Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

  • Turbo
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2011
Judas Priest's tenth studio album was released to a pretty negative reaction back in 1986. Their previous two albums Defenders Of The Faith and Screaming For Vengeance had been strong and heavy releases which established a certain expectation in terms of style.

Turbo didn't fulfill these expectations; in fact it was a departure of sorts. The album incorporated glam and hair metal influences, synths, big reverby production and all the other trademarks of the mid to late eighties that serve to date music from that period really easily.

Turbo was very commercial and people didn't like that. The album has been called a sellout, false metal, downright rubbish and much worse.

I actually like the album; it is something of a guilty pleasure for me. I still recommend that people try before they buy; this is not an album for everyone. I hear and understand everything that is wrong with the record and why people hate it, but just personally don't find it in me to dislike the album.

Tracks like `Parental Guidance,' `Wild Nights, Hot & Crazy Days,' and `Private Property,' are unbelievably cheesy I agree, but they are fun and I like listening to them. If you don't mind a bit of commercial music then disregard the huge amounts of negative press that this album receives, believe me it is only a disagreement over style; the actual quality of the album isn't taken into account.

While the aforementioned tracks were glam/hair metal influenced and the title track is synth filled, the other tracks like `Locked In,' `Hot For Love,' or `Reckless,' are all fairly strong songs and contain a lot of the style from the previous four Priest records, take away the production and certain flourishes here and there and those songs would fit well into many of the more loved Priest albums.

If you are new to Judas Priest, don't start with Turbo. If you frequently use phrases like `sell out,' `not metal,' or `false metal,' then give Turbo a miss, you won't like it. If however style doesn't bother you and you just want more music from Judas Priest then give it a try a least, you may enjoy it, I sure did.
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2008
This is oft referred to disparagingly as 'Turdo', which is a bit off the mark. On the downside, it is of its time (mid 80s, big hair) and it does ape the ZZ Top electronic buzz sound of Eliminator or Afterburner, particularly on tracks like the driving 'Turbo Lover', 'Hot For Love' or 'Locked In'. Another niggle is 'Rock You Around The World', which kicks off with a promising riff but descends, for the most part, into a sing song watered down version of the Priest anthems of, say, 'United' and 'Take On The World'. Thankfully it rallys towards the end, as the guitars let rip, but this is a track that is better suited to the live environment of 'Priest Live', recorded on this tour. In fact most of the songs on this CD get aired on Priest live and this does lift them a bit from the extremely polished and digital sound present on the studio cd - only Hot For Love, Reckless and the awful Hot Nights don't make live cuts in any of Priest's live issues (unfortunately in the case of the former 2). Another noticeable difference is the fact that Dave Holland 'operates' the drums in the live environment whereas I am guessing that his involvement on the studio version was to make the tea.

On the whole though, unlike the turgid 'Ram it Down' that follows it, which tries to draw on grimey black country 'Iron Foundry' roots to find its mojo ( as a reaction to the critical mauling that this CD got), this is firmly planted in the feel good factor of the sun drenched beaches of Ibiza or Florida. In that respect, breezy throwaway tracks like 'Parental Guidance' or 'Reckless' make you feel good, so for that reason it gets the thumbs up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
I recently bought this , having owned it on vinyl in the 80's when it first was released . This was my first Judas Priest album , bought on the strength of the single 'Turbo Lover' , but I'm pleased to say it wasn't my last .
The significance of the use of Synth Guitars on this album was a point of much debate amongst fans and press alike , I personally felt it added an extra dimension to their music . The songs are all strong - Rob Halfords air-raid siren vocals remain distinctive as ever , and the production brought the guitars to the forefront as much as had been seen on any previous 'Priest album . The twin lead guitar attack of Judas Priest has long been an underestimated force , and Glenn Tipton is a guitar hero who long has gone without the proper recognition .
Whilst I bought other Judas Priest albums ( Painkiller , Ram It Down , 'Priest Live , Defenders Of The Faith , British Steel ) , this was always the one that I have returned to with fond memories .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hmmm. In the pantheon of Judas Priest this is most certainly not their best effort and many people hate it. Which is a bit unfair I think. The reason I give this five stars is because it's lead to the superb Judas Priest 'Live' album which represents Priest at their commercial and musical peak.

