Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2014
Nothing needs to be said of the film, but what of the brand new transfer, and how can we compare it with the first Blu Ray release?

Simply put, it is better than the previous release, the speckles and other niggles that plagued the first release are fixed.
Colour wise, there is a teal push, very much like the Terminator and Halloween remaster, and that gives the image a cooler, accurate and more natural look. Grain is intact but less noise than before, and to my eyes it is sharper too.

Overall i am very happy with this release in terms of picture quality.

Audio quality wise i do not think it offers any improvement over previous release.

Special features:

Master Audio dts 5.1

Audio Commentary by DIRECTOR 'John Avildsen, PRODUCERS Irwin Winkler and Robert Chartoff. ACTORS Talia Shire, Carl Weathers, Burt Young. And steadicam Inventor Garrett Brown

Audio commentary by Sylvester Stallone

Audio Commentary by Boxing Legends, trainer Lou Duva and commentator Bert Sugar.

8mm Home movies of Rocky, narrated by director John Avildsen and production manager Lloyd Kaufman

Three Rounds with legendary trainer Lou Duva

Interview with a legend - Bert Sugar:Author/Commentator and historian

''The opponents''

In the ring: Three-part making of documentary

Steadicam: Then and Now with Garrett Brown
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
It's seems pointless to review this masterpiece because anyone and everyone I know loves Rocky, and if you don't then you clearly have serious mental health issues. Part of the reason I love reviewing old movies like this is because I love them so much. Much like the Star Wars sage (not the prequels!. I would rather eat dog s**t on toast), the Dirty Harry collection and the Terminator films, I just can't live without Rocky, including Rocky V which is unfairly judged in my opinion. The thing about the fifth film was a bit ahead of it's time because if you look at Rocky Balboa and Creed, it's shows what Rocky V was trying to do back then. If you are unsure about that film then revisit again.

The first Rocky film is and remains a masterpiece to this day and has a very sentimental and fond place in my heart. Every time I watch it I find myself getting all chocked up with emotion and cheering at my TV with excitement. I just love it and look forward every year when the time arrives to start the Rocky saga from scratch. Ive just started it all again this week and as I do with some films, find myself totally drawn into it like it's the first time over again and finding something new. I love the fact that the original Rocky is very basic and all the better for it. It's a love story with the boxing sitting in background with both parts of the story crossing over seamlessly.

Sylvester Stallone was made for the part of Rocky Balboa and wrote and played the film perfectly. It's amazing how he went from a real dramatic actor and film maker to the action giant he became. I think the negative vibe merchants who do slag off Sly forget about just how much of a great actor/director/writer Sly actually is. Just look at the more recent dramatic roles he has done such as Rocky Balboa and Creed which are both up there and as good as the original Rocky film. You simply can't go wrong with Stallone because of the diverse films he had made from First Blood, Demolition Man, Cop Land and The Expendables.

Before I sign out I'll put the Rocky films in the order I think are the best:

1.Rocky *****
2. Rocky Balboa *****
3. Creed *****
4. Rocky 3 ****
5. Rocky 2 ****
6. Rocky 4 ****
7. Rocky V ***

