Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21


on 28 November 2016
Keep buzzing great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2016
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2002
True! This is a fantastic album and it has been keeping a number of other good albums that I've purchased recently out of the CD player. No trophy is awash with funky reggae and the tune follows me around most of the day, I love it.
The diversity of music is excellent and is the perfect record to stick on when you need a bit of chillin time.
Like to think it has a chance of winning the Mercury, but maybe there are too many more commercially acceptable albums in the shortlist (Doves, Streets..).
I would recommend any music lover to make this purchase, you really won't regret!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2015
Great summer album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2002
I read some reviews about the bees before buying this album, and all the reviewers were making a point about it sounding like funk mixed up with reggae and motown, now I don't really know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn't this! Maybe it's the spring weather, but this record seems like pure sunshine distilled onto half inch tape, beach boys harmonies, vocoders, dub basslines and even what sounds like a load of pots and pans on one song make this record a shambolic anarchic mess of a beach party where everyone sings along even if they don't know the words. They kinda sound like the avalanches would if they played real instruments, or the beta band on happy pills. The bees sound like they were having loads of fun recording the album and it can't help but make you smile when you listen to it!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2014
I recently picked this up in a charity shop for 50p and was intrigued to hear what it sounded like, especially as I was keen to hear it on its release but then forgot about it over time.

It's a very good eclectic mix of songs/moods that work fairly well together. Most bands could not pull this off and The Bees do. The mood is generally quite downtempo and actually quite sombre, punctuated by a couple of more upbeat numbers, including that famous car advert and a reggae track, No Trophy. I thought this worth mentioning as in the opinion of some reviewers it is a summery album. Well, everyone has their own subjective view of this but to me the flavour of the album as a whole is autumnal/wintery with an introspective bias and hence the title, "Sunshine Hit Me", as it would in this more overcast and leaden season.

I recommend this album to listeners and though discovered belatedly, will be interested to explore their catalogue further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2002
As I perused the record racks of my local record shop (ok, Imperial on Park Street Bristol!), this amazing record was wafting through the speakers - laidback shuffling dub influences, traces of funk, a bit of afrobeat-esque horn, falsetto vocals - weird yet poignant lyrics, a track that sounds like the Pixies busking(!?)- its all here. Needless to say I purchased it on the spot and even got away with dropping a couple of tracks down the pub later that evening! Basically if you like the Beta Band, Earl Zinger or even Turin Brakes(?!) then you should dig this - especially if you like funk and reggae too. Just buy it, its ACE.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2006
I can't even begin to describe how amazing this album is in words, but i'll try my best :)
The emotion and dedication put into this record is what makes it so great, the music sounds real, honest. The songwriting is top quality too, can never predict where the songs heading. Another thing I like about this album is how varied the instrumentation is; on practically every song there is organs and keys galore, filling up the sound, lovely use of percussion (cowbells, shakers, even pots and pans make an appearance). Considering this is two blokes in a shed, its an outstanding achievement.
The album contains fantastic melodies that follow you around for days and features interesting jazzy harmonies and varied rhythms. The actual music is quite complex for something that sounds so simple. Theres a lot more going on in the background than you might think. As for the actual songs, theres an interesting blend of styles -Reggae, funk, jazz, Dub, folk, pop, rock etc. Anything that's influenced them in anyway fuses together on this record. None of the tracks are bad at all, or even 'filler'. They're all gems, although some are better than others.
I'd recommend Punchbag, Angryman, No trophy, Sunshine, This Town and Sky Holds The Sun. But really, purchase this album, you wont be dissapointed. Its a great experience listening to the whole thing through, and you wont get the same vibe downloading a few tracks.
Another reason I love this album is because i'm pretty sure it's all recorded on analog equipment, which would explain its mellow, warm sound. I own it on vinyl too, which sounds great.
In the overly-commercialised music scene nowerdays, this really does shine above the rest of the pack. The bees may not be as popular as Franz Ferdinand or kaiser chiefs, but take my word and the other people's reviews on here and buy this album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2002
I first got into the Bees after seeing an advert for their EP in NME magazine. I thought 'yeah I'll give this random band a try'. I have now got 3 of their cds and I've seen them live in Leicester. This album is a blissful journey into a virtual Spanish community. At the risk of cliché this is a beautifully chilled album with character, and the title sums it up. Sunshine Hit Me begins strongly with happy tunes and then drifts into reflective music that is best suited for late night listening.
Sunshine Hit Me is comparable to a bottle of chilled white wine on a July evening. My favourite track is No Trophy, which is a childlike appreciation of life's inevitability featuring a vocal resembling Paul McCartney 25 years ago.
Enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2004
a shot of star-dust, this album is a cleverly thought out sound - pop in the pure beatles/beach-boys sense of the word, in that it is rammed with melodies that are catchy but never irksome, bright without being frivolous and engaging but not overplayed - a model of economy and style, the album blends drowsy melancholy 'want to hold you like the sky holds the sun' and bounce-jazz - which virtually leaps out of the stereo. These are some of the best melodies i have heard in a long time, and there are many tiny touches that show a band who aren't messing about (check out the very start of of track 2 - an ingenious start to a tune). I have been listening to this album while trying to write a dissertation - a bad idea, sine i keep getting up every second to hop dance euphorically around my room. Music may be in a global mainstream crisis, but the bees are alright
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)