I always think of this in terms of three albums. Screaming for Vengeance - which is when Priest utterly nailed the sound of metal once and for all, then Defenders that some consider it their best (I prefer Screaming) and this one - which rounds off that period in time when Priest were on the rise. Maybe because the album cover is similar in style.

But, no getting away from it, 'Turbo,' is a real departure from JP's previous output. And it works. For the time and space it was conceived. And that means in some way those of us who like this album probably do because it represents a bit of our youth and a time when metal in it's various forms was actually wildly popular across the globe. It is unmistakably mid 80's in sound and production. It's clearly Judas Priest trying to tap into a more hair metal sound and become a bit more radio friendly. And it kind of works.

In my opinion the two standout tracks are Turbo and Out In the Cold. Turbo in particular is a great song that's actually pretty heavy. I'm sure that if this was done again it wouldn't take much to make it very heavy indeed.

The rest of the songs vie between slightly cheesy and out and out aimed at the radio. Despite that, they all hang together well and as a whole makes this album far more consistent than Ram It Down which started a more back towards the heavier sound.

Overall an album that got a bad press from the hard core but actually is pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
I will start by admitting that I am a big time Judas Priest fan. In my opinion, this album is seriously underrated. Every time you meet a metal fan, they'll typically point out to Turbo as if it was a sort of an embarassment in an otherwise impeccable musical career. Well, I beg to differ with this view. It is true there is an attempt to become more commercial in style in general, as opposed of just having one or two hits as in previous albums. Yet, this is not a simple sell out, or cheap music just to sell. Judas Priest are magnificent musicians and each song in Turbo is a quality, honest, direct song. From the sing along "Rock you all around the world", to the 80's beats of "Locked in" and "Hands Off", to the desolation of "Out in the Cold", to the climax with the anthem "Reckless", no doubt one of the finest Judas Priest songs in all of their career, this album is just very very good. Do not let yourself get influenced by biased commentators who expect every album to sound the same. Judas Priest dared to try and offer something new to their fans and they succeeded.

This is not Painkiller, Screaming for Vengeance or Defenders of the Faith. This is Turbo and it was supposed to be a different album to everything else they made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2006
Its funny to look back at how different metal bands embraced the new guitar synth technology in the mid eighties. While Iron Maiden upped the ante and made Somewhere In Time, the most epic, ambitious and complete album in their catalogue, Judas Priest took the opposite road and gave us Turbo, their most shamelessly commercial release yet.

So is it any good? Well, its an album of two distinct halves. On the one side you have songs like Turbo Lover, Hot For Love, Out In Cold and Reckless. These songs are heavy and dark, brooding and dripping with lust and desire unfulfilled...not a million miles away from the kind of stuff on Vain's legendary 'No Respect' album. The Synth intensifies this atmosphere with its warm, smothering prescence.... yet the guitars remain prominent throughout. Turbo Lover and Hot for love contain two of the best solos in Priest's catalogue....melodic yet completely dischordant, and massive souding thanks to the synths. Out In the Cold is the albums dark and menacing ballad, and Reckless simply has to be heard to understand the incredible feeling of empowerment it gives. (apparently Priest turned down the chance to have this in the film Top Gun...and kicked themselves for it later)

The songs that make up the other half of the album are straight up radio rock tunes of varying quality. Locked In is by far the best, being the least cringeworthy and containing one of the amazing solos as mentioned before. Easily one of the best songs in Priest's catalogue. Wild Nights Hot And Crazy Days is an excellent summer anthem and a masterpiece of pop metal, Rock You All Around the world teases you with an amazing opening riff before decending into cliched rubbish....but redeems itself slightly by being pretty hefty overall. The words best used to describe Private Property are 'Not Bad'. Last but not least is the awful Parental Guidance....once you have heard Halford singing the lyrics "You say i waste my life away but i live it to the full, and how would you know anyway....... your just Mr Dull" you may strongly wonder what the f*ck is going on. I know i did.