Oh, and if you are as much of a fan as I am then get the Rocky and Creed limited edition Bluray steel books. I have those and the original DVD box set (1-5) and have just ordered the Bluray set (1-6).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2004
You need to be absolutely heartless not to enjoy Rocky. Even the story of how the film came about is so warming, and in Rocky tradition, was a bit of a 'one in a million' shot. Now priced ridiculously cheap, any film fan out there should take the opportunity and own this feature packed DVD Special Edition.
The story revolves around Rocky Balboa (Sylvester Stallone), a down-on-luck amateur boxer and part time loan shark. He stays in a run down apartment, has virtually no money and his lovelife is luckless. All this however is about to change.
When World Heavyweight Champion Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) decides to up his publicity, he offers an unknown 'a shot at the title', with the assumption that America is the land of opportunity. As fate has it, he picks Rocky, a boxer who has virtually no chance of winning.
The story then focuses upon Rocky's preparations to the big fight, with confrontations with his manager Mick (a magnificent Burgess Merideth) and Paulie (Burt Young), the brother to his new girlfriend Adrian (Talia Shire).
I have encountered some finales through the years watching films, but this needs to be my favourite. Everything comes together - Bill Conti's breathtaking soundtrack, the realistic fight scene, and of coarse, above anything else, Rocky's heart to go the distance. It really has to be seen.
Whats the DVD like I hear you screaming. The picture is crisp, and doesn't even compare with the VHS release (which I felt was terrible). I adore the soundtrack in Rocky, and it has never sounded better than it does here. You'll be humming your way through the training montages!
As for the Special Features, you have an in depth interview with Stallone, which is both humourous and interesting. There's a tribute to the late Burgess Meredith, which in my opinion proves how good an actor that man was. There's trailers for all the Rocky pictures and a famous hidden easter egg worth checking out.
This is simply a DVD which goes into the 'Must Have' category. It proved at the Oscars of 1976 how good it was, coming away with The Best Picture (ahead of the likes of Taxi Driver). Although John Avilsen directed, Rocky in my opinion belongs richly to Stallone. Not many actors could portray Rocky like Stallone did and he pushed the production with his own will. Please do yourself a favour, spend some of your hard earned cash, get this DVD, and cheer on Rocky like never before.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2002
This film was Sylvester Stallones breakthrough and he knew it before he'd finished writing the script. Most people know the story of Rocky so I'll not go into the details too much (except to point out the deliberate mistake in another customers review- he actually loses in the end). But the DVD has some really great extras which are worth mentioning.
Sylvester Stallone does something on this DVD which is very brave and very uncommon for a 'hollywood star', nevermind directors/ producers etc. He sets up a camera in front of himself in a quiet dull room and simply talks to it like it was someone grilling him about the film. But he doesn't just talk- he relives the processes he went through to take the film from an idea in the back of his head, right up until walking down to the lobby after the films premier. Its seldom if ever you will have such a full account of the creative processes of a film as old as this. Stallone lived and breathed this story and here, its written all over his face.
Theres also some footage they shot for the boxing in the final fight which is little more than a curiosity really, the commentary is good and the 'hidden extra' is Stallone meeting 'Rocky' after all this time for a quick stroll down memory lane ('Why'd you make me eat all those eggs?')

All round a great film and excellent DVD.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As the film that launched Sylvester Stallone in an unsuspecting world, this has a lot to answer for! Stallone wrote and starred in this stirring and ultimately feel good film about one man's fight for redemption, dignity and self respect.

Rocky Balboa is a bum. A boxer of real talent, he has squandered it and ended up a regular loser at fights, and making a living as a heavy for a local loan shark. Out of the blue he is offered a shot, just one chance, at the world heavyweight crown and with the support of his girlfriend Adrian he sets out to prove to the world that he isn't the loser that everyone thinks.

With nice little character studies, especially from Burt Young as Adrian's brother, looking to make a few bucks from Rocky's new found fame and Burgess Meredith as Rocky's cynical trainer, this is a great film that really portrays just where one man's pride and desire to prove himself can push him. The scenes of Rocky training and eventually finding fitness are classic and stirring, as is the climactic big fight, where Rocky doesn't realise that it is a show fight where he is expected to roll over and give the champ an easy win, and he manages to make a fight of it and pushes the champ all the way. Well written, well acted and well directed, this shows just why Stallone became a star, and what a good actor he can be when he tries. A modern classic, 5 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Firstly I must confess that I'm a huge Rocky fan and have watched the films many many times, Rocky, along with Rocky 3 being my favourites. You must have been living in the deepest darkest sewers of Philadelphia if you haven't ever seen this movie, and there's not many people I know that don't love these movies. However, the transfer on this one is punching well below the belt, ok the movie is old and the restoration issues seem to be caused from the source material, but there's much older films with far superior transfers than this.

The colours in the movie don't pop or shine and a fine grain is present throughout the movie, presenting a grimy feel to the full film. I don't mind some picture grain as it adds to the overall 'feel' of a movie, and life itself isn't 'sanitised and sparkly', but for a film of this importance, I think it deserves a lot more effort. I appreciate that the 70's scenes in Philly are probably replicated in a true to life fashion, but still the picture quality disappoints, if your expecting to see The Italian Stallone in crystal clear glory, with fine details present, then you may be dealt a sucker punch with this one.

