Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
94
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2017
SISTER ACT

SISTER ACT
I bought this for a friend who hadn't seen it. She and her family really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
I love this film, it's hilariously funny & one of my all time favourites.
Quick delivery & great price :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
Hilarity in a nutshell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Obviously got this for my library to watch at my leisure. Whoopi's great and very good viewing. A good story line just fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whoopi Goldberg has always been one of my favourite actresses, she has an immense ability to play out both brilliant drama and hilarious comedy. 'Sister Act' is perhaps her most widely seen movie, I loved it as a child, and I still do.

After fleeing from her gangster boyfriend, struggling cabaret singer Deloris (Whoopi) hides in a convent. Under a witness protection programme, she quickly befriends several of the real nuns. On the other hand, she is an immediate source of irritation to the Mother Superior (Maggie Smith). It isn't long before Deloris shows what a remarkable woman she is, turning the choir around, to the extent that the Pope wishes to see it, and giving hope and inspiration to the ladies. The result is a laugh a minute, but heart warming movie.

With great performances, a classic soundtrack, and a cute but hilarious script, 'Sister Act' will never get old.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
On rainy days, I shut myself up and watch it by myself. The plot is tortuous. The actor's acting is in place. In those days, the movie was pretty good. This film is very nice. The ending was wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
This is my favourite film, and has been for years. I've seen it at least 200 times and can repeat all the lines and the songs throughout the film. I know, really sad! I can't help it though. It's such a feel good funny film with a great soundtrack. If you haven't seen it, you're missing out!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2008
LOVE Sister Act, a brilliant movie. Clever and funny and so good at chearing you up when you are down! You cannot watch this movie and not smile! Brilliant!

Vegas singer Delores (Whoopi Goldberg) walks in on her boyfriend shooting a man and subsequently must be placed in the witness protection programme. She is put in the last place anybody would ever look for her...a nunery! At first she hates it but eventually makles friends with some of the eccentric nuns and leads them in singing (with her jazzed up hymns).

A great movie, light-hearted and makes you feel good and as always Whoopi is great and funny! One of my favourite movies. Very highly reccomended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
Whoopie Goldberg is the only actress to actually make me seriously laugh and she does an amazing job in Sister Act. This movie is full of laughs, has an entertaining story, action and plenty of good music. You dont have to be a fan of these kind of films to love this movie. Most movies I'm into are horror films but I love Sister Act so that shows how good this movie is if it can win me over like that. Brilliant music, very fine acting and a delight to watch. This is one of the best family comedies I have seen and is a good example of how good and magical films are in the 90s.

I find it very hard to find one thing bad about this movie so I'll say it. Sister Act is a brilliant movie that is just as entertaining as it is funny. Buy it without hesitation. The sequel is good but isnt as good as the 1st so I recommed you watch the 1st one before the sequel. Dont pass on this classic comedy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Sister Act,"(1992), a big hit in its time for Disney's Touchstone Studio, is now more than 20 years old, and surely worth a closer look. Its plot -- script by Joseph Howard--is, of course, lighter than air, concerning one Deloris Van Cartier, second rate Reno lounge singer (Whoopi Goldberg, Ghost), who is unlucky enough to catch her married, mobbed-up boyfriend Vince La Rocca (Harvey Keitel, Bad Lieutenant ), committing an execution-style murder. If she wishes to live to testify against him, she's got to go on the run, and she does -- to a failing, out-of-touch San Francisco convent run by multi Oscar-winning Dame Maggie Smith, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,Downton Abbey - Series 1-3 / Christmas at Downton Abbey 2011 , as its Mother Superior. The first thing to say is the script's not only funny, it's also witty -- particularly in the battles of wits between Goldberg's character, rechristened Sister Mary Clarence for convent purposes, and Maggie Smith's Mother Superior. And the wit has held up. The second thing to say is the movie's celebrated Motown musical interludes have held up even better, and that's no accident.

To begin with, the movie was produced for Disney by New York-born Scott Rudin, who has a sure hand with a light film. You could easily think the lead part was written for Goldberg, as it fits her like a glove, but in fact, it wasn't. It was written for Bette Midler, then the studio's favorite musical/comedy star: the New York-born Goldberg just made it hers. Furthermore, Keitel is frequently accused of a lazy performance in this movie: but when the Brooklyn-born actor gets a chance to sink his teeth into a line like "bupkis--" that's Brooklynite/Yiddish for "nothing" to you, he delivers it with gusto. And the picture introduced the winning Kathy Najimi, as Sister Mary Patrick, to the audience.

But Disney's greatest luck, in regard to this film, has to be the trio of talented men, all born in the greater New York area, who made the musical interludes as infectious as they are. Its director, Emile Ardolino, born in 1943 in Maspeth, Queens, unfortunately passed from us, in 1993, in Bel Air, of AIDS. But it was well-known that he could do magic with musicals. He won an Oscar in 1984 for a documentary, HE MAKES ME FEEL LIKE DANCIN'. And he's further credited with direction of Dirty Dancing , and Gypsy , two multiple award-winning musicals that also haven't lost their appeal. To arrange the music, the studio kept the musical director of Bette Midler's stage shows, the New Jersey-born Marc Shaiman. We now know that he, too, is extraordinarily talented musically: he's recently written Hairspray , that's won Oscar, Grammy, Tony, and Emmy Awards. Finally, the musical scenes were choreographed by Lester Wilson, an experienced man with a Motown connection: among his other triumphs, he choreographed Saturday Night Fever. You just gotta say that these guys couldn't put a foot wrong, musically-speaking, and it shows -- will continue to show-- on the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)