On the whole though...the album works. Its a good (and in places wonderfully dark and atmospheric) party metal record, containing moments of brilliance linked by a few fillers. It divided fans at the time, gaining them huge commercial sucess but alienating some fans of their much harder work. If recorded by a lesser band it may even have been considered a classic....but time has seen it relegated to the level of poorer Priest albums like Point Of Entry and Ram It Down.

It deserves your attention though.....and try not to be put off by the weird suggestive cover of a female hand grasping a whirlwind. Or is it an ice cream? Or what? We may never know.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Priest have always been ones for experimentation since the late 70's and this album is probably the most diverse of them all!! It seems as if the boys got all starry eye'd by the big soft rock bands in the states and thought they'd follow suit. Lots of hair metal and (hairy metal ala 'ZZ-Top') influences here. To be honest I can't even listen to it now, Yes, it's that bad!! I had to laugh at Rob Halford on the Epitaph video proclaiming to be a classic metal band after including 'Turbo Lover' in the set. The only decent thing on this album is the closing track. A sellout? YEP you'd better believe it. I don't think they have made anything as bad since, But hey it could have been worse, Stock Aitken & Waterman were rumoured to be producing them at one point. I can just imagine a duet with Kylie and Jason on vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I owned this on cassette when it was originally released, and its taken me this long to get a copy on CD finally!
This album reminds me of the sunny days down the beach in my car when i passed my driving test, its very dated in sound and captures the mood of the time.
Anyway, a lot of metal fans will hate this album because of the sinth guitar element that dominates this album.Priest are always been a pioneering band and this album is no exception at all.Most of the songs are anthemic and awesome and great to drive a car to.
If you are a true priest fan or want to try something a bit obscure to listen to then i wholly recommend this to you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2008
You've seen the American Football flicks right?? You know, often the ones set in the late 80s? Friday Night Lights, Varsity Blues?? You know the characters? There's always the black players who were into Public Enemy, and then there were the white youths who drove the pick up trucks, chased the prom queen, only wore denim, and listened to Bon Jovi, Def Leppard...
and Judas Priest's Turbo! And in the real world, the people that watched these movies and lived in these small towns and drove to the College Football game in a 4x4 (with the prom queen on the backseat) listened to Bon Jovi, Def Leppard and Judas Priest's Turbo!
This 1986 album was written and produced solely for that market.
Synthetic, big (I mean,BIG!) drum sounds, Synth guitars, simple, melodic riffing/solos, mid paced tempos, Simplistic lyrics/vocals and an emphasis on catchy choruses all made this a hit with the Quarterback crowd!
To be fair, Turbo Lover & Out In The Cold aren't bad, and I suppose it's ok on it's own terms as Judas Priest's take on ZZ Top's Afterburner.
Also, a lot of this material sounds better/heavier on the Priest Live album released back in 1987.
At least, Halford & Co would harden the image (back to leather & studs) and music with 1988's Ram It Down, a return to faster tempos, harsher riffs & leads, heavier drums/ bass, true Rob Halford vocals and more aggressive lyrics.
If you like Commercial 80's Metal, then Turbo should work for you! Just be aware, it's not a lot heavier than The Final Countdown or Pour Some Sugar On Me!
Me?? I'll stick with Nostradamus, Painkiller, Defenders Of The Faith & British Steel - All true Priest! All REAL metal!
In all fairness, back in 1986, other acts were trying the same approach ie Iron Maiden with Somewhere In Time - Fortunateley Thrash Metal came along and saved us all!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Why do so many people give this album a hard time I don't know myself because in my view its one of the best albums priest have ever made. out in the cold is one of the best songs ever and turbo lover so people give this cd a spin its worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)