Likewise the audio quality is merely average, implying to me that maybe Fox Studios expected the blu ray version to sell on its name alone.

If I was judging the movie it would get a Knockout 5 stars without a doubt, but I'm rating this on the blu ray version alone.

Additionally, I'm led to believe that the remainder of the franchise improves, and the transfer quality is given more due care and attention then the first average effort, so it may be worth looking for a bargain on the boxset.

Yo Adrian! We didn't do it!
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2006
Rocky is a film that was a shock success when released in 1976,stallone wrote the script after being inspired by a fight that he watched between muhammad ali and a club fighter,the film was shot on a shoestring with unknown actors more or less but went on to win the academy award for best picture and stallone recieved an award for best performance.

Rocky is essentially a rags to riches story and a true underdog story that carries the moral of never give up on your dreams,but there is alot more scope to the movie than that.Stallone plays rocky balboa who is a club fighter and money collector for a loan shark in philadelphia.He is considered a bum in the area but is still regarded as a likeable character,his trainer also thinks that he is a has been so life isnt perfect for rocky.

Along the way the world champion apollo creed has ran out of oppenents to fight,his fans are saying he is a fraud and his critics are having a field day against him,he needs something to bring his credibility back so he decides to fight an unknown boxer to bring the idea of an once in lifetime opportunity to one lucky boxer.

Events as a result change for rocky and along the way he finds a renewed hunger and his training is inspiring and the soundtrack rocks along and adds to the brilliance of it all,you cant help but cheer rocky balboa on as he is the underdog and we can all identify with his struggle to gain some sort of pride in himself/

The film is moving,exhilarating and the fight scenes are choreographed brilliantly and while some of the punches may seem like they could kill ,rocky just brings mans desire to become better brilliantly to the story.World class cinema that leaves you wanting more.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I've got both the DVD boxset and the Blu Ray of just Rocky 1. The DVD version is clearer and more pleasing to the eye. The Blu Ray is just the DVD version with sharpness turned to max. It is very grainy, and just draws your attention to it rather than keeping your attention to the movie playing out in front of you. Not worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2005
Okay, Rocky doesn't have the dark savagery of Raging Bull. That's not a bad thing though! Instead, Sylvester Stallone has crafted one of the most loved characters in film history. Punch Drunk Rocky Balboa is the is the Philadelphia slugger with a heart of gold.
Plucked from obscurity and given his one in a million shot; a title bout with the champ, Apollo Creed.
Rocky really is in the 'land of oppurtunity'.
I think the film also signifies why we all keep doing the lottery!
Rocky will give you a tear in your eye. A lump in your throat and sweaty palms during the finale! In my top 5 ever!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
Rocky, was the film that started off the career of Sylvester Stallone, and he could not have started off any better. It is definatly my favourite film of all time.
Rocky(Sylvester Stallone), is a down-and-out boxer who is given a chance to prove himself, when the Heavy Weight Champion, Apollo Creed(Carl Weathers), gives him a shot at the big time.
This first film suprisingly has hardly any fighting in it at all and focuses mainly on the emotions and development of the characters, which i think is more important, as we get to see plenty of punch-ups in the following four sequels. By the end of the film you feel as though you have actually met Rocky and the other characters, and know then very well.
This special edition DVD also comes with some brilliant extras which makes buying this seem like an absolute bargain. Sylvester Stallone dose something which i have never seen before on any DVD or video. He sets up a camera in dark room and just talks his way through the making of the whole film and all about the characters.
On top of that you get to see the original trailers from all of the five films, and a teaser trailer, whcih makes six. And the list doesn't finish there. Due to the recent death of Burgess Merideith, there is a quite a long tribute to him, with memories from Sylvester Stallone, Carl Weathers, Burt Young and a few others.
And after you have watched all of that you can either watch Sylvester Stallone and Carl Weathers practicing there long fight sequence, or you can watch the film with comentry from the director and a few others.
Well, as you can see this special edition DVD is an absolute bargain and simply must be brought by anyone who conciders themselves a Rocky fan. BUY IT NOW and pay tribute to the greatest fighter who 'never' lived.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.94
£3.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)