Earth from destruction.
Enter present day Earth, MiB Agent J (Will Smith), having come into his own since the retirement of his mentor and former partner, Agent K, has neuralized yet another unsatisfactory partner, Agent T (Patrick Warburton). Summoned to MiB headquarters, J meets with the head honcho for MiB, Zed (Rip Torn), and discovers that his new partner is Frank the Pug. Together they are to investigate an unusual occurrence and debrief Rita (Rosario Dawson), the witness. He does so and discovers not only love at first sight when he meets Rita, but also that Serleena (in the form of Lara Flynn Boyle) is back on Earth, once more searching for the Light of Zartha and vowing not to leave Earth without it. Working with a pretty stupid, two headed alien, Scard and Charlie, hilariously played by Johnny Knoxville, Serleena is on the prowl. She must not, however, get her mitts on the Light of Zartha, or all is lost.
It turns out that Agent K must be brought back from the obscurity of Maine, where he is the postmaster, and de-neuralized, as it is he who carries with him the secret of what really happened to the Light of Zartha. Only Agents K and J, working together again, can stop Serleena from getting the Light of Zartha. In the intervening years since they last worked together, Agent J has matured, while Agent K finds himself flummoxed by the technological advances that the MiB have made in the years during his absence. Together again, Agents K and J are just as funny as they were the first time around, and the aliens are better than ever. The locker colony of miniature aliens that worship Agent K is my own personal favorite, though the swinging worm guys, who have their own stereotypic batchelor pad, give them a run for their money in the funny department.
Terrific performances are given by the entire cast. Look for a lot of fast paced action, as well as funny, though sometimes sophomoric, repartee, a lot of sight gags, wonderful alien creatures courtesy of the magic of special effects, and cameo appearances by Peter Graves and Michael Jackson. If you are willing to sit back, kick off your shoes, and take the film at face value, you will, undoubtedly, enjoy MiB 2.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2003
After the excellent first film, expectations were high for this sequel (perhaps a little too high). After the BIG money made by the original, the studio was keen to make another : the problem being that the initial budget would be huge. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones are both expensive, Barry Sonnenfeld and Steven Spielberg would be looking for a back-end deal, with all that money on the table it would be difficult to make the picture profitable. But they eventually all cut back end deals, and the picture was made.
Or perhaps 'rushed' is a better word. Compared to the tight scripting of the original, the screenplay is messy and hole-ridden, with the old gambit of bit part players brought back from the original on the assumption that they will get bigger laughs this time round (i.e. the talking dog). Will Smith seems uncomfortable in the 'straight' role this time, and the female lead adds very little value (to be fair this is the fault of the script). Tommy Lee Jones does his job well, but seems to be on autopilot (to be fair the tight dialogue of the first film is all but gone here). As the villain of the piece Lara Flynn Boyle is very nice to look at (kudos to Jack Nicholson!) - cf. the completely gratuitous underwear scene at the beginning - but is ultimately forgettable.
Most strangely, the effects could have used more work : - Rick Baker does a great job with the puppets as always, but the CGI is sometimes a little poor compared to todays standards. The two-headed character, the tentacles, and the worm all could have been better.
Given the huge arena in which to play set up by the first film, and the talent attached to the project, this could have been so much more.
Now there are good points to this film (and it is not mediocre by any means), but, compared to the first film, it ultimately rates a disappointment. Lets hope that, in the unlikely event they make another, they recapture the spirit of the first. If it had been a film in it's own right, I might have given it 3 stars, but comparing it to the first is inevitable, and so 2 stars is sadly the ending score.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2005
MIB2 is a thoroughly enjoyable film that is perfect for passing some time. It's short at just 84 minutes but some films that are unnecessarily long can outstay their welcome. MIB2 is short and straight to the point and that's what I like about it. The action and special effects are ok without being too extraordinary (very comic book style) but it is the humour that really hits the spot - I laughed out loud on many occasions. MIB2 comes on two discs and is packed full of extras making it excellent value for money - loads of features, a short (and funny) animated film, Will Smith's "Black Suits Coming" music video and so much more. I recommend this DVD very highly for pure entertainment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
"Men in Black" was a classic comedy. Unfortunately! As we all know, successful movies crave sequels. And the sequels are usually...bunk.

