Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
Welcome To The Canteen
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Mostly an excellent live album, Traffic's music was well suited to a bit of extension and improvisation, as witness the amazing version here of 'Dear Mr Fantasy'. The only semi-clunker is 'Gimme some lovin' which has a nice little keyboard solo, but is powered by a truly gormless riff that won't let up for 9 minutes and makes me want to throttle someone by then. In this instance, the original single is vastly superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2011
Traffic is one of rock's greatest groups.
This live album features some of the group's
classic pieces, but the reason you should get it
is the 11mins live version of "Dear Mr. Fantasy".
This is one of Traffic's best pieces ever,
up there with "The Low Spark of High-Heeled Boys",
"Roll Right Stones", "Forty Thousand Headmen",
"Dream Gerrard", and "John Barleycorn".
The live version is far better than the much
shorter (5mins) studio version from the Mr. Fantasy
album. The other pieces are all excellent and
it's easy to tell that the band is having fun
doing a great gig.
The sound is not up to studio quality, but very good
for a live album from that period.
A must-have album for anyone who likes Traffic
and one that should be high on the chart for anyone
who likes so-called "progressive" rock.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2004
This was a contractually obligated album and a period of transition too, and it's also Traffic best moment live.
Soon "Welcome to the Canteen" would be followed by "The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys," showing most people that the band was not dead, although by "Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory" they have, arguably, reached creative exhaustion.
Anyway, the band is playing live here, and even at the expense of a poor recording -even after remastered-, Traffic sounds great. Back is, again, Dave Mason, Jim Gordon and Reebop Kwaku Baah provide a powerful percussion section, and there's always Stevie Winwood.
His voice, electric piano, and organ navigate the groove, and keep as much R&B and it exudes Rock.
If you've known Traffic from the times this was out for the first time, then you'll be transported. If you haven't heard them, it's as good a place to start as any.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2008
This album should've been longer - but how much perfection could a band put on one single (live) album? All the playing on this sounds just right, by any instrument (including Winwood's voice).

The only album that I rank above this in my (large and varied!) collection is Soon over Babaluma by Can - A wholly different animal (both the band and the album) So it's no shame to come 2nd to that masterpiece.

It's just a shame that this band has remained so obscure, if only they'd been as well-known as (name some greats here) Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, Cream (Non of which exist anymore, and not all members are still alive, with the exception of Cream - Some of whose members have health problems already) there'd be more material from them available, I reckon there must be enough video material in nexistence to make at least one DVD!
This album is better than any of Traffic's studio albums. There is no weak moment on it. Except when it stops, I want it to continue!

The musicians sound as if they're enjoying themselves There aren't any elaborate flights of fancy (in a way they are very disiplined, play for the music and not your own ego) just good musicianhip and good music (Gimme some lovin is arguably the greatest gig-closer)
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2001
Traffic remain under-rated in the history of rock. This album shows the fluency and emotion of their live act..like all the great bands an enhancement of their (impressive) studio work. Down the decades, 'you shouldn't have took more than you gave" remains deeply impressive, musically and emotionally.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2010
I have nothing to add other than that this is one of the worst remasters I've ever heard. It wasn't the best Traffic album in the first place, the nature of it's recording already dictated that was going to be the case. The sound of the original vynil is excellent, even the original 8bit digital transfer sounds good compared to this. What on earth were the remastering engineers thinking when they decided they'd done the job? Did they even review their work? An awful washy sound, trying too hard to seduce the ears, the engineers have absolutely ruined it. Such a shame. I would like to have given this at least four stars on the choice of materiel and the musicianship of the perfromers but due to the awful, awful remastering job this particular issue gets just the one star.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2012
I've always liked Traffic right from the Dave Mason 'Paper sun' Days through to 'When the Eagle flies'. This album is a live snapshot of the band taken at the end of the Dave Mason era. I love the album although it is very much of its time and there are various glitches in the technical recording but for me these do not detract from the atmosphere and delivery of some very fine songs.

There are only 6 songs four on side one and two on side 2. For me the highlights are 40,000 Headmen, Shouldn't have took more than you gave and Gimme some lovin'. In true Traffic style most renditions have the feel of musicians jamming together and enjoying every moment.

The later 'On the Road' live album, although very much featuring extended and improvised versions is quire different in feel.

I would recommend this to die hard Traffic fans btu then they've probably already got it anyway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2011
Why "remaster" the original album release......?? Go get the master tape and give us the WHOLE gig !!!
UNEDITED !!!
What we have got is sublime.......absolutely brilliant ! Imagine what the whole gig was like ! Apparently it was taken from two gigs.....
SO LETS HAVE BOTH OF THEM !!!
UNEDITED !!!

I REST MY CASE.

1 star off for screwing up the opportunity !
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)