Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
133
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2017
I love this film. Its touching and funny. Nicholas Hoult is amazing as Marcus, he's a great actor now but he was then. Hugh Grant does he usual amazing thing. Toni Collette is awesome and touching. Really great film - forgot how great it was until i re watched it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2016
Fast delivery great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Fab Movie...Love Hugh Grant !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Amazing classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Great keep the good work up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
About a Boy is a join-up-the-dots kind of film that seems to have been very well received. It is well acted and there is some interest in the rapport between Hugh Grant's good-for-nothing character and Nicholas Hoult's 12-year-old son of a depressed single mum, but it seems as arranged as the interiors where much of it is set. It is one of those films that leads the viewer too winsomely by the hand - mainly, it is its too obvious intent to entertain. It doesn't really have any soul, so that the suicide attempt of one of the characters just seems to skate over the surface of the screen. Toni Collette managed to make a much deeper impression in Muriel's Wedding, which also didn't shy away from difficult subject matter within a comic framework, but said a lot more about life than this one, and had a far edgier comic appeal. The double voice-over sets up the problems, seeming to box the film in - it is funny and holds the interest, but all the main actors have been better elsewhere.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 February 2016
I have to say that when us Brits do put together a good film, we do it very well, often excelling in gritty drama and brilliant comedy. 2002's critically acclaimed 'About A Boy', based on the best-selling book by Nick Hornby, and from the makers of 'Bridget Jones's Diary', crosses over between the two, and is one of those special movies which always makes me smile.

This British drama, set in London, tells the hilarious story of what happens when selfish, nearing middle-age bachelor Will Freeman (Hugh Grant) encounters school oddball Marcus (Nicholas Hoult), a 12 year old boy living with his chronically depressed single mother. Plenty of laughs are assured when Marcus begins turning up at this compulsive liar's home every night, and gradually they become friends. Well-off Will teaches him how to become a cool kid, but the tables soon begin to turn when Marcus finds himself being able to open his mentor's eyes on how to behave, and act like a non-cynical adult for the first time in his 38 years. The events which transpire are both hilarious, and movingly bitter-sweet. I came to quickly care about both these quirky characters, and their antics had me glued to my screen from start to finish.

Hugh Grant, who has never been one of my favourite actors amongst the Hollywood elite, really shines this picture, and is very well supported by the young newcomer Nicholas Hoult, who deserves to have his name listed on the DVD/video cover of his first ever film. This young man fitted his plum role perfectly, and went onto shine further a few years later as Tony in the hit TV series as 'Skins', and later in movies such as 'Warm Bodies' and 'Jack the Giant Slayer'. I always look out of his work.

'About a Boy' is a magical movie which is complemented by an equally wonderful soundtrack, mostly composed and performed by Damon Gough, better known as 'Badly Drawn Boy'. My favourite track is the amazingly catchy UK top 30 hit single 'Something To Talk About', as well as the absolutely wonderful 'Silent Sigh', which is the very definition of a 'walking song'. Firmly in the list of top ten British films, you'd be making a big mistake if you were to avoid this one.

The DVD release of 'About a Boy' contains plentiful bonus material, including a feature commentary with brothers Chris and Paul Weitz, who co-wrote and directed the film, a 'Making Of' featurette, deleted scenes with director's commentary, music videos for the Badly Drawn Boy songs, as well as an interview with the man himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
Middle aged bachelor Will (Grant) gets more than he bargained for when he meets Malcolm (Hoult) a young lad who wants a partner for his suicidal mum.

Hugh Grant, the romantic guy of the nineties. You may ask what makes About a Boy different from every other romance films. Why should you spend time watching a film that could easily be a repeat of another one of his flicks?

With his roles in films such as Four Weddings and a Funeral and Love Actually, his characters were always chasing the girl but there is more to Will than these stereotypical parts. He is not Prince Charming. He is not a babbling geek. He is a git. A man with no regard for anything but himself. Grant has made Will the man any viewer would love to hate. But yet he manages to be unbelievably funny and charming, and you can't help but love him. Grant here has shed that everyday loveable loser who can't commit into a man with personal baggage and an agenda. Juxtaposed with Nicholas Holt and you have a fine onscreen duo.

Little would we know that the lad playing Malcolm would become a teenage hero in award winning teenage gritty drama Skins. This well thought out debut performance puts faith back into the future.

The stereotypical geek protagonist is ridiculed too often by picking up on media conventions such as computers, glasses and vast knowledge etc. But there is a spin here because Malcolm is called a geek because of his appearance. The baggy hippy clothes, the bowl haircut and the solo singing make him an outcast and he is labelled a geek for it and here we explore the depths of his character and though he is portrayed as a geek on the outside he is a child wanting love on his inside, a fine representation. This sentimental technique which some may find obvious but undeniably rightful.

Sounds cheesy right? Wrong. This Nick Hornby adaptation is far from it. Unpredictable, consistent, funny and without resorting to clichés and slapstick humour creates a sharp originality. The script also preaches through strong real life issues including growing up, suicide, bullying and loneliness. About a Boy is not afraid to get its messages across.

Though Grant and Hoult are the stand out stars, Toni Collette (Little Miss Sunshine) gives a knockout supporting role as Malcolm's mother.

About a Boy is a fine real romantic drama that preaches through hidden messages and delivers through some stand out performances.

9/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
A story with happy ending. I watch it with my mother. I like the leading lady. The screenwriter of this film is really great. Not bad. If there's one next, I'll be looking forward to it. The filming is very expressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2011
Will is self centred and has cast off all his responsibilities. But during one of his more dubious scams to date single mothers, he is forced to reconsider his moral fibre after coming into contact with a 12 year old outcast named Marcus.

Adapted from the massively popular book written by Nick Hornby {Fever Pitch & High Fidelity} About A Boy easily translates well to the screen without truly breaking free of the modest premise. Oddly enough for such a British picture, this is directed by an American, Paul Weitz, who along with his brother Chris, brought the world American Pie! It works, largely to the undervalued comic talents of one Hugh Grant {Will}. I would go so far as to say that without Grant leading the film, this would have been a flop, all the highlights on offer are when Grant is on the screen. Expressive with his face and delivering his lines with a natural high, Grant nicely lures the audience into the less than admirable Will's hands. Which is quite a trick considering that Will is a morally dubious scum bag!

Nicholas Hoult {Marcus} is OK as child actors go, but here he is given far to much to do. Which is another reason why Grant is so important to the film being a success, he shoulders much of the emotional burden, letting Hoult breathe what life he can into poor young Marcus {worst hair cut on film ever}. Solid support comes from Toni Collette and Rachael Weisz, and Weitz's direction is smooth and unobtrusive, with Badly Drawn Boy's score an integral part of the story. Yet as much as I enjoy the film myself, I still feel frustrated that it didn't turn out better than it did. A double handed narration from both lead characters intrudes on the flow of the plot, and the pay off is ultimately an "oh" moment. So to me it's an OK movie made into a good one courtesy of one of Britain's best light comedy actors. 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)