So I wasn't surprised when I watched "Men in Black II". Yes indeed, it's much worse than the original. To fill in the general lack of plot development, humour and pretty much everything else, we get an extra dosage of that funny dog from the first movie. And, of course, the "worms" from the coffee machine situation. Yeah, very funny. Not! And what's all this stuff about Moses and Santa Claus being stashed away in a safety deposit box on Grand Central?

Not even Donna from Twin Peaks can save "MIB II". I mean, with that make up, she looks about 20 years older than she actually is. Talk about spoiling a gorgeous actor.

The only fun part of "MIB II" is the ending, where agent K reveals that *we* are stashed away in a safety deposit box on a foreign planet, inhabited by stressed, gigantic alien commuters.

Well, it's nice to know that some problems are, indeed, of truly cosmic proportions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
As stated above, this movie is "OK" as a follow up to the first movie. I felt that they spent way too much time showing Will Smith flashing people and telling them how to change their lives. I also feel that they could've done a better job with the script and gotten at least an hour and a half out of this story. Overall a good movie, I just don't feel that it lives up to the wait from the last one or all the hyped up advertising. {ssintrepid}
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 January 2003
I thought it was brilliant when I heard they were making a Men In Black 2. After all, the original MIB film was one of the slickest, coolest and funniest films of the late 1990's. However, when I heard they were bringing back the character of Kay (Tommy Lee Jones) alarm bells starting going off in my head. In MIB1 he had been 'neuralised' (his memory as an MIB agent erased so he could go back to the life he had before) and in this film we see Jay (Will Smith) attempting to 'deneuralise' his ex-partner because he has vital information that will save Earth.
Sounds uninspiring doesn't it? That's because it is.
After failing to restore Kay's memory, the two MIB agents embark on a rather boring journey where Kay gradually gets his memory back in their quest to find 'The Light' and preventing it from fallen into the hands of the scantily-clad yet evil Surlenna (Lara-Flynn Boyle).
As for the lose ends from the other film such as what happened to Kay's wife/girlfriend he dreamed of going back to and what happened to the female morgue worker who became Jay's partner in MIB1; they are briefly mentioned before being brushed off and never talked about again. It's a shame really because it would have been interesting it see if Jay and his love-interest from MIB1 actually hit it off.
This film has very little pace or action until the end and you get the feeling that it has been very, very rushed. The ending itself is dissapointing and rather predictable, but nobody was expecting a great ending from such a poor film anyway. Most of the jokes in the film fail to even raise a smile, and most of them come courtesy of Frank the dog who isn't funny at all (him singing to 'Who Let The Dogs Out' on the radio was his funniest bit. That's saying something.)
This is a big dissapointment even for MIB fans (which I was back in 1997 when the original came out) and this even went some way to marring my enjoyment of the first film when I watched it afterwards. Another thing they made it worse for me is that my friend has seen it in America and claimed it was 'way better than the first one', so I kind of let myself get caught up in the hype leading to even more dissapointment.
I give MIB2 two stars but knock one off if you don't fancy Lara-Flynn Boyle because she is hot;) and she probably does create some motivation for seeing the film (if you're a guy anyway) but if you want to experience the best of MIB, stick with the first film.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2004
I watched this 2 years ago in 2002 with my MIB loving nephew. And I can tell you this sequel doesn't disappoint. The films bad thing is that it is way too short. I sat through the movie for about 10 minutes and then the credits started to roll. I then found out that it hadn't been 10 minutes but an hour and a half. Anyway this is still a witty ride through great special effects and acting. Lara Flynn Boyle makes a great villainess and I was surprised to see Jackass's Johnny Knoxville in the film as a 2 headed alien. And who could forget Frank the Pug in a hilarious role. The extras on this movie are just plain wonderful and are some of the best extras known to man in my opinion. Oh and did I ever mention that every film review I do I own. Guess not!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse