Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2017
The soundtrack to my formative years for sure. I remember picking up "Mind Bomb" on tape years ago, losing that copy, buying another one, then losing the ability to play tapes. I found myself humming "Dogs of Lust" recently and made a point of picking up all of the early The The albums on CD to remind myself how good they were.

Listening to this stuff from the early 90s, you're instantly wondering where the hell Matt Johnson is now, at a time where all the songs on "Mind Bomb" are still ridiculously relevant (in fact even more so) today than they were back then. Johnson was a fantastic, prolific and prophetic song writer and this was one of the finest albums of the 90s bar none.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Had this on 'tape' years ago. Recently re-discovered it... and bought on CD. Fantastic production... lyrically as relevant today, if not more so, than it ever was. Marr's guitar is fab as ever. Buy Buy Buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Oooooooh Matt he knew b4 ,scary stuff,love the the one of my all time fave artists is Mr johnson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2002
Mind Bomb, that's exactly what it is, this album is utterly overwhelming. It is hugely ambitious and basically carries it off, with Johnson mixing his big external themes of politics and religion (Good Morning Beautiful, Armageddon Days are Here, The Violence of Truth and The Beaten Generation) with personal pain and emotion (Kingdom of Rain, Beyond Love, Gravitate to Me, August and September).
With Marr and Palmer in the band, this was arguably the best line-up so far in The The's 10 year career to date. A wealth of instruments and cameos were used (clarinets, harmonicas and even Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom of Rain) to produce what is simply a vast album of stunning atmosphere, setting and mood, thereby creating a deeply personal relationship with the listener on repeated playings. Critics argue that it is overproduced and yes, the sound is tight and almost clinical, but the effects go beautifully with the instrumentation. From the fierce ballroom psychosis of Armageddon Days Are Here to the quiet guitar-strum duet of Kingdom of Rain and the mindblowing angry crescendo of August and September, Johnson's lyrics are thoughtful, original and always provocative. Here is a man with the soul and feel of Marvin Gaye but using the medium of the quintissential British cult band.
Probably one of the most original and important pop/rock works of the late 1980s. Buy it and never turn back.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2006
As an ardent follwer of both The Smiths and The The I originally bought this on it's release date and it has graced my CD player for nigh on seventeen years now. I felt compelled to buy the remastered version and am very happy that I did. Mind Bomb always was a strange beast - two very different musicians, with different tried and tested methods of producing songs, trying to complement each other but it works incredibly well. From the opening strains of the magnificent (faux Sweet tribute song) Good Morning Beautiful, the wonderful Armageddon Days Are Here (Again), the jaw dropping Violence Of Truth, the lovely duet with Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom Of Rain, the single The Beat(en) Generation, the excellent ballad August And September and then The Violence Of Truth with Matt screaming out the lyrics through to the final track, the dark yet strangely beautiful Beyond Love. A marvelous mixture of styles are present here and this is an album that will hopefully do what it says on the tin - enter your head and then blow you away. Buy It!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
I've had this in my collection for nigh on 18 years, and I've never tired of it. It conveys some serious messages, without being preachy, and cleverly couples this with sublime tunes, that bear repeated listening. I love the album prior to this, Infected, but have to be in the right mood for it, and that's the genius of this album, it's very accessible, with no compromise in Johnson's words. Like another reviewer, I am both a fan of The Smiths and The The, so this was like a wet dream, especially after Mozza's post Smiths output. Marr's guitar playing is the work of the genius he is, and this coupled Johnson's lyrics & songcraft, the playing of the other musicians and production, which fits the music perfectly, make this a must have. In summary, BUY THIS ALBUM, even you already own it(I own three copies), as the remaster is worthwhile update, in fact it sounds almost as good as the vinyl!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
The The have long been an undiscovered gem cherished by many and I must admit that despite being aware of Matt Johnsons long running project it was only Johnny Marrs appearance on this album that brought them to my attention. What's immediate is how relevant the lyrics are today almost 30 years after the original release something that is sadly rare in today's music scene. Looking forward to investigating more of The The's back catalogue,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
It's a sad indictment of the state of the world that this album is if anything more politically relevant today than when it was released 20 years ago. One of my favourite CDs, it's never away from the deck for long, and I'm still amazed at how good it sounds, musically and lyrically.

As well as raging against religious fundamentalism, superpower foreign policy and political misinformation, Matt Johnson also writes beautiful, aching, uncomfortable love songs which really get under the skin, literally, of human relationships.

'Mind Bomb' is the undoubted peak of The The's sporadic career; never again did Johnson and Co succeed in pulling off such a perfect fusion of artistic ambition and musicianship, fulfilling the promise of 'Infected'. The more accessible, but ultimately lightweight, 'Dusk' was to follow, succeeded by the interesting failures of 'Hanky Panky' and 'NakedSelf'.

Simply one of greatest albums of the last 30 years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2007
As an ardent follower of both The Smiths and The The I originally bought this on it's release date and it has graced my CD player for nigh on seventeen years now. I felt compelled to buy the remastered version and am very happy that I did. Mind Bomb always was a strange beast - two very different musicians, with different tried and tested methods of producing songs, trying to complement each other but it works incredibly well. From the opening strains of the magnificent (faux Sweet tribute song) Good Morning Beautiful, the wonderful Armageddon Days Are Here (Again), the jaw dropping Violence Of Truth, the lovely duet with Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom Of Rain, the single The Beat(en) Generation, the excellent ballad August And September and then The Violence Of Truth with Matt screaming out the lyrics through to the final track, the dark yet strangely beautiful Beyond Love. A marvelous mixture of styles are present here and this is an album that will hopefully do what it says on the tin - enter your head and then blow you away. Buy It!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)