Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2015
Nice little set comprising original CD soundtrack and Spriggan movie on DVD. Paid about 3 quid absolutely satisfied with product and seller 
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2006
Described on the box as being a "mix of Raiders of the Lost Ark and James Bond", I found it to go far beyond such a mediocre description.
It's more a heady mix of Metal Gear Solid stylings and an Akira style storyline. A superb anime action film that deserves to take it's place amongst the anime greats such as Akira, Neon Genesis Evangelion, and Appleseed.
It certainly pulls no punches, and is a streamlined as they come, with non-stop action from start to finish. Having said that, it still manages to develop it's awesome plot with a finesse and depth rarely seen in Hollywood movies of it's kind (with the possible exception of the Matrix trilogy).
Anyway, what are you reading this for? Buy it, already!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
I bought this movie after having watched it on t.v. I instantly fell in love with it(not literally mind you). It had everything i wanted from an anime. Great plot, great characters, great action, great flick.
The main story behind it is basically (dont worry i wont give too much away) about the discovery of noahs ark and how an evil organisation is after it. Its sort of like the Indiana Jones films in the respect that there is always an ancient artifact uncovered and some sort of cult or organisation like the Nazis, in the films, is always after it. Anyway back to the plot. Well this other organisation, earths elite defence force, ARCAM send out one of their elite agents aka the Spriggan. This is is were the main character comes into play. His name is Onimae Yu and he is Japan's number one Spriggan, and I must say the skills that boy pocess' I only wish...amazing.
The animation is first class stuff. Very well drawn an animated and the animation is very fluid. The characters are well drawn and their appearance is well put together.
Now the action......what can i say about this......i could say that it is average as far as action adventure animes go but then i would be telling a lie because the action is BBBBBRRRRRRRRIIIILLLLLLIIAAANNNNTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!! This anime has some of the most amazing action scenes i have ever witnessed from an anime. The acrobatis of the main charcter comes into play during the action scenes and believe me you'll bloodly well wish you could do all that when you're done watching this film. One scene in particular is the chase though the Turkish market place. Absolutely stunning.
This film is by far one of the best in my collection. I recommend this to anyone who,like myself, enjoys adrenline pumped action adventure anime. Well deserves five stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2003
Spriggan is typical of some anime which show up rather obviously that the production team tried a bit too hard. The storyline 'borrows' ideas left and right to form a plot that's essentially Akira crossed with Indiana Jones via Bond, and the characters are the usual spread of anime cliche fare. Also, the dub I originally saw was awful; I hope this isn't it. That said, it's well animated, largely unobjectionable fun and has some nice ideas and action sequences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2003
Spriggan is a film based on a japanese manga series. While many people may not have read tis manga series it does not detract from this film at all. The film focuses on the schoolboy Omane Yu. While appearing normal he is in actual fact a Spriggan, an agent for a secret organisation whose job it is to find and protect religious artifacts around the world.
Omane Yu is a mysterious boy who posesses incredible strength and agility and who has a shadowed past. At the films opening he is reeling from many strange events, not least of which is the death of one of his friends in an attempt to kill Omane. At the same time a couple of scientists discover the actual Noah's Ark and soon Omane will be drawn into a fight for the earth itself.
The anime itself is well drawn and animated with a musical score that really adds to the action in the film, and the action is where the film triumphs. The fights are intense and mix lots of gun combat with the close up combat of Omane.
The film is good and I wholehartedly reccomend it to any fan of anime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2003
Spriggan is basically your good guy bad guy anime, where the good guys are the super powered Spriggan fighting for 'Good' and the bad guys are your typical evil corporation types, this time they are known as ARCAM. This is pretty good anime, while the story isn't exactly original and is overly linear, the production values raise this to better than your average movie. The action is never missing for too long and features some nice work. I was surprised to find out that Katsuhiro Otomo supplied the screenplay, y'know the guy who did Akira! With the amount of action and the animation this is better than your standard fair but it lacks the breathtaking quality of Ghost In The Shell, the scope of Akira and the quality storytelling of the Patlabor series. Don't judge Spriggan harshly though, you can't expect everything to be Cowboy Bebop! A worthwhile movie, not the best, but a good effort.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2003
Spriggan is basically your good guy bad guy anime, where the good guys are the super powered Spriggan fighting for 'Good' and the bad guys are your typical evil corporation types, this time they are known as ARCAM. This is pretty good anime, while the story isn't exactly original and is overly linear, the production values raise this to better than your average movie. The action is never missing for too long and features some nice work. I was surprised to find out that Katsuhiro Otomo supplied the screenplay, y'know the guy who did Akira! With the amount of action and the animation this is better than your standard fair but it lacks the breathtaking quality of Ghost In The Shell, the scope of Akira and the quality storytelling of the Patlabor series. Don't judge Spriggan harshly though, you can't expect everything to be Cowboy Bebop! A worthwhile movie, not the best, but a good effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
There are some great characters and situations in this title, although it strays dangerously close to sevaral anime stereotypes at times. Examples include a 12 foot man with a mini gun where his arm used to be, and an akira-esque child complete with psycic powers. Strangely enough, when you've accepted that you're not going to be challenged by anything too new, the visuals become rather odd, and it tries to become sophisticated.
I saw Spriggan nearly a year ago and I still can't decide whether I like it or not- the key is to not take it as seriously as I did I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
I got a copy of this on the recommendation of a friend but our tastes must be way different in anime.
Its OK, there's good action and the animations good, but...

the main twist as to the ...origins shall we say of the main hero aren't the most original.

So, not bad, but not worth paying full whack for. There's a lot better out there even of the same age as this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
NIcely animated with a great soundtrack. Not a bad story either. Definately worth a watch. Theres loads of action and the story moves at a good pace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)