Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2005
This is probably the most exciting,raucous,loud,headbanging,soulripping piece of plastic(?) you will ever lay hands on.Genuinely....there is nothing like this around and unfortunately there may never be again..these guys were a one off.This album is one of the best live offerings around..I know 'cos I was there (at the Hammersmith recordings)and I left with more than my hearing shot....!!!iF YOU LIKE IT LOUD....BUY !!! and don't forget to TURN IT UP !!!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
With the passing of time and the mellowing of age it,s amazing how quick life can soon pass you by. Having recently decided to update my records to cd,s i looked around for the availability of some of the bands i had seen live in my youth ( late 1970,s / early 1980,s) and for about five years Blackfoot, after seeing them live at Donnington 81 where they blew the place apart, were "THE BAND". This cd was the first i had to have because Blackfoot also happen to be the best live show that i have seen still to this day. Highway song live shows how amazingly powerful the band were with there live performances. The four musicans stood out in their own right. Jackson Spires(RIP) is probably the best live drummer i have ever witnessed. Greg Walker,s bass hits you like a Tyson hook. Dual guitars courtesy of Charlie Hargrett and Ricky Medlocke, SUPERB. Topped off with Ricks vocals, i still say to this day if he did not have a mic you would still have heard him at the back at Donnington in 1981. On the cd you get a sort of pick of the best of songs from the Marauder, Tomcatting and Strikes records with all songs being standout songs for differant reasons. Why the record company had to destroy the soul of this band is beyond me. Buy this cd, lie back, close your eyes and listen to the best live band ever , or if you don,t agree it will surely be in your top five.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
Easy to see why this album is in the top 10 live albums in "Classic Rock". Simply stunning-out and out southern rock at it's best. Even more amazing, is the fact that it was recorded on a UK tour. Turn the hi-fi up to 11 for this one!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2003
Having recently purchased Highway Song Live it takes me back to when I saw Blackfoot at Donnington and on the tour that this album was recorded. If you close your eyes while listening to this album you can almost be back there. This captures Blackfoot at their very best. Right from the start with the intro to Gimme, Gimme, Gimme to the final track of Howay The Lads you cannot help but be carried away by the euphoria of a great band at the height of their career. After this album it was never quite the same so purchase this album to capture a great moment in rock history.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
I saw Blackfoot live at Reading Festival in 1982 - and they absolutely melted the place. At the time of the release of Highway Song Live, Blackfoot had Britain at its mercy. Had they stuck with a similar southern style approach they'd have caned the place - and thus established themselves more solidly on the rock'n'roll map. Unfortunately, under pressure from an MTV-obsessed record company, they went in search of a different sound and lost their opportunity.

Thankfully we have Highway Song Live which goes some way to capturing the thrill of Blackfoot live at their peek. It is definitely up there with the best live rock albums of them all. Why? Because you can really feel the way the band feed off the audience. You want to rip your way through the record and be there yourself.

Ricky Medlocke is a fantastic front man, a natural communicator. I love him alluding to his granddaddy Shorty. It adds to the bluesy idea that music is a river that flows through the generations, albeit reappearing in different styles.

Ricky's definitely one of my big rock idols. Great to see him in Skynyrd, but being greedy I still miss classic Blackfoot. If they announced a tour I'd want to quit work and just follow them around. You can't underestimate the pulling power of quality rock'n'roll.

All the tracks smoulder and burn. Favourites include Road Fever, Train Train, Good Morning - well all of it!

I love live rock albums and this one is a must for your collection. Howay the lads!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2004
This is still the only Blackfoot album I have ever owned or heard. One listen to this was enough ... it delivers everything you will ever need from this group in one awesome adrenalin surge. It is one of those rare albums that you can actually feel lifting your spirits. Its not subtle, its not technically inspiring ... its good ol' rock'n'roll played in the way they like to play in the Deep South. Would have loved the final short excerpt of the band and Geordie crowd singing Howay The Lads to have gone on a little longer. Its ZZ Top meets Motorhead. Drink beer and play it loud .... you will become a fan.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
brought vinyl version of album when it came out, but due to being a lazy so and so i stopped playing records due to the advent of the compact disc, so it"s just collecting dust not being played at all. Anyhow back to the album, right from the start "gimme gimme gimme" it doesn"t go wrong. Ricky medlockes interaction with the audience (newcastle, i think, if the brilliant "howay the lads" ending, is anything to go by)is powerful but respectful, backed up by charlie "daddy long legs" hargrett on guitar and the rhythm section of greg t walker on bass and the late jakson "thunderfoot" spires on drums.
All the tracks especially "dry county","highway song","good morning","train train","gimme gimme gimme",the brilliantly improvised "howay the lads", why this album doesnt get the recognition it deserves is a mystery. Yes it belongs to be up there with all the great live rock albums, to anybody who likes classic rock with a southern boogie feel to it, buy it, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2004
I first picked this up blindly at a car boot sale on vinyl and as chuffed when I saw it was available on CD. This is high octane southern rock at it's best and contra to other reviews Blackfoot hold themselves back admirably, perhaps with the exception of 'Good Morning' which was fast on the original album anyway. Rick Medlocke and the boys whip the crowds into a frenzy with an awsome redition of 'Highway Song,' to close a show I gladly would've sold my Grandmother to have seen. An essential component of any rocker's CD rack.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
This is THE definitive Blackfoot album. From the opening track, gimme gimme gimme, to the closing rendition of 'Howay the lads' this album never lets up. Uplifting, fun, raucous. There is something for everyone here. If you like your rock 'n roll with a bit of a southern twist and a bit of boogie bubble then this is definetley for you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
Probably the best slice of live 'Southern Rock' you can buy.....Slide guitar a plenty on all the tracks from the opening gimmie,gimmie,gimmie right through to the end..Including the classic song 'Highway Song'.Turn it up & enjoy!!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)