Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 11 December 2001
Wonderful. This recording gets so much closer to the spirit of JRR Tolkien's work than any other piece of music, without attempting to be too "illustrative". It is a highly personal interpretation, and one feel's that Bo Hansson is in tune with the mood of his Nordic roots and nature, whilst fusing with the jazz genre of the 1970s. Hansson's greatest work could only have been written in that most experimental of decades.
Light a single candle. Turn on "Lord of the Rings" in a nearly dark room. And enjoy.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I first got a copy of this on 8 track and when the player failed search for a CD for ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
The condition is great. Just a shame the music is nothing as good as the new Lord Of The Rings trilogy music! I thought the music on this vinyl was very repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2002
I owned this in 1978 on vinyl and am so pleased to find it still available I can not wait to revisit my early youth and introduce it to my friends and family. Iused to play it all the time and found that it really helped to visualise the book and I also felt that the film has enhanced my enjoyment of the original music. I recommend it to all of us who are forty-something as you will all remember the 70`s with this. I am delighted to see it still has the original cover as well-just sit back,close your eyes and enjoy!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Anyone who thought that progressive rock meant long, boring 15 minute Hammond organ solos might be pleasantly surprised with Lord of the Rings. The tracks on this all instrumental prog album are mostly between 2 - 5 minutes in length and are more mood pieces than what you would call songs. Some guitars, flutes and various percussion are present throughout, but it is the keyboards that feature predominantly, that do most of the work. The first 3 pieces of music are among the best on the record, and laid back and hypnotic. All seems quiet, but Flight of the Ford should wake you up if you haven't started to nod off already!
Lothiorien I really liked too. This track moves along nice and slowly like a bird of prey in flight as it scours the skies; while Shadowfax, at around 50 seconds must be one of the shortest cuts to make it onto a prog album. The penultimate track (last one on the original vinyl LP) on the other hand, is 5 minutes of quiet keyboards and slide guitar, eventually coming to an end with the sound of crashing waves.
Lord of the Rings makes an ideal chill-out album and is one of those records to put on when you've had a s--t day; want to switch off and forget about the real world for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2003
I have had the original tape since the 70's and think it is the best representation of tolkein's book I have ever heard. The music is so atmospheric and sends shivers down your back (if you listen in the dark). You can almost feel the book's every page. Wonderful. I have now ordered the CD to replace a very worn tape.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2005
It looks as though most of the reviewers who really like this album a lot, have had it or been familiar with it for a long time. Me too. Had it on eight-track about 1973 or 1974 as far as I remember. I love it. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings is the best story ever written and that's not open to debate as far as I'm concerned - and this music has the magical quality of being able to transport me to Middle Earth. But then I was a kid in the late hippy era and minds were often modified to accommodate and appreciate this sort of music back in the good ol' days - much as minds have been modified to appreciate that tuneless din they call 'acid house' in more recent years. So it's not as straight forward as just saying: "This album is amazing! Your life won't be complete without it! Go out and buy it right now, or die unhappy and incomplete!!" The plain truth is, you might like it or you might not. If you like Pink Floyd or Emerson, Lake and Palmer or Yes, then you might like this. If you're a die-hard Lord of the Rings fan (the book rather than the Peter Jackson films) - the sort who can close your eyes and let your mind take a trip where it will, you might like this.
If this isn't your cup of tea, then there's another Lord of the Rings album you might try that is nothing at all like this, but it's brilliant. If you're looking for an album of Tolkien's verse, brought to life by music, I recommend you try The Tolkien Ensemble's "At Dawn in Rivendell". They managed to get Christopher Lee to join them. He can sing! They can all sing. It's another one of my favourites.
In any case, Bo Hansson's Lord of the Rings is worth the full 5 *'s in this reviewer's opinion.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 1999
Prog Rock is an overblown genre, often reviled, often dismissed as science fiction noodlings. But from this genre came Bo Hansson, one of the great Swedish musicians. He had played with many important musicians including Hendrix. Although his first albums built on jazz and rock roots, Lord of the Rings came out of nowhere and blew away any criticism. It's less of an album and more of a mood, filling your head with images of empty plains and far-off places, and the only break being the harshness of Flight to the Ford half way in. Otherwise, it is everything that progressive rock set out to be - an album of sounds that transcend mere music to become something much, much greater.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2000
Listen to this, had it on vinyl in very early 80's. It brings the book alive in music. Vinyl has may more sections shown.
Side 1 Leaving Shire The Old Forest Tom Bombadil Fog on the Barrow-Downs The Black Riders Flight to the Ford At the House of Elrond The Ring Goes South
Side 2 A Journey in the Dark Lothlorien Shadowfax The Horns of Rohan The Battle of the Pelenor Fields Dreams in the House of Healing Homeward Bound The Scouring of the Shire The Gray Havens.
You should have all the books, get the BBC Hobbit & Lord of the rings.....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
Absolutely brilliant - I love Bo Hanson and was devasted when I lost my original cassette tape of it some time ago. Tried for ages to replace it and have only recently managed to do so. For anyone who likes instrumental music and haunting sounds, this is the album for you. If you are teaching children, it is particularly good for creating mood to get reluctant writers started.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Lord of the Rings
£14.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)