Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
124
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2008
This was on TV last night, and I nearly didn't watch it, due to the mixed reviews it has received. In the end, I thought I might as well, and am actually quite glad I did. Yes, the reason why the time machine gets created is clichéd and really quite unnecessary, and the story does move away from Well's novel, but I didn't really mind, to be honest, as the idea of the old world order coming to an end, due to the moon's demise, is actually quite interesting. The acting is sound across the board, with Guy Pierce and Jeremy Iron's, in a cameo on this occasion, on good form. The real star of the show is, of course, the Time Machine itself, and it's well realized, capturing the spirit of the nineteen century, with all it's brass instruments, cog wheels, and pressure gauges. The time travel sequences are fine, and are done with CGI. Yes, we've seen similar stuff, not least, in a certain Guinness commercial, but it still works perfectly well, here.

For sure, it isn't the best sci-fi movie you'll ever see, but for my money, given the choice between this and Spielberg's War of the Worlds (as far as I'm concerned a film of that novel has yet to be made) I'd go for this, every time. It's entertaining - give it a go!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Although we had free postage this was here very quick, we enjoyed the film. Packaging was ok and price was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
This version might be a satisfactory entertainment, if you haven't read the book or seen the far superior 1960 version. All science fiction is really about the concerns of the its own time. Wells' book was concerned with extreme divisions of social class circa 1900, and the unintended consequences of man's ever-advancing scientific capability. The 1960 film was concerned with the then-possible threat of nuclear war, as well as subtly weaving in certain Christian themes. In this film the Eloi have far more agency, and are Thai-style hippy windmill builders who live in harmony with the earth. The acting is broadly acceptable, the special effects lack charm or magic, the music is stock potboiler fare that unfortunately also makes itself noticed. The Morlocks are no more convincing than the rubber-suited monsters of the 1960 version. Everything feels dumbed down. This could have been a complex intelligent remake, taking the best both from the book and the 1960 film. It isn't that, sadly - it's just another forgettable U.S. cinema-filler.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
this was on tv film channel and really loved it and bought it on here. will what when repeats are on tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Good to get the kids thinking about time. Little kids need to be warned about the scary Morlocks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
not as good as the original... but worth a view .... ... ..... .. ..... ... ... .. ... ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Came on time was in good codition for second hand, plays well, satisfied customer.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
I wish I had a time machine to go back and tell myself not to watch this garbage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
Like so many others - (as the number of second hand copies at 40 pence indicated) - I was mortified when I watched this film for the first time. The original is one of my favorite films of all time - so this really was on a hiding to nothing. I put the DVD away and didnt watch it again for a long time. The second time I viewed it sometime much later, I was more open to fairly rate it as an okay film based loosely on HG wells novel. Don't forget the 1960 version isnt exactly the same as the novel. The special effects are better, more of a plot prior to his time travelling, samantha mumba looks good and there is more action. Bad points are cheesy acting from many of the supporting cast and the pitiful extra role for alan young (the original philby). Both versions of the film rapidly progress to the distant future and miss the opportunity to address senarios in the near future - How I wish for a pre/sequel. The 1960 DVD version contains an extra scene which involves the inventor and philby on his second return, this 2002 version abruptly ends fullstop. If you haven't seen the original nor read the book, well worth 40 pence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
an excellent adaptation of the already brilliant original movie,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse