Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2002
What can I say.. Carl Cox is a very highly regarded Dj, I hadn't heard much from him though and this eagerly anticipated album seemed like a good place to start - ok, this is a mixture of house and techno but what makes him the part is the way he spins NO ordinary tracks.. in every track there's a different element of funk making it feel like an excellent QUALITY segment of music you've just heard.
Let me just say that I've never really admired the so called 'funky' side of dance music... to all of you like me, do yourselves a favour and buy this album because it'll teach you a few things about yourself that you didn't know.
Some will look @ the tracklisting and be instantly put off by Roger Sanchez or think that the track selection is dated due to tunes such as Smoke Machine... this is NOT the case - the album contains some of the freshest quality techno choons you're likely to hear this year...
Which leads me to my favourites: Dirty Bass and the James Holden tune are already massive floorfillers and will remain for awhile ... Mistress Barbara's contribution and Horny Hustle are played back-to-back and are probably the highlight of the album for me with some fab funky yet tough, addictive beats not to be missed ... then there's the mind-numbing Remaniputaled by Ben Simms which is so unexpected - delightfully pushing the boundaries of techno, leaving you breathless but somehow gagging for more!
One quick mention about the mixing - this guy is setting the highest standards right throughout the entire album (eg. CD2 - song 2 onto X-press 2).
What more CAN I say - buy this, you're gonna love it...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
Down the wobely path that the GU series has become to be they have finally been able to get the man in who should have done one a long time ago! Always consistent, always uplifting, always able to put a smile on my face, Carl Cox delivers the goods and takes the brand in the right direction. Not as good as let's say, the sounds of the ultimate base or 2nd session, but he def. puts GU back on track and brings the kick back in the series. Now, who is next?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
I've been after this CD (double CD version) since it's release in Feb this year and my copy arrived this morning (after managing to get it for £8.99 on HMV!). Have now listened to both CD's in full 3 times today. I think it's pretty fair to say that, although this is a perfectly decent release, offers nothing in way of stand-out tunes or exceptional mixing. The listening experience is good, but not one that captivates. Only buy if you're a fan of the series or have money burning a hole in your pocket! Carl Cox's best work will always be F A C T, the original 2 cd release that includes Cygnus X tune, absolute classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
Carl Cox delivers a beautiful compilation of cutting edge Techno for Global Underground. What an interesting location to choose for this mix; Black Rock Desert. The music has that sort of ravy and outdoor festival vibe which suits the fascinating location just fine.

The two CD mixes could be separated into light and dark. The first CD is light, upbeat and melodic while the second CD is of a darker mood but possibly the more exciting of the two. Techno can be a bit repetetive, but Carl manages to keep his compilation fresh and innovative throughout. It is a beautiful record that he has put together here. I would be tempted to give it 5 stars but Techno is really just too mechanical sounding for my taste. Even though Carl blends in softer tones it is still a Techno mix. But it is excellent stuff all the same.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
Carl Cox has been on the DJ circuit for many years and to be honest the album this album smacks of a man, bored and uninspired. Black Rock Desert lives up to its name: it goes on forever and it is all the same. I feel that i have been duped out of my hard earned cash by Mr Cox, who plainly doesn't care about his music. Like i say: one man and a drum machine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
I have followed dance music since it's early days and globul underground are a godsend! imagine life without them? I agree with other reviewers that recently they have been a little off the boil, but always interesting. Interesting is not what house music is about though, its about having a laugh, getting a grove going and being unrelenting once you have it. I've always respected coxy but never really been a fan of techno. He seems to have slowed it down a bit though here, more tech house than tech-no. The result is a funky, frosty, bassey at times scary couple of hours. When he hits track 6 (guy J) he splits you wide open and then he just does not let you go. Brilliant, epic set. Up there with Taipei, ibiza, toronto and san francisco. Coxy give us some more!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Whoever pulled the strings and got GU to dig deep in their pockets to get Mr Cox on board have pulled off a masterstroke and need to be put in charge of the label immediately! This mix takes GU directly back to the glory days of the sasha mixes it really is that good. The first couple of tracks are a little dull but the mix takes off from there and the second disc is sublime. Mr Cox has put something in this mix that has been lacking from the once great label for some time due to the much drawn out minimal sound and thats a mix of real substance and drive. Some of the tunes on these discs have a real energy about them that just can't fail to put a smile on ya face opposed to the all familiar YAWN that the majority of the mixes have been putting on your face of late. I just cannot believe this is coxy's first ever mix on the label hes a complete natural and understands just how GU work. All we need now is another mix from Mr Cox and another double live cd mix from the great man himself SASHA and the label will be sat right where it belongs at the very pinnacle of the underground sound! WELL DONE COXY!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
The excitement for GU had passed long before this release. Gone for me were also the days of exciting CC mix releases. Its still got some CC magic on here but nothing you have not heard before. Had its of potential, great location and pictures and CC is a techno legend, but for me it just dodnt take off and was not on the play list once id had a few spins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2003
Carl Cox unabashadely says he plays techno. While others may slip and slide into trendy progressive grooves, Cox evolves without categorization, expending explosive energy into every set, be it live or one of his immensely popular mix CDs. Global once again captures his incredible party vibe, moving from the tech-house vocal openers into harder and funkier grooves. Its an international voyage through Cox's favorite tunes, from Angel Moraes New York hard house flavor, to the French techno duo Oxia, to the West Coast drum beats from Lovesky. My one critic is that once past the opening few tracks, the CD pounds on with a relentless pace, it would have been nice to get a bit of variation... I do wonder if the orginal mix, which continues onto a second CD that is only being released in the UK/European version, doesn't do just that. Mid-mix there is one track that must be noted: the immpeccable "Dirty Bass" from Coxy himself. A powerful hypnotic hammering of metal against bass, edgy synths and soaring cymbals, punctuated with the deep vocal loop "dirty bass... push up the levels let the red lights match." A deft description of the dark bottom end of this track that is dying for a dark dance floor. If this is a taste of what's to come on Cox's artist album, watch for Cox at the top of everyone's Best of lists one more time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
Probably my favourite GU till now. Always liked Carl Cox, but the combination of GU with his otherwise rougher style made this an amazing cd. Not exactly what people are used to from GU, or Carl Cox for that matter, but I find the merge of the two styles becoming bigger than the sum of two parts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)