Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
If you like the 60's sound, you'll like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Very pleased with it thanks Paul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
very good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Memories of great times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
good copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
One of the earliest "British Invasion" bands to achieve massive success in America

The most authentic of the UK's first wave of R&B bands.

Helped kickstart the folk-rock boom with their cover of "House Of The Rising Sun"

Lead singer Eric Burdon is considered one of rock's all-time great voices.

Backed numerous American blues giants in the UK.

Amongst the most commercially successful Sixties bands to make the switch to psychedelic music.

Chas Chandler would go on to even greater fame as the man who discovered and managed Jimi Hendrix.

The Animals had 13 more Top-40 hits in the US, becoming one of the most successful British Invasion bands in The States. They split up in 1968 over various music and business issues. Burdon told us: "I don't think that The Animals got a chance to evolve.

We were the first to admit that we took Blues songs from American artists, but if the Animals had stuck together and worked together instead of worrying about who was getting all the money, we could have evolved more and come out with more music to be proud of."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Eric Burdon and his band The Animals were formed in Newcastle upon Tyne and moved to London in 1964, when they had a mega-hit with their cover of the traditional folk song 'The House of the Rising Sun'. This chart-topper remains one of the most widely-known songs from the 1960s, and their version has re-charted twice since, firstly in 1972 at no.25, and later in 1982, when it got to no.11.

Eric Burdon's sublime vocals and the first-class arrangements gave this guys a real raw R&B sound, and a certain edge over some of the other acts who were making great music in this wonderful decade for music. Many of these vintage numbers were produced by proven hit maker Mickie Most, who worked with a string of 1960s pop icons, including Herman's Hermits, Donovan, and Lulu.

Although the band never achieved another number one hit in Britain, after 'House of the Rising Sun', they still chalked up a string of top ten entries throughout the Sixties, including excellent songs like 'Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood', 'It's My Life', 'Don't Bring Me Down', and 'We Gotta Get out of This Place'. The latter of which sored to number two, giving The Animals their second biggest hit in homeland.

This 2002 compilation from Parlophone records, contains all of these tracks, and a lot more, including the band's first-ever single 'Baby Let Me Take You Home', which was released just before 'House of the Rising Sun', and just missed the UK top 20 by one. There are some notable absences, especially the big hits 'Don't Bring Me Down' and 'San Franciscan Nights', but every other top ten hit is here.

'The Most of the Animals' isn't the strongest compilation, but it's still a good introduction to this 1960s super-group. If you like similar rock artists from this exciting era like The Yardbirds and The Troggs, your music collection is incomplete without The Animals. The basic booklet contains no liner notes or pictures, just the basic information about each track.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Most of the Animals

A brilliant 1960s R&B band, the Animals were from Newcastle-upon-Tyne and featured the vocals of Eric Burdon and the keyboard playing of Alan Price. They were always more popular than perhaps their record sales would suggest. When Alan Price left (to form the ‘Alan Price Set’), the band was renamed ‘Eric Burdon and the New Animals’.

Their most well-known track is ‘House of the Rising Sun’ but I always liked ‘Bring it on Home to Me’ and the Ray Charles classic ‘Hallelujah I Love Her So’. Brilliant stuff! The listing indicated that this single CD compilation was released in 1992 and remastered in 2003. However, the track list is identical to the vinyl version (still in my collection) of 1971. An even earlier version has slightly fewer tracks.

This compilation is full of nostalgia for me and has a deserved place in my music library. The goods news is that Amazon ‘Unlimited’ members can stream and listen to the entire album for free (check for the correct listing on Amazon).

Tracks:
• "The House of the Rising Sun" (Traditional, arr. Alan Price) – 4:32
• "We Gotta Get out of This Place" (Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil) – 3:15
• "Road Runner" (Bo Diddley) – 2:51
• "Let the Good Times Roll" (Leonard Lee) – 1:56
• "Hallelujah I Love Her So" (Ray Charles) – 2:48
• "I'm Going to Change the World" (Eric Burdon) – 3:37
• "Bring It On Home to Me" (Sam Cooke) – 2:45
• "Worried Life Blues" (M. Merriweather, Wabash) – 4:13
• "Baby Let Me Take You Home" (Bob Russell, Wes Farrell) – 2:22
• "For Miss Caulker" (Eric Burdon) – 3:59
• "I Believe to My Soul" (Ray Charles, Learner) – 3:25
• "How You've Changed" (Chuck Berry) – 3:15
• "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" (Bennie Benjamin, Sol Marcus, Gloria Caldwell) – 2:30
• "It's My Life" (Roger Atkins, Carl D'Errico) – 3:09
• "Club-A-Gogo" (Eric Burdon, Alan Price) – 2:22
• "I'm Crying" (Alan Price, Eric Burdon) – 2:48
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
My daughter bought this for her step dad as he had said he had no Animals stuff on CD anymore. He was really happy with this and I thought the price was very good too. Just right for a stocking filler. It had all the tracks you would expect on it and step dad spent a few blissful hours listening